1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Housing Woes

Discussion in 'UHall' started by RedDaTeef, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. RedDaTeef

    RedDaTeef Guest

    So, here is the deal, probably been talked adnausium on these boards, but here goes.
    1)A friend transfered a housing plot to me.
    2)I immediatly tried to resize the plot(no time like the present:bored:)
    3)When I try to place the house it tells me I must wait 164 hours (or something)to place a house.
    4)a few min later my friend places the house (while it was supposed to be only me able to place for 1 hour after the resizing.)

    So what gives?
    It seems this new house placement system is highly buggy and needs to be revamped.
    Buggy and poorly designed.
     
  2. RedDaTeef

    RedDaTeef Guest

    Also my old house is now in decay.. hehe
     
  3. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Did you go under the house sign and say i wish to resize my house or did you just demolish it.
    old house being condemn is why you couldnt replace. you needed to drop it
     
  4. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    housing is a virus.
     
  5. RedDaTeef

    RedDaTeef Guest

    I went under the sign and said "I wish to resize my house"
    Then the housing plot disappeared, then I tried to place and then it said I couldnt place...:)
     
  6. Sweeney

    Sweeney Guest

    That sucks.. hope your friend doesn't sell the nice plot!
     
  7. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    You had two houses at one time is why there was a problem. You can't resize if thats the case.
     
  8. RedDaTeef

    RedDaTeef Guest

    They need to make a gump to come up and say that...Thanks Sarsmi

    As for you Mr. Sweeney! You should try resizing the house considering what Sarsmi just stated!
     
  9. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Ok just want to make sure the resizing works the same as demolishing but only difference is the area is suppose to be blocked so no one else can place. what might of happen and why your friend could place is probley that you still had your old house which could of cancelled out the area blocking. Also when accepting a house in trade you have to wait the 7 days to be able to place or accept another house. Sorry forgot about that its been awhile since I placed.only time the 7 days doesnt apply is if you placed it yourself, but lately that even seems to be not true anymore. You need to move your stuff to your banks and wait out the 7 days. if you do not have enough room use beetles and use character backpacks
     
  10. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    yup and also he accepted it in a trade where he needed to wait til the 7 days is up
     
  11. Sweeney

    Sweeney Guest

    Shouldn't the resize command override that?
     
  12. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    only if he placed it himself
    even in the warning gump it states if you accepted a house in trade ....
     
  13. Sweeney

    Sweeney Guest

    I forget if the warning says that or not.. but this should be idiot-proofed (sorry Red) and not let you resize unless you can place.
     
  14. Helfgrim

    Helfgrim Guest

    This is the second time in a month this issue has come up, it needs to be clarified better in the warning gump and made better known to folks.
     
  15. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    i went to the test center here is the warning for resizing [​IMG] so he could of resized and it would of worked if he dropped his old house. but then again it doesnt say if you accepted or placed the house,
    but i know on the test center if you place and try and resize it wont let you place says you have to wait 7 hours.
     
  16. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Similar issues were brought up before a couple of times, but I couldn't find the recent one posted a couple of weeks back.

    (Edit: Removed possibly incorrect info based on Michelle's screenie.)

    Would be a good stop-gap measure to implement a check to prevent the re-size from happening if a player had the 7-day timer.


    Maybe future enhancements would be having the resize command let you overlay the plot on your existing house without demolishing, then you can try to place it normally. If invalid, it tells you so. If valid, a confirmation gump appears. And it'll do demolish/re-placement after you hit confirm.


    then dreaming bigger, future future enhancement:
    1) lets you drag the corner of the house foundation to re-size
    2) whenever you use the placement tool, the translucent overlay will have its tiles turned red if that tile is over an invalid area (like many RTS games)
    3) this includes the buffer area (5 tiles to the front/back and 1 tile to the sides)
     
  17. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    they have a 15 minute wait between each time you want to demolish your house message. what they need is a you have to wait 7 days before you can demolish or resize your new house so suffer and wait out the timer. this way there is no mistakes
     
  18. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I find the whole system annoyingly complicated. There are ways for people to hose themselves because the coding doesn't take certain things into account, and most people do not regularly change houses or do resizes, so they aren't going to be aware of what they should and shouldn't do.

    I'm really not one to promote putting warning labels on everything or smoothing out every corner, but for something like this where 90% of the people messing around with housing will do it maybe a handful of times over their UO life it really should be a little more clear cut.
     
  19. Ludim

    Ludim Guest

    From my own experience with house placement, which is a lot I have noticed...
    When you place a house then demolish, you can place right away.
    When you place or receive a house as trade and you want to resize you must wait a week.

    So either wait a week to resize or demolish and try to place again before someone else does.
     
  20. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Ahh, I wasn't sure when I saw Michelle's screenie, but I just remembered that the same thing happened to me. The character that received a transferred house cannot place for 7 days. Can't remember if I demolished the condemned house.