1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Help! Where did my account go?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Shakkara, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    I noticed that I wasn't billed for my account recently, but since I haven't played the game this year (just paid to keep up the house) I don't know what's going on. Don't even have the client installed anymore, since neither 2D and the new client don't run well (I used to be a 3D player and haven't played much since they discontinued it).

    Anyway, I decided to go to account management to find out if there's any problem, only to find that account management now directs me to the EA site. And neither EA nor Mythic seem to recognize my UO account name and pass. I registered a new EA account, but I cannot access my UO account from there either, in fact I cannot even add the UO game.

    Could someone tell me how I can access my account?
     
  2. Raptor85

    Raptor85 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    224
    there's no instructions for it anywhere on EA's site, but you need to add _uo to your account name, and it's considered a "mythic master account"

    And welcome to the pain we've been dealing with for a while now, everyone hates the new accoutn system, it's caused problems on all my accounts personally as well (I still can't access some of my accounts)
     
  3. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Arre you at all aware of the account mergers? If not you may want to check out the stickies.
     
  4. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
  5. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    Ok thanks I found it...

    But they just closed my account because they stopped billing it? WTF? What about my house!? Is it gone?

    Could someone look? It's on Europa server, right outside Luna. If you go out of the north gate, and head directly north-east, in the grass there's a small patch of dirt surrounded by stones, just like a moongate but with no moongate. Close to that, I think its to the west of it, should be a 16x16 ziggurat house with mostly gargoyle tiles. I think its owned by hotep shakkara or arashikar osyden. Is it still there?
     
  6. Lord X

    Lord X Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    There was issues where many peoples accounts if not most/all lost their billing info at one time or another during the upgrade. House decay was turned off for a time to help ppl get thru this (unsure if its still in effect or not). My advice to you would be since you can reactivate now that you do so and see if its still there or not. Its not like you can come back in a year without reactivating it and expect the house to still stand.
     
  7. bsluspo

    bsluspo Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only way you have to know if you house is still present is to install a client and log in to the game.
     
  8. Lord X

    Lord X Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    Just checked. The house IS still there. :)
     
  9. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    Can't install a client here, recently emigrated and am not allowed to get something of that size at my work's internet.

    Will need to get home and find my creditcard before I can reactivate... but that won't make much sense if my house is gone already.

    Please go look, it's somewhere here.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    Oh thank god for that! Many thanks for looking!

    I'll just reactivate tonight and should be fine... Pfew I thought it was gone!
     
  11. Lord X

    Lord X Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    Not a problem. Welcome back.
     
  12. Aurelius

    Aurelius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    689
    To confirm Lord X - still there, and not even in decay stages, so even if you have a hassle or two getting payment running again, there's time for it to be sorted out


    [​IMG]
     
  13. curlybeard

    curlybeard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it too much trouble to get this information somewhere visible on the EA account site? It is not immediately obvious.
     
  14. Kas Althume

    Kas Althume Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    It is so sad that EA hasn't managed to inform its customers properly. What will the shards look like, once they activated house decay again. A paying but not playing customer is the best customer they can have. They cost nothing.
     
  15. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,465
    Shakkara,

    There have been many changes to the Enhanced Client and to 2d. You may wish to retry running the EC since it has updated quite dramatically.

    Also most folk run the EC with Pinco's UI. And Pinco also offers some of the looks from the old 3d client.

    If you need any help with it please feel free to PM me or check out the Enhanced Client Forum here at Stratics for links to downloading Pinco's UI.

    There you will find several folk quite willing to assist you in getting the EC up and running and hopefully getting you back into being able to enjoy UO once again.
     
  16. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    Thanks a lot for all the assistance and kind words!

    The UO community is truly the best community out there, and I've tried quite a few MMOs in my absence. In the end, none come close to UO.

    I'll see if I can get either of the clients running again. While my gear is totally horrible by todays standards I could always hunt some Solen, which I enjoyed greatly when they were introduced.

    In the past I had two problems: The EC doesn't run nicely at all and I have issues targetting and using my skills. They didn't have right-click-window-close. Might be resolved with the patches and the 3rd party UI.
    With the 2D client everything runs fine, but the screen is so small (monitor is 2048x15something, go figure) and my inventory, which I set up using the scalable 3D inventories, is so tiny that everything piles up horribly. If there's some way to get the giant 3D inventory to work in 2D it'd fix the biggest issue. Or have they already updated the 2D client with larger inventories? What about the play window resolution nowadays?
     
  17. AirmidCecht

    AirmidCecht twitch.tv/airmid
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    486
    Shakkara,

    I used your feedback in an email to highlight the issue with the _uo with our accounts. They are aware of and actively working on any issues still. Petra also updated the sticky at the top of these forums for those still finding problems.

    We used to get notification 7 days prior to billing. I hope that can be considered again. Thanks for your post!
     
  18. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    Thanks for this! If they would just let me link an UO account to the EA account by using the UO login/password combination in the games overview, it'd be intuitive... Or if you'd get the info if you'd click on the Ultima Online tab instead of the account tab, right now it just takes you back to the main UO site, well no ****, I just came from there... If they'd just give a warning/instructions on the main UO site before going to EA's account management page I'd have known too.
     
  19. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    I ran into even more crazy stuff when I tried to pay...

    ??id.640?? € 13,99
    Tax: € 2,23
    Total: € 16,22

    I used to pay in dollars so the monthly charge would be <10 euros, WTF is this bull****?

    I was already angered I now have to pay in Euros, but then I noticed the TAX?! I never have to pay any tax on MMO subscriptions!

    What the hell is going on here? I'm not going to pay over 16 euros a month for a game I don't play!
     
  20. Aurelius

    Aurelius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    689
    Can't promise anything at all as far as this accounts system is concerned, but I have seen posts from UK purchasers who found that although the tax is mentioned, it is not actually applied to their final bill.. but personally, I'm never letting EA anywhere my real credit/debit card details if I can avoid it, and I'll stick to buying gametime from UOGamecodes with a pre-paid card.
     
  21. AirmidCecht

    AirmidCecht twitch.tv/airmid
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    486
    Shakkara I'll try to get this verified too. I am pretty sure Aurelius is correct but don't want to speak out of turn. Hang in there!
     
  22. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    At the payment screen, it says 13.99 euros INCLUDING VAT.

    I switched my country to a different country, and now it's in dollars. 12.99 dollars to be exact. Strange, 13.99 euros, 12.99 dollars, that's one heck of an odd conversion rate.

    But even then, I have to pay tax. I'm sure they don't have taxes on computer games on this continent.

    Either way, I just wanted to reactivate, but all I get is "There was an error processing your request".
     
  23. curlybeard

    curlybeard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to feel for what Bioware must be going through working within the beast that is EA. All EA needs to do with this game is accept the transaction and process the payment.

    EA has shown repeatedly that they can't even take the money of a willing customer. How the hell do they stay in business, let alone make enough money to gobble up every game development studio in sight. EA's inability to handle financial transactions has lost us more players that every other single reason this year. I've said it before and I'll say it again: EA Fails at Capitalism.
     
  24. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    Let them make the game free, and set up a donation paypal account, then.

    They probably make more money than they do currently.