1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Help With Assist!

Discussion in 'UHall' started by ~Antzy~Pantz~, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. So I had to wipe out my computer a couple days ago and had to redownload UO and Assist. Here is my problem.
    I log on Char A, set up her macro's. I log on Char B, set up her macro's.
    I log back on char A and the macro's I set on Char B are now there.
    I can't get my macro's to stick to the right girls. I'm having no problems with any of the macro's I have set threw UO, just Assist.
    Makes it kinda hard when i'm pvp'ing on one girl and need to get on the next and can't head right out because I have to redo macro's.
    Any suggestions how to fix this?
     
  2. Michael Wolf

    Michael Wolf Guest

    Make sure each character is creating it's own folder in UOA. I hope they have different names. If not create them and copy the files into both. Then log on and try setting different macros.
     
  3. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    If you have multiple chars with the same name, when you start UOA, click "settings" instead of "OK".

    That will bring you to a screen where you find several settings. One of which is "Save character data". The 2 options available are

    1) Names (Default)
    2) IDs (Helps when multiple characters have the same name)

    Select the second option. You probably did this previously prior to formatting your system.



    Alternatively or additionally, since you have already created some macros, you may want to save some work and just copy over the files in \UOAssist\UOA-Settings\<login ID>\<shard>\<character name> from 1 character to the correct respective character.
     
  4. Sir Morder

    Sir Morder Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,745
    Likes Received:
    114
    Or try this. hit the "?" on bottom of uoassist box. Copy and paste whatever keys you need to the "key" box for all of your characters. Different accounts require different keys, but by posting them all on this list, UOassist will ready individual keys for individual accounts. Thus allowing you to create different macros for different characters (accounts).
     
  5. The chars im having issues with do not have the same name. They are also on the same account so I don't need to copy and paste keys... They each have their own folder too, thats what I dont understand.
     
  6. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Are the UOA marcos for them swapped around? Or is it only saving the macros for 1 of them?

    If they are sawpped around, does swapping the files in \UOAssist\UOA-Settings\<login ID>\<shard>\<character name> over to each other work?

    Note: Quit UO entirely before copying over the files to ensure UOA commits any changes it needs to write.

    If it works, try the next step, record/create a new macro on one of them, then quit UO and check if the correct character's file (in \UOAssist\UOA-Settings\<login ID>\<shard>\<character name>) was updated or if the system somehow wrote changes to the wrong folder.

    Just to check, you are referring to macros right? Not the keys to activate the functions or common settings? Because there's a check box for "Global settings" that will apply your lastest changes/preferences on certain settings to all your characters.
     
  7. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    Be sure "Global Settings" are unchecked under the "Common" Tab.
    I use this to keep my keys consistent per account. If your trouble is the keys mixing on only one account this would be my best guess.
     
  8. I'm also having a UOA problem. I just got UO and dowloaded it via the Kingdom reborn client. When I try to run Assist at all, and it asks for the file directory, when I give it, it says it can not find the client. Is there a fix for this?
     
  9. Green Meanie

    Green Meanie Guest

    UOA Doesnt work with kr for the last poster other than that i think the answers you seek are already in this thread
     
  10. Oh, that's a bummer. Do most people not use KR?
     
  11. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    767
    You dont need UOassist with KR, KR has basically 85% of the stuff uoassist has inbuilt into the client, plus a lot more it doesn't have. So what you 'lose' you gain in other ways.
     
  12. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    when you make a macro for character 1 and are done click the litle paddle lock at bottom this locks the macro so it cant be changed unless you unlock it and repet for all macros and characters and as stated make sure the global settings is not checked for all characters
     
  13. Restroom Cowboy

    Restroom Cowboy Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can make this very simple for you. When you have ALL of your macros created for an INDIVIDUAL character, exit completely out of the client. Do not log out, exit out. Once you do this all of your macros are saved. Rinse and repeat with each char.
     
  14. That right there fixed me!! Thank you so much! I was getting pretty darn annoyed lol! :danceb: