1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

How to capture screen in the EC?

Discussion in 'UO Tamer' started by Winter, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    Ever since the last patch or two, I can't use the Printscreen button to capture an image in the EC. All I get now is a black image using the paste (ctrl-V) command. This used to work, pasting into Paint or GIMP. Did something change?
     
  2. kongomongo

    kongomongo Lore Master
    Professional Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    233
    As a workaround try using the screenshot key from under options or try Alt+Print key
     
  3. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    Tried that and it's not working either. I even changed the default screen capture key assignment in the EC, and doesn't work. I don't remember changing any key assignments before, so not sure what's happening. Is yours working, or is it just mine that's bonked?

    Maybe I posted in the wrong forum, but was trying to capture a pic of stats on a fresh tame.
     
    #3 Winter, Jul 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2013
  4. kongomongo

    kongomongo Lore Master
    Professional Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    233
    Mine works, then again im using windowed mode. Black screen is usually an indication of hardware acceleration offloading the image to the gpu. That way its inaccessible to the printscreen windows function
     
  5. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    3,582
    Why use Ctrl+V to paste?

    All the screen shots are saved in .bmp format in the following folder on your computer:

    C:\Users\XXXXX\Documents\EA Games\Ultima Online Stygian Abyss\Screen Shot
     
  6. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    I was going to tell you NUH-UH...

    and then I remembered that I remapped my Documents folder to a large 1Tb Data drive, while Windows 7 and games are on a fast SSD. Sure enough, it's on the Win 7 drive in the folder you indicated.

    Thank you, DJAD.
     
    DJAd likes this.
  7. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    3,582
    Glad you got it sorted :)