1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Headset question.

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Speedy Orkit, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. Speedy Orkit

    Speedy Orkit Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132
    Likes Received:
    9
    POS doesn't work. Plugged in correctly, works in my Zune, brand new, pisses me off. Those are the facts, go forth and fix it.
     
  2. Mechanic

    Mechanic Guest

    whats a zune?
     
  3. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,375
    Likes Received:
    4,683
    More details, please. What is and is not working? Vent ot Team Speak? Can you hear sound? Does the mike test?
     
  4. Speedy Orkit

    Speedy Orkit Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132
    Likes Received:
    9
    Doesn't test, can't hear sound of any sort. Not even youtube, etc
     
  5. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    What brand is it? And what system are you using?
     
  6. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,375
    Likes Received:
    4,683
    You are positive you have the speaker pluged in the correct spot?
     
  7. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    Is it the Logitech with the mute button about mid cord with a blue flashing light on it?

    Brand would probably help...
     
  8. Speedy Orkit

    Speedy Orkit Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132
    Likes Received:
    9
    It's a CA? Thats all I see on it
     
  9. Mechanic

    Mechanic Guest

    I am a foutune teller,

    I look deep into my crystal bal
    I see




    I see, I see you
    at the store















    buying a new headset.
     
  10. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,375
    Likes Received:
    4,683
    Put a music cd in and try different jacks. I wish I could be more help but I do have to wash dishes here at work.
     
  11. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    Well I am not sure never heard of that brand ... But with the one I have you have to go under voulume control etc advanced prop and set the mic to default device ... Maybe u can see if there is an option for it.
     
  12. Mechanic

    Mechanic Guest

    do your speakers work if you plug them into the headset jack?
    my sound card crapped out not too long ago and I thought it was the headset
     
  13. Speedy Orkit

    Speedy Orkit Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132
    Likes Received:
    9
    Speakers work fine, when I plug it in it says "Jack plugged in!" or some crap, so I know it recognizes it.
     
  14. Mechanic

    Mechanic Guest

    dude, we need way more info

    I don't know any headset that is software driven

    is it a wireless headset or something?

    [​IMG]

    this is what I have
     
  15. Speedy Orkit

    Speedy Orkit Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132
    Likes Received:
    9
    It's a HS-600 and I think brand is Creative?
     
  16. Mechanic

    Mechanic Guest

    do you have windows vista?
     
  17. Speedy Orkit

    Speedy Orkit Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132
    Likes Received:
    9
  18. Mechanic

    Mechanic Guest

  19. Speedy Orkit

    Speedy Orkit Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sweet. 20$ wasted.
     
  20. Mechanic

    Mechanic Guest

    actually it was the money spent on vista that was wasted,

    Vista will be much better by the time the next piece of crap Microsoft comes out with
     
  21. Shakaja

    Shakaja Guest

    sennheiser pc 350
    creative soundblaster music bulk

    can only recommend that setup (i run vista ultimate 64bit)
     
  22. SpyderBite

    SpyderBite Sage
    Stratics Veteran VCS

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    340
    I disagree. I run Vista Premium 64bit and can one click switch between speakers and headset in Teamspeak, Vent, Sam3 (DJ software), In game voice in about 7 different online games, and Skype. And, I have 3 different headsets setup.. the newest being only 3 weeks old and not on the shelves yet and the oldest from 1997.

    Not a Vista problem.. drivers are out there.. or at least compatible drivers are. You just have to be skilled enough to type a model number and hit Search on Google. ;)
     
  23. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    13

    Microsoft version of a Ipod
     
  24. Mechanic

    Mechanic Guest

    what audio card do you have? because its not vista doing that its the card.
     
  25. SpyderBite

    SpyderBite Sage
    Stratics Veteran VCS

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    340
    Good question. Whatever the standard on-board POS that Dell installs on their newest gaming rigs.

    Where I'll meet you on middle ground though.. is that you're right.. Vista will definitely suck on an older machine. On a brand new box though.. zero problems. And, I push my computers pretty hard in gaming, production and programming.

    *shrugs* Its tech support 101.. If it were a problem with Vista.. then everyone would have the same problem, regardless of hardware. If its a manufacturers problem getting the right drivers out there.. then only certain people would have problems. 2 + 2