1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

hiya my first post here with a link sorry

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by Lucy of Kenton, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. Lucy of Kenton

    Lucy of Kenton Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    21
    http://vboards.stratics.com/showthread.php?t=176543

    gives you my prob
    or alternatively
    not sure this is the right forum but here goes
    new comp, uo loaded and assist seed obtained and working and logged in a few times but now cant get in. uo assist wont work till it receives an update and gives update ace information for firewalls indicating i guess that firewall is stopping it but tried without protection and no different, help!
    p.s. im blonde!!
    operating system windows

    i need this help as cant ever see it working again at the moment
     
  2. Lucy of Kenton

    Lucy of Kenton Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    21
    *waits anxiously for a solution*:thumbup1:
     
  3. Lucy of Kenton

    Lucy of Kenton Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    21
    unhappily have i beaten the boffs?
     
  4. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    I haven't tried Windows 7 yet, so not quite sure. But there are general troubleshooting steps that you can try.

    1) Start UO without UOA, see if it can patch.
    2) Test if you can login
    3) If it doesn't disable the firewall (this is the windows firewall? or a 3rd party firewall like Norton etc?)
    4) Now try starting with UOA, even if UOA doesn't patch, you can click continue until it loads the UO client. UOA will be disabled, but test whether you can login to UO
    5) When starting UOA, at the UOA patch screen, click "settings" on the bottom right. Then change "Load UOAssit using" to a different method (there are 3). See if any of the other load method work any better.

    Failing that, copy and post the error.
     
  5. Maybe empty C:\Program Files\UOAssist\Download and if it doesn't work then C:\Documents and Settings\%username%\temp & C:\Temp.
     
  6. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    207
    Another thing to try is to browse to the folder that UO is installed to. Right click uo.exe and click properties. Go to the compatibility tab and choose to run in compatibility mode as windows xp. Then check the box at the bottom that says "run this program as an administrator. Do the same thing for uopatch.exe in the same folder. Then browse to where uoassist is installed and do the same thing for uoa.exe
     
  7. Lucy of Kenton

    Lucy of Kenton Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    21
    strangely working now and i did nuffin but thanks for all the good advice