1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

House Suddenly Improperly Placed, how and why?

Discussion in 'UO Homes and Castles' started by eve, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. eve

    eve Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    House I refer to has been properly placed since i have owned it, probably two years at this point.

    Have made no changes int he house recently, after a few days absence I logged in yesterday, noticed the sign now says "This House is improperly placed."

    Can someone give me an idea as to what is going on here? And how this error can be fixed? No changes to the adjoining properties, btw.........
     
  2. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Sometimes a patch or pub shifts the ground, and some houses come improperly placed. It might stay improperly til it falls or another patch might correct it.
    this is what I did when my keep went improperly I transfer it waited 2 weeks then transfer it back about the 3rd patch it went back to properly placed.

    hopefully others will give you some suggestions.
    Do not drop it because you might not be able to get it back in.
     
  3. Aurelius

    Aurelius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    689
    Absolutely agree, do NOT drop the building to test anything, even resizing, odds are you'll not be able to rebuild on the spot.

    My main house became 'improperly placed' when some of the town guardzones around Yew were redrawn on Europa (I think it was just after we finally got rid of the meer-created swamp there).

    I can trade and customise the plot without problem, so I'm pretty much ignoring the status as 'improper' - although I did panic when I first noticed it had become 'illegal' it seems to have no implications other than the site would not be open for building if my house falls.
     
  4. eve

    eve Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am frightened to even attempt to transfer it for fear it will be lost in the process.

    these are two properties well placed on atlantic in luna, choice real estate actually...... i hate this.

    Will contact the powers that be..... wish me luck.......
     
  5. ejpeters

    ejpeters Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has someone placed a house near you in the last couple of days. It can change your status if it was a tower.
     
  6. Michael Wolf

    Michael Wolf Guest

    I don't think it can cause any issues as long as you don't try to re-size it. The worst I remember hearing was at one point you couldn't transfer improperly placed houses but all you got was an error telling you so. but I've never heard of one falling on it's own or during a transfer.

    However, if it not a custom house don't try to make it one, converting old premades to custom can cause a problem.
     
  7. Luvmylace

    Luvmylace Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    194
    I have one house that has said that since after the tents litterred the landscape
     
  8. AtlanticVlad

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    3
    The most common reason for this is when a home owner behind you changes their steps if they have blocks in the front steps and the house was previously as close as it could be it shifts that one south until they lose the blocks on the front steps...
     
  9. canary

    canary Guest

    Magincia properties have been 'improperly placed' for three years now.

    Trust me, don't drop or resize and you'll be OK.