1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

houses on test

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Storm, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Can I build a house on test center without my house on my home shard falling?
     
  2. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yep, build away. :)
     
  3. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Nice thanks!
     
  4. MoneyMaker

    MoneyMaker Guest

    You mean all these years I could have kept all the great gear, on the test shard! I figured that it would make the house fall. Oh well, guess that only applies to the production shards.
     
  5. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    As Sarmsi says, build away, it doesn't count or check the Production Shard Houseing system.

    If your into gardening, then beaware there is a give seeds command that is more or less NOT documented.

    help commands gives you the commands
    help skills gives you the list of skillnames to use

    The Air Freshner is a Pet Color thingy. Double Click it and target your pet .....

    You should also have a House Placement tool in your bank box.

    *Shrug*

    If you like to have those .... resources in your house, then there are at least 3 banks than can be accessed from a boat .....
     
  6. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Test shards are wiped frequently anyways. You wouldn't actually keep anything there for very long.
     
  7. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    when you place on the test center make sure it is the right plot you want, because on the test center you place you have 7 hours til you can place again even if you demolish it you have to still wait the 7 hours.
     
  8. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I am just placing to make a design for the beta competition
     
  9. MoneyMaker

    MoneyMaker Guest

    Gonna give it a try anyways, huh?
     
  10. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    yes if I can come up with something great if not no bigy kinda just want to see if I can design something besides a house :)
     
  11. MoneyMaker

    MoneyMaker Guest

    If you can design a house, then your doing better than me. I have been using the same house design, over and over, for years.
     
  12. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Well I design for simplicity and max room I rarly use stairs I use teleporters (take less room) my walls are all outer walls (my bottom floor has no walls at all) my vendoers are linied up so when you press shift/control the names are lined up neatly . forges anvils and all crafting areas are right next to the items they need etc etc.
     
  13. MoneyMaker

    MoneyMaker Guest

    Hmm, except for the vendors, that sounds like my floor plan. Well except I use stairs, simply because I tend to stumble over my teleporters and wind up where I didn't wanna go.


    Form follows function :D
     
  14. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
    All this time, I didn't know we could place a house on Test shard at same time as production shard. *bonks head*
    I got scared with that warning message.
     
  15. Chrissay_

    Chrissay_ Guest

    http://www.uoherald.com/fof/?fofId=168

    If I place a house on Retribution will I lose my house on my home shard?
    You will not lose your house on your home shard. However, if you have placed a house on TC1 this house will be condemned.


    So if you have a house on retribution you will lose it if you put one on TC1
     
  16. ArchStanton

    ArchStanton Guest

    If I place a house on Retribution will I lose my house on my home shard?
    You will not lose your house on your home shard. However, if you have placed a house on TC1 this house will be condemned


    When I try to place on Retribution I get a message saying Charcter must be at least 15 days old!
     
  17. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    Use the special moongate next to the Haven gate (near where new characters start). It takes you to a safe room that contains a number of gates and vortices. One of the vortices will age a character sufficiently to place a house. (Another one ages it so the skill cap is consistent with the account's actual age and not maxed at 700.)
     
  18. Devil_Woman

    Devil_Woman Guest

    I can't remember exactly where it is, but there is a gate in New Haven to "age" your character so you can place a house. Seems like last I heard the gate was somewhere around the docks.

    Tina beat me to it!
     
  19. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    A minor modification ....

    Haven and Britain Bank have the same Gate Tina is talking about.

    The Account age will be set to allow you, regardless of how old the account is, to get a 720 Skill Cap.

    There is a Vortex/Gate for SpellWeaving that sets all SpellWeaving Quests as Completed (Both Summons Spells are enabled).

    There is a Vortex/Gate for Pet Bonding. This requires the Pet to have been feed and Wonderfully Happy, BEFORE going through the Gate. Both you and the Pet need to walk through this thing. Note you should see a sparkle effect when you walk through and when your pet walks through, thnis means 2 sparkle effects one for you and one for your pet. When this has occurred you need to Feed your pet again. If all went well you should see the Pet status turn to Bonded, after you have feed it after walking through the gate.

    Just a note, if you are going to use the Brtain Bank Gate .... often, you may want to mark a rune a distance from the bank as the one in the supplied Rune Book will most likely be blocked.

    Now that ChrissayEAMythic notes that TC1 and Retribution are bonded in terms of housing, I guess I am going to need to go to TC1 and check on my houses. :(
     
  20. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
    How I didn't remember about the FoF post about the housing is beyond me.

    My brain is getting interference from my gargoyle horns :)
     
  21. Stupid Miner

    Stupid Miner Guest

  22. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yah Stratics has it :)

    Do a help command on TC1 / Retribution and see if it shows up :)

    The not documented :thumbsup:

    Which is why what Petra did was wonderful, because it is a document that shows all the things you can do on the Test Center server(s).

    I would also suggest all those that do not spend a lot of time on the TC server(s) that you can benifit from following the supplied link (by Miner) and read it. It contains a lot of stuff that is not documented by the servers and that is NOT intuitively obvious.