1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

I always forget how to check ping....

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Patty Pickaxe, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. Patty Pickaxe

    Patty Pickaxe Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    8
    How do I see my ping? I am on my laptop and Im just wondering what it is.
    I have Vistas just in case that changes things. Thanks!
     
  2. Patty Pickaxe

    Patty Pickaxe Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    8
    No one? isn't like tracert. owo. siege or something?
     
  3. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Go to run and type cmd to get a dos window and then type "ping siege.owo.com"
     
  4. T'Challa

    T'Challa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    15
    "ping siegeperilous.owo.com"
     
  5. shipwrek

    shipwrek Guest

    what cheapy said.

    In that same dos command window, the command "tracert siege.owo.com" will show you the hops (routers) between your computer and the siege server, and the latency to each hop.

    Ping will tell you if your connection is bad, tracert will tell you where it is bad.
     
  6. Patty Pickaxe

    Patty Pickaxe Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank you guys!
     
  7. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    What did ya ping. I just tested 54 from my desktop at home.
     
  8. Patty Pickaxe

    Patty Pickaxe Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    8
    Average = 13 :D
    That is on a laptop using a wireless connection. I don't know if that affects ping.
     
  9. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice,

    Wireless might add one or two points to a ping, but there will be more packetloss with a wireless connection. Esspecially as the bars drop. Thats where the wireless will affect you.

    Where is siege located physically? Isnt it located in eastern US? Im about 600 miles from the west coast in Northern Alberta. No matter what, I dont think 54 ping from out of country is too bad.
     
  10. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    WOW...i get 61 on my wireless laptop, 13 is superior ping.
     
  11. Patty Pickaxe

    Patty Pickaxe Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    8
    I didn't have any packet loss! ;)

    The servers are on the east coast, Washington DC area, maybe? I am only a few hours north of there.
     
  12. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Wel it doesnt matter if your ping is 2, I will still get you next time youre in my line of sight!
     
  13. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,289
    Likes Received:
    3,243
    In my eyes all below 120 is ok, I ping 114 today from Denmark :)