1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

HELP! Funky folder behavior in Windows Vista

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by Old Man of UO, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. My folders aren't behaving themselves. I can't drag and drop (or copy/paste) any files in my Programs (x86) folder and subfolders (such as the Mod files for the new client). And when I double click on a folder it opens a new window in Explorer, no matter how I try changing those settings. I can't even extract zipped files to these folders. Everything else seems to be working fine except this.

    I am pretty sure I somehow messed up my Registry using a Registry defrag and compact program. I was doing some software testing for work, loaded and unloaded a lot of programs, and defraged the registry because not all the programs uninstalled properly... I have over 1,000 registry fragments.

    Any suggestions? Will Windows Repair fix this? Make things worse?
     
  2. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    207
    ugh... what program did you use to tinker with the registry?
     
  3. UOKaiser

    UOKaiser Guest

    Well defragmation of reg is a little risky but most programs do very well. I defrag the registry when i do my maintenace procedure.
    Now let's see the folders are tied in to IE all of the sudden and what do you mean you can't extract zip files to the folders is that after it opens with IE which is understandable or before? Lets see if we can get to the bottom of this.

    Wait skip that I see you mean explorer as windows explorer if thats the case try this
    1)open the registry regedit at the run line
    2)go to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\FOLDER\SHELL
    3)on the right side look at DEFAULT value and make sure it is set on Folder instead of Explore
    4)If it's Explore then right click on default and then modify change it to Folder
    see if that helps.
    Oh forgot you said Vista I had a long day. Either way check to see if you see that value in in Vista registry and let me know. Save a backup of vista registry before making any changes
     
  4. I'd never had a problem with defragging the Registry before, usually backed up, but of course I got lazy.

    In the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\FOLDER\SHELL > DEFAULT all I see is REG_SZ (value not set). There are no other entries.

    I use Eusing Registry Cleaner and Free Registry Defrag... a couple freewares.
     
  5. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    I have good nws and bad news.

    The good news is, something similar happened to my wife once, on her XP PC and I helped her fix it by editing a registry key.

    The bad news is neither of us can remember which exact key. Kaiser should be on the right track, should be something related to how explorer behaves.

    Could be somewhere under hklm software windows or current control set.

    Let me search a bit.
     
  6. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Just remembered something, before it cleaned your registry, it should have made a backup (hopefully using the *.reg format so that you can easily re-import the entries).

    Check the help file for instructions and search for any *.reg backups it made.

    Worse case scenario, check system restore and revert back to the last working checkpoint.
     
  7. I already thought about that, but that would affect the several programs I've installed since then. I think this is a last resort option.

    Another odd folder behavior that I've just kinda ignored... picture files don't show as thumbnails, only a generic picture icon.
     
  8. UOKaiser

    UOKaiser Guest

    If data has no entries then modify value and write COLOR="Navy"]Folder[/COLOR][/COLOR] in value data. See if any chages.
     
  9. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Erm...a spot of bad news I'm afraid...

    http://www.vistax64.com/vista-general/124579-control-panel-stopped-working.html


    It could be a diffferent issue from yours though, that post was made a year ago and could have been fixed. Just for peace of mind, can you try if system restore and control panel is still accessible?
     
  10. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
  11. Okay... I woke up too early this morning. The Default is set to "Folder". I was looking in the wrong spot.

    I am made the change you suggested anyway... and can't see anything changed. I'll try rebooting....
     
  12. UOKaiser

    UOKaiser Guest

    Your issue probably goes much deeper than that could solve. Usually when such things happen a reinstalation or restoring is in order. I'll try to look for anything that might help. But that registry might be more a hassle to fix than reinstall. If it is that could be worst as the previous post said. I hate vista heh
     
  13. Okay, I think I've made some progress. My original account theoretically has administrator rights, but I opened the "hidden" main Admin account, and found that it has all the proper functioning, everything works correctly, and I can properly use folders and change all settings.

    So, best I can figure is that my account rights got hosed and I can't change them. Any suggestions on how to fix this?

    Is it easier to create a new Standard account and transfer all files and programs? And how would I do this?

    By the way, thanks for all the suggestions... it helps even if they don't fix the problem right away.