1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

house placement timer bug

Discussion in 'UHall' started by blueturtle, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. blueturtle

    blueturtle Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    ugh i wasnt suppost to be able to place a house for 25 hours and was messing around with a spot and it placed the house! reset my timer so now i cant take my house that is going to fall in 2 days which really pisses me off, just needed to vent
     
  2. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    You can place on an account that doesn't have a house as long as you haven't received one in the past week, even if it gives you the so many hours till message. So get rid of the house you just placed (assuming its the only house on that account) and you should be ok on that account again to place or receive a house.
     
  3. blueturtle

    blueturtle Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'll give it a shot
     
  4. Speaking the Truth

    Speaking the Truth Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    146
    It gives you a gump that says do you really want to place. Learn to read dummy!
     
  5. Pfloyd

    Pfloyd Colorblind Collector
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    61
    Umm actually sometimes it doesn't...can anyone else confirm this for this rude idiot?
     
  6. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    Name calling is not polite. However if a rude idiot has had a house on an account for some time and no other accounts to place houses I would say they were completely wrong with whatever they said.

    Here is how the house placement warning gump works.
    If you own a house and attempt to place another house you will receive a gump warning that if you place a house your other house will be condemned.

    If you do not own a house you will not receive a warning gump because you do not have a house that will be condemned.

    If you drop your all of your houses the house placement timer should be null and void (though this may have changed). It should act like resizing your house. When you resize your house you no longer have a house on that account and can place a house no matter what the house placement timer warning tells you. There is a glitch with house resizing where you can place multiple houses one right after the other. Say you place a keep and check the size around it with a 7x7 to see if you can squeeze in a castle. The 7x7 would be auto placed and your keep would become condemned.

    Also something noteworthy if you juggle your payments for houses and reactivate every three months, when you reactivate your account the house timer resets itself as if you have received a new house. (this may only occur if your house went into the IDOC stages)
     
  7. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    LOL!! Objectivity at it's best!

    Just wanted to add, even if you do not own a house, the plot you plonked down will appear, showing you how it will look like (and allowing you to gauge if there's any space left to make a bigger plot). And you still do receive a gump that last 10 secs to confirm if you want to place. If you don't confirm within 10 secs, the gump and the plot will dissapear.

    If you have confirmed and placed the plot, you are now a new house owner. Trying to place a plot now will give you a message saying you just placed or had a house transferred to you and cannot place another house for 7 more days. This is what's happened to the OP.

    So here's the solution as Sarsmi said. Drop the house and you will be able to place again, no 7 day timer. Note that this time however, you won't get a confirmation gump. Once you click, the plot gets placed immediately. This will happen for the next 7 days should you decide to drop your house and plonk down a new one.

    If you are camping for a spot, there are times where not having a confirmation gump may be helpful. Esp if lots of people are eyeing the spot and you are afraid you may disconnect.
     
  8. Aboo

    Aboo Guest

    Yes I can confirm that I have on occasion NOT been given the gump, the plot just placed. It's been rare that it happened, but it has happened.
     
  9. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,920
    Likes Received:
    373
    this is correct, happened to me just last week..... no gump whatsoever, the house simply went down
     
  10. falseprophet

    falseprophet Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes i can confirm the no warning instant place of a house it happens to me when i have destroyed my house placed one then said "wait i don't want this house" destroyed that one then that's when the instant placing rears it's ugly head and you have to wait 15 mins to demo and replace if you still don't like it. (yes I am a house placing junkie, just one of the things i enjoy doing in my spare time with my 2nd acct.)
     
  11. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6

    Yep, it's some mediocre coding there. The player workaround is to test placing with a character that is broke, so empty your bank out if you think you will get hit by this annoying bug (or just feel like you are generally unlucky). ;)