1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

How do i stop WiFi users in my apartment?

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by Damien Softstep, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. Damien Softstep

    Damien Softstep Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any advice?Or step by step tutorial or even does it matter i was on the impression their stealing my speed...any truth?
     
  2. Sturdy

    Sturdy Guest

    To much speed makes you paranoid.

    (Use data encryption on your router and set a strong password)
     
  3. Damien Softstep

    Damien Softstep Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Time Warner Cable...i use their modem i dont have a router...
     
  4. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    Wi-fi requires a Wi-fi capable router.

    Does the cable modem have a built-in wi-fi router? If not, there's no way that anyone could be stealing your non-existant wi-fi bandwidth.

    If it does have a built-in wi-fi router, look up the modem/router combo on the internet by its model number, and find out how to set up encryption on it.

    Do note that having multiple cable internet users sharing the same trunk line (say, in other apartments in your complex) can slow down your internet connection a little, if nearly everyone's on at the same time (especially if a lot of them are uploading/downloading).
     
  5. Beer_Cayse

    Beer_Cayse Guest

    I don't have wifi, but I a hardwired TimeWarner network. Trust me, spend $30 or so for a 4-port wifi-capable router! Then secure the stuff with strong encryption ... and change the #@$%#$#$% default password for the router admin account. <chuckle>

    TW modems are not capable of supporting the security wifi should have. Plus they need to be able to acces the device for firmware upgrades, troubleshooting problems, etc. Get a router.
     
  6. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    First, determine the make/model of your modem. Second, google "default username password [your modem type]". Most likely, your username and password is some combination of "admin" and/or "password."

    Third, open your start menu, then navigate to all programs > accessories > command prompt. Fourth, within command prompt, type "ipconfig" and press return. Look at the results to determine your default gateway IP address.

    Fifth, open a web browser and navigate to the IP address of your default gateway. Sixth, enter the default username/password of your modem. You are now accessing your modem settings.

    Once you gain access to your modem, change your default username/password and add encryption to your wireless (preferably WPA-2 encryption). Once you have encrypted your wireless and changed your default username/password, no one should be able to access your wireless unless you give them the WPA-2 password.
     
  7. Damien Softstep

    Damien Softstep Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fifth, open a web browser and navigate to the IP address of your default gateway.

    Whats that mean?
     
  8. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    When you run "ipconfig" in the command prompt, it will list several IP addresses, including one called your "default gateway." For example, AT&T customers have the default gateway "192.168.0.1."

    Once you have identified your default gateway, open a web browser (e.g., internet explorer, firefox, etc.) and type the default gateway into the address bar. In other words, instead of typing in a website domain (e.g., uo.stratics.com), you are typing in an IP address (e.g., 192.168.0.1).
     
  9. Damien Softstep

    Damien Softstep Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unable to connect













    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at xx.xxx.xxx.x








    * The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
    moments.

    * If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
    connection.

    * If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
    that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.





    I x'ed out the numbers but this is what i get when i try to do it...i didnt type www. or .com just the numbers...
     
  10. Damien Softstep

    Damien Softstep Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. HellaFarris

    HellaFarris Guest

  12. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Excellent. That's a relief, I'm sure.
     
  13. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    207
    "How do I stop users from stealing my WiFi?"
     

    Attached Files:

  14. falseprophet

    falseprophet Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    12
    you forgot the grenade :lol: