1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

HELP needed with invisible orange tiles

Discussion in 'UO Homes and Castles' started by Zero, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys,

    I'm trying to commit my house, but i can't because it's structurally unsound. I've gone through all the floors with all the visibility options on and off, but can't for the life of me find any orange tiles.

    Is there a guide somewhere with the most obvious do's and don'ts?
     
  2. Kurgan

    Kurgan Guest

    post a pic of each floor.. Maybe we will see something you missed..
     
  3. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    o dear, i'll first have to figure out how to post stuff.

    hold on.
     
  4. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    I've never noticed, but wouldn't turning on the transparency also make the orange tiles transparent? :(
     
  5. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, here goes. All help really appreciated.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Desperado_SE

    Desperado_SE Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Second floor picture, the east side stair railing is the wrong type. Go back into the menu for those, and go to the page either before or after (depending on which one your using) and use the ones on that page to sort it out.
     
  7. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. But I've tried committing it without any railing, and it still says it's unsound.

    Any more ideas?
     
  8. Azureal

    Azureal Guest

    Hmm...the entire third floor looks orange to me, I know thats the tile colour, but wow, it could be hidden there and youd have no idea.
     
  9. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did an experiment, ofcourse, and made some 3rd floor tiles unsound, and they turn to a distinct deeper kind of orange.

    anybody else?

    I'd hate to just delete my design.
     
  10. Risso

    Risso Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    102
    Have you tried committing it using the 2D client?
     
  11. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    actually no.

    how do i switch? i don't see it at options...
     
  12. feath

    feath Guest

    check the north corner for a support column. Even though the walls look like their meeting there, you must have the skinny pole that you see on the same page as the walls.
     
  13. Nikodemus

    Nikodemus Guest

    I also think the railing is the wrong type and your entrance looks a little wide other than that it looks pretty solid
     
  14. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    North corner is okay on all levels.

    Narrowed the entrance to a 3 tiles wide stair.

    Deleted the railing.

    I'm gonna have to get some 2d and try that...

    Keep the ideas comming if you see anything.
     
  15. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    duh... uhm...

    can anybody tell me how to get the 2d client?
     
  16. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    slowly going mad here.

    can you page a GM about houses that aren't finished yet? or won't he be able to see it?
     
  17. Faeryl

    Faeryl Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    476
    You're sure it's not perhaps hidden behind a wall or something? I've had an illegal tile before and not noticed due to it being hidden behind a wall. Same for other things like railings that disappear as well when you hide the walls.

    Nice design by the way :)


    Well, I tried building your house for myself on TC from the pics you provided and it committed without a problem... Out of curiosity though, did you put the railing around the other side of the stairs as well, or just where it was visible in the pic?
     
  18. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, i´m pretty sure i took all the walls down, bit by bit. but i´ll try it again tonight systematically. i´m not sure how one could be there though if there´s wall everywhere.

    the railing was just on the visible side, and is totally gone now, just to be sure it wasn´t him causing the problem.

    the only place i can´t check is the little place where my neighbours roof is. it blocks off visibility on the 1st 2 floors a little. But i´ve spammed floor tiles and walls there a 100 times just to make sure they´re there. i tried checking that area with circle of transparancy, but the circle let´s me see the grass under my house. that´s not how it used to work before i think, but i can´t seem to change it.

    thanks a lot for looking into it.
     
  19. Risso

    Risso Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    102
    The 2D client is seperate to KR, so it will need downloading and patching up. Your account will work fine with it however! Its just a thought because I've heard people before having problems with KR claiming their design is illegal, whereas it commits fine in 2D.

    Heres a link: EA FTP 2D client download
     
  20. Faeryl

    Faeryl Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    476
    That could very well be the case, as I'm using 2D and had no problems committing your design Zero.
     
  21. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    2d saved the day.

    there was a piece of stairs on the bottom floor, behind my double stairs, that caused two orange tiles above it. the stairs weren't visible in KR and neither were the tiles. in 2d they were simply... there...

    i deleted them and that was that.

    a big thank you to everyone for thinking along, an enormous thank you for the people who suggested 2d, and a huge thank you to Faeryl for even rebuilding my design himself.

    you guys rock

    and i got a house :D
     
  22. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    glad you solved it! now get to deco'n :D

    this puzzle made me think of something, just a bit too late..... would selecting the option for legacy art have solved this? gives you the 2D house tiles while in gameplay, but I don't know about construction
     
  23. Zero

    Zero Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm sure as hell not touching that customize button anytime soon. rolleyes: