1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

House decayed on active account...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Painted Elves, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. Painted Elves

    Painted Elves Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    6
    Has anyone else had this problem? Heard of this problem?
    A GM had refreshed it a couple of times for me because obviously there was no reason why my house should be decaying if my account is active and no other houses have been placed on that account ANYWHERE.
    anyways, I'm just trying to figure out where to go from here and if I should bother playing anymore anyways...
    This is on LA shard by the way.
    Thanks...
     
  2. sablestorm

    sablestorm Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,948
    Likes Received:
    317
    I've seen this happen when you reactivate an account to refresh a house. I have a theory about it. When you reactivate the account, double click the house sign and you'll get a refresh message. It seems if you forget to refresh it like this and it goes inactive again, the next time you'll run into the unrefreshable issue.
     
  3. Painted Elves

    Painted Elves Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    6
    I double clicked the house sign. I put in doors and opened them. I waited longer than 24 hours, no Refresh so I paged a GM. it got fixed. Then it was decaying again so i paged a GM and they refreshed it and said they were sorry for the problem and it would be fixed. I guess some time while I was busy with life it went into decay and fell and i lost half a keeps worth and 8 years of goods....
    I'm thinking this is the last straw...
     
  4. Muu Bin

    Muu Bin Guest

    This happened to our guild leader's house (one of them as he has multiple accounts). It went into decay mode and numerous people paged daily to no avail. I believe there were even emails sent in to some of the development team. Unfortunately I don't have all the details. What I can tell you is that we had to move everything from the house (including vendors). The house decayed, and then someone grabbed the plot. He ended up placing a new plot elsewhere with no issues at all and has not had any problems with the new plot decaying on him.

    There must be more to this than I am aware of but I do find it odd that this happened on an active account (which is still active) and has not been a problem since he placed the new plot.
     
  5. claudia-fjp

    claudia-fjp Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    517
    That's so unfair! Especially when you take into account how many houses on closed accounts never ever decay.
     
  6. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    I suspect this might be tied to the issue where ships are currently losing the ability for the Fishmongers to recognize them.

    In both cases, you have items in similar coding (the HS ships are tracked similar to houses), still under the control of the owner, but not being recognized by non-player automatic systems.
     
  7. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    On the house menu > information menu is the house "Automatically" refreshed or "Grandfathered"? If a GM refreshes it for you they'll sometimes set the house in Grandfathered mode which might give you a problem similar to what you described. There is a way to convert your Grandfathered house to Automatic but I cannot remember how this is done.

    If you click the Automatically/Grandfathered text it will state "These houses will be[sic] need to be manually refreshed by the house owner, one of the co-owners or house friends. Refreshing is done by simply opening the front door."

    Also out of curiosity is the character that placed the house active? Perhaps you placed with character X but didn't like that character for some reason and deleted them. Never seen this as an issue, just anticipating it as a future bug.
     
  8. Kaladin

    Kaladin Guest

    1) Move your stuff. (Or put it in a big box next to the house late at night)

    2) Take down the old house.

    3) Put up a new house in its place.

    4) Fixed.
     
  9. Cogniac

    Cogniac Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    164
    1) Quit UO.

    2) Fixed.
     
  10. Painted Elves

    Painted Elves Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    6
    It was an automatically refreshed house. I placed it outside of zento a while back when I decided I no longer wanted my Keep.
    Anyways, all that stuff is gone and now and I'm not sure if I feel like paying for this game anymore.
    I lost my soulstone with 110 eval on it...blah blah blah, i couldn't even think of all the stuff that was in that house.

    Oh well.
    I appreciate everyones time and suggestions and I hope this doesn't happen to anyone else.
    I am really conflicted because I'm excited about magincia and new house tiles etc etc and now I actually have time to play and this happens....just leaves me sour.
    But there are MUCH worse things that could happen in life. I'll live and probably start hoarding pixels again soon enough. :hug:

    FYI: the character and account that placed the house are in good standing and active.