1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[Tech Help] Honor Macro

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by Connor_Graham, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. I've got a macro set up to bring up a targeting cursor to Honor my opponents on both my meleer and archer but it isn't working correctly and I'm not sure what to do to fix it. The problem I'm having is that it takes 4-5 attempts to actually get a cursor to come up. Has anyone figured out how to make this work so the cursor comes up each time the key combo is hit? This is a deal breaker as both of these characters have Bushido and requires Honor to be used in order to maximize the effectiveness of each char.
     
  2. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    101
    does your combo involved the left ctrl key? If so, make sure you press that one BEFORE the other key involved. Sometimes it doesn't register if you actually press them both at once.
     
  3. It uses the left Alt key, but that's not the problem. I've been using the same key combo for quite a few years now, and always hit the Alt key first. It's just not working right and I can't figure out why.
     
  4. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,882
    Likes Received:
    5,165
    can you list exactly how you set it up?
     
  5. I just used the premade Honor icon from the Virtues section of "Actions" to create the macro, put the macro icon on the hotbar, and assigned the key combo I use to it.
     
  6. weins201

    weins201 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    266
    I am / was having the same problem when using the Ctr / Atl keys.

    Make sure you have the Alt / Ctrl key depressed THEN hit the letter key.
     
  7. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a working one on my Tamer in SA.

    I use Honor | WaitForTarget | CursorTargetCurrent | allkill | WaitForTarget | CursorTargetCurrent

    It has been working fine for me down in the Balron room in the Fan Dancers DoJo.

    I simply target (as in left click) the Balron then hit the F12 key (my hot key).
     
  8. I am. I just tested it again and it still isn't working as it should. It takes 4-5 attempts to get a cursor to come up after one has already been up.
     
  9. What you have set up is not what I'm trying to do. I don't want it to choose a target. I just want it to bring up the cursor so I can target what I want myself.
     
  10. I just dropped the Honor Icon in my F12 hot bar slot and set target to cursor. That is as straightforward as it gets. It works the way you are describing, without ever a problem.
     
  11. I've gotten it to work a little bit better by assigning the hotkeys to the macro instead of the hotbar slot, but I'm still having problems with it working every time. I have another char that I set it up on default hotbar for the function keys, and have no problem with that one, just on the one that's set up on a secondary hotbar.
     
  12. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Shrug*

    By the way, mine does not choose a target. I do that first thing by left click on the (in my case) MoB. That sets the Current Target. The Macro is nothing more than a sequential series of steps that use the Current Target I selected by Left Clicking on it.

    Ok, I would think just puting the Honor Action in the macro and worst case waitfortarget action would do it.

    On the other hand, while I have not done Old Mans technique it should produce what your wanting.
     
  13. I don't get an option to set the target, regardless of how I set it up. The only way I do get the option is if it's put in the default function hotbar, which isn't going to work.
     
  14. (Jah)

    (Jah) Guest

    the only way to get an option to set target is if you turn legacy targeting off in options. All I did was drag the honor icon to one of the F keys, and it works, you dont even have to assign hotkey if you just drag it to f bar. Should work.
     
  15. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,882
    Likes Received:
    5,165
    I strongly suggest ditching 'legacy' targeting, the targeting options available in SA are far more versatile. Try it, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
     
  16. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Grumbles*

    Not only the above but as far as I can tell it actually does implement the 2D list of Macro Actions .... mostly.

    But yeah what Petra said.
     
  17. HillBilly

    HillBilly Guest

    I tested with and without legacy targeting and didnt have any problems.

    Went to actions, dropped the icon onto one of my hotbars. Assigned it with an alt key combo.

    Maybe its another issue?
    I dunno.
    I got target curser everytime. :confused:
     
  18. Legacy targeting is and has been off since day 1 of beta testing.
     
  19. Sounds like it's only an issue with Legacy targeting and using it in a macro. I am traveling this week and can't test it.
     
  20. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    I have Legacy Targeting turned off. I have a macro that is assigned to Left Alt + Q and that only consists of the Honor icon. There is nothing set up in the macro for targeting purposes. The macro has not been dragged to a hotbar. When I use the macro, I get a targetting cursor and apply it to whatever I want.
     
  21. TheGrayGhost

    TheGrayGhost Guest

    For w/e reason Honor will not let you set the target. The only way I can think of to get it to work the way you want it to is to stick in on the hotbar and assign a hotkey to it without using alt or ctrl. You can make a macro for it if you really want, just make a macro with simply the honor action and nothing else and assign a hotkey to it that isn't using alt or ctrl. Alt and Ctrl atm seem to be having some issues.
     
  22. Heartseeker

    Heartseeker Guest

    Use a different key Connor.

    I use the minus or += one and it works fine.
     
  23. This statement about the Alt key having issues is correct. I figured out what my problem was, and it's all with the Alt key. I have to hold that key down even after I've released the other, and have to continue to hold it until the targeting cursor comes up. This leaves me with having slow targeting or using a single key macro, neither of which I want. Is it that hard to make macros a simple process? It seems every time I try to set up macros that aren't cut and dry, such as Chiv spells out of the book, it turns into another lesson in frustration.
     
  24. This wouldn't work for me. I use left side keyboard keys for most of my macros. Trying to use a key from the right side for something that I'd be doing while in combat won't work. Besides, it shouldn't matter what keys I use, it should work regardless. The fact that it doesn't points to a problem with the way the keys are mapped in the programming.
     
  25. TheGrayGhost

    TheGrayGhost Guest

    Believe it or not lol, the Alt key issue is something SA inherited from KR. KR had some issues with Alt as well. If you Alt+Tab out in KR and then went back in any time you hit enter it would resize the screen until you hit Alt again lol. Nothing significant, just an odd observation I wanted to share.
     
  26. lham52

    lham52 Guest

    I am having an identical problem using Alt a as a keystroke for honor
     
  27. I'm glad it's not just me. I've gotta say I'm more than a little peeved that I have to relearn macros that I've been using for almost 5 yrs because the programming for a key is screwed.
     
  28. pgcd

    pgcd Guest

    One of the devs posted something about this (ie the ctrl/alt issue) being a top priority, so I hope it's gonna be fixed in the next patch or something.
    What I doubt will be fixed is the ludicrous delay before the cursor pops up (it looks like a second or so on my PC) and the fact that Honor seems to be somehow tied to skills, so if I happen to use Discordance before Honor I need to wait several seconds before being able to honor my opponent, while the opposite has no noticeable delay.
     
  29. I sure hope so. As things stand now between the cursor issues, stacking/container issues, and key mapping problems, if SA were to be released without these things being fixed they'd end up with another KR.