1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Housing question...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Galad, Sep 8, 2012.

  1. Galad

    Galad Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I log in after 2yrs with the RTB thingy and find that my old trammel Keep still stands. That's not supposed to be happening, right?
     
  2. Emil Ispep

    Emil Ispep Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    126
    I wouldnt think so... I have the same problem lol. I used to have 2 accounts, and consolodated, and closed my second one over a year ago but the house which i never collapsed, still stands.
     
  3. Bazer

    Bazer Slightly Crazed
    Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    49
    i had a house on gl that i placed with a rtb account, sad thing is i was paying for the account, it went down last month and fell right as this rtb started up.
     
  4. The Craftsman

    The Craftsman Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    679
    I have two inactive accounts, both which havent been active for several years. I placed houses on both of them a couple of years ago during a RTB and they both still stand to this day.

    This got me thinking. Currently I have 2 accounts (in addition to the two inactive's mentioned above). One is active with a house on Siege. The other has a house (in a great spot) on a prodo shard but the account went inactive a couple of months ago. I'd intended reactivating after 3 months to keep the house standing.

    As I can now log on with that account through RTB, what is stopping me from dropping the house, replacing it, rebuilding it and then making all characters on my other, active account co-owner. This will mean that the house will stand (based on the current situation of RTB placed houses not dropping) and I dont need to reactivate the account as long as this RTB housing situation exists.

    That would work wouldnt it?
     
  5. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    no, sorry. You can not place houses on an RTB account. You will need an active account to place a house.

    UO Stratics *New* | Letter from the Producer


     
    #5 Petra Fyde, Sep 9, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
    Lady Tia likes this.
  6. The Craftsman

    The Craftsman Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    679
    Damnit! I hate it when people learn from their mistakes. Thanks Petra. Good job I just didnt go ahead and try it!
     
  7. Barok

    Barok Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    330
    Hopefully the old RTB houses that have been standing for years will finally fall when this RTB ends.
     
  8. THP

    THP Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    9,940
    Likes Received:
    1,708
    There are simply hundreds and hundreds of bugged rtb houses and houses with no names....yes they stand forever and ever...heheeeheheee..if they all fell the lands really would look baron indeed....guessing average populated shards [ie 200-250 people] would be purely luna and keeps and castles with the odd estate owned by the same person
     
    #8 THP, Sep 9, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  9. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    I have a sneaking suspicion some of the castles and keeps near my house aren't owned by anyone.. been watching them for a couple years now.. but how would you prove that so you could call Masanna and get em dropped?
    You'd have to have some proof before you said anything.. I do know people that don't play anymore but keep paying just in case they want to come back..
     
  10. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,937
    Likes Received:
    3,590
    Yep, I can't understand this. Surely they must have a way to detect all houses linked to non-paying accounts, then let them drop.
     
  11. Olahorand

    Olahorand Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    243
    At least some those former RTB houses, which are "abused" by still active players to compensate the loss of the 1 house per shard rule and/or grandfathered houses, would have a good chance to be legalized, if there would be allowed more than one house per account possible again.
    And agreed, without the "bug" houses some of the shards would be really empty nowadays (look at Malas Umbra area on Drachenfels to get an idea how empty).
    *Salute*
    Olahorand
     
  12. flappy6

    flappy6 Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    141
    Im going to take a stab and say it might notice that the accounts are inactive now and will start to decay after 90 days or maybe only the ones that people log in for the rtb that is going on now.