1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

HEEEEELP! Can't run UO after patch!!

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Rosalinda, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been using the legacy 2D client for years, and never EVER had any problems with any previous patches. After this latest one, when I try to start UO, I get the patch screen up, click ok, then I get the error:

    "The procedure entry point SymGetTypeIn could not be located in the dynamic link library dbghelp.dll"

    What can I do?

    HEEEEEEEEEEELP! PLZ PLZ!!
     
  2. Lord Raven

    Lord Raven Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's good you copied the exact message... you might wanna try EA's support site and include that for the best response. Include your system specs and OS. There is some app they have for creating a file for this info that you can attach to help request... don't remember it at the moment.
     
  3. Xenobia

    Xenobia Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    5
    Try going into the patch folder and delete all files in there and then start UO. It should patch again for you. C:\Program Files\EA Games\Ultima Online 2D Client\patch
    If there is nothing in this folder then you may need to reload UO.
     
  4. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Xenobia - checked that, and it's empty.

    Nordberg - I'm composing email to EA right now

    Thanks to both! I'll wait a little longer to see if anyone else is around with any ideas :-/

    Edit: I've just run a search and found 5 (FIVE!) files called dbghelp.dll in various places on my HD - I wonder if patch updated one, but client if looking at a different one?
     
  5. Xenobia

    Xenobia Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    5
    I only found one of those dll files and it is in C:\windows\system32
     
  6. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine are:
    C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8
    C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth
    C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer
    C:\WINNT\ServicePackFiles\i386
    C:\WINNT\system32
     
  7. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    During the procedure for sending query to EA, I found a reference to EasyInfo, which I'm running now, starting with the compatibility test... watch this space.....


    Edit: Oh that's good, isn't it - they don't have "SA" in the list of UO versions *pfft!*

    Edit: Well, I've run the compatibility test for the versions listed - it's ok for SE, ML etc, but it reckons my processor speed isn't good enough for KR... but I'm not using the EC. Red herring?

    OH WAIT: it failed on Pixel Shader and Vertex Shader versions - it wants version 2 but I have 0.0 - duh? What's this all about?
     
  8. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, email sent to EA
    *crosses fingers*
     
  9. maroite

    maroite Guest

    Pixel Shader is a program that runs with your graphics card. Most newer cards have 2.0, and by new I mean like... 7 years old new.

    What operating system are you running?
    What video card do you have?
    Do you use virus protection?
     
  10. Stranger

    Stranger Lord of the Dance
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    123
    I had this exact same problem. The way I fixed it was I went to google. Typed in dbghelp.dll. Clicked the microsoft address. Downloaded a program called Debugging Tools for Windows and installed it. Went into the folder and took the dbghelp.dll and copied it into my UO folder. And like magic the error went away.

    So my suggestion would be to take one of your dbghelp.dll files and copy it directly into your UO folder???
    I don't know I am not very computer smart. But thats how I got it to work for me.

    I am using Windows 2000 Professional (If that matters)

    Edit:
    I actually had this happen to me when they first closed KR and I downloaded the Enhanced Client. I got this error and had no idea how to fix it. So for a month and a half I have not been able to log into the enhanced client to try it. Then today after downloading the patch this error struck my 2D client. So I was unable to play both. But after doing what I said and copying the dbghelp.dll file into both my 2D client and my Enhanced Client folders...I was able to play both of them. I was in SHOCK. Here is what my errors looked like.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. maroite

    maroite Guest

    Well dbghelp.dll is Windows Image Helper. As far as I know, its installed into your system folder when you install the OS, and there really should be only one.

    Which is why I asked if the OP uses virus protection software.

    Also, if its Pixel Shader 2.0 thats causing problems also, because she doesn't have it, then it may be something with some new Stygian Abyss graphics and her current video card.

    Copying the dbghelp.dll into the UO folder could help though.
     
  12. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    maroite:

    Windows 2000 Professional
    NVIDIA GeForce DDR
    AVG
     
  13. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stranger:
    OMGOMGOMG THAT WORKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    *BIGBIGHUGS!!!*

    :bowdown:
     
  14. maroite

    maroite Guest

    Hmm ok.

    Geforce what? 6---/7---/8---/9---/GTX200?

    For example my video card is a eVGA Geforce GTX260 FTW Edition.

    The bold is what I am looking for.

    Also when was the last time you updated your drivers? you can go to www.nvidia.com and check them.

    Can you try running other games? If so what games, and do they give you errors?
     
  15. Stranger

    Stranger Lord of the Dance
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    123
    Your welcome! :)

    maroite is probably the smart one I am just a dumb goof. But hey whatever works! :p

    Group hug everyone! :grouphug:
     
  16. maroite

    maroite Guest

    haha well, if it works thats good, but it is still a little strange that you have 5 of those files...

    But, good to hear it worked.
     
  17. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Argh sorry Stranger, I didn't actually include the words "Thank you"!!
    So..THANK YOU!!!!!
    And yes of course: :grouphug:
     
  18. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Um... :blushing:

    Not sure where I find out the spec for the video card - I've opened Device manager but can't see any details for it.

    I'll try updating the drivers.

    And I don't actually run any other games - unless you count Solitaire?

    Thanks for the suggestions, anyway :)
     
  19. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,882
    Likes Received:
    5,165
    :) in 'device manager' click on 'display adapters' ?
     
  20. Rosalinda

    Rosalinda Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    *sigh*
    Yeah but that just says "NVIDIA GeForce DDR"

    Hi Petra, btw!
    *waves*
     
  21. Xenobia

    Xenobia Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yay! You are all fixed up :)
     
  22. Illumina Zero

    Illumina Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Okay, I'm next, I have the same problem but it does not go away when I past the "dbghelp.dll" file into my UO Folder. Still getting the same error message.
    Any other ideas? That would be great. Thanks
     
  23. Saint of Killers

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thank you Stranger. Your walk through worked perfectly!
     
  24. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    Start Menu
    Run
    Type
    RegSVR32 dbghelp.dll

    Errr RegSVR32 "PATH TO dbghelp.dll"/dbghelp.dll

    Seems like you people are having alot of registry errors...