1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

I can get to Patch screen but not Log in Screen

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Tyrtle, Aug 10, 2015.

  1. Tyrtle

    Tyrtle Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hello. I have a problem . I hope somebody can help me. I play in the Enhanced Client. I was in the game this morning playing when my power went out. When it came back on and I reload UO I can't get into the game. It gets to the patch screen fine but once I hit play and it starts to bring up the log in screen poof it goes away. I downloaded a new version of UO and patched (took over an hour) and it does the same thing. What could have happened?
     
  2. Victim of Siege

    Victim of Siege Crazed Zealot
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Safe Haven

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148
    Likes Received:
    2,496
    have you tried selecting the "Perform Full File Check" box at the bottom left of the Patcher?
     
  3. Tyrtle

    Tyrtle Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    16
    I did. I am currently in the process of removing the Enhance Client from my computer and reinstalling once more. If this doesn't work I am going to try and remove the exe for the log in and patch again and see if that does anything.
     
  4. Tyrtle

    Tyrtle Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well after deleting the enhanced client and reinstalling from UO's website and waiting to patch. Still won't bring up the log in screen. I then deleted the exe file names UOSA & UOSA_TC. The patcher readded them but still get the same thing. Log in screen pops up for a fraction of a second and then disappears. Very frustrating. I want to play damn it!
     
  5. Victim of Siege

    Victim of Siege Crazed Zealot
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Safe Haven

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148
    Likes Received:
    2,496
    may try deleting the uo config file see if it is corrupted from the unexpected shutdown
     
  6. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,821
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    Did you delete it or did you uninstall it.
     
  7. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    767
    This is a known problem and seems to happen WHENEVER the game crashes due to a powercut, or some other crash where it isn't exited properly. Please read this thread:

    http://stratics.com/threads/cant-figure-out-why-ec-wont-start-now-resolved.345492/#post-2571145

    perhaps @Kyronix needs to sticky this as it is a problem that is happening repeatedly and reinstalling the client does NOT fix it nor does using the default client instead of pinko's or deleting data files etc etc.

    Basically you need to rename the 'ultima online stygian abyss' folder (under ea games in my documents) to something else completely then start the game again. I renamed my folder 'renamed sa' then logged in again and it worked first time.

    NOTHING else you do will fix the problem if that folder remains as it is in your system. It is the most frustrating of things to happen and so far this is the only known fix.
     
    #7 MissEcho, Aug 11, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015