1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

I did it....someone shoot me

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Larisa, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,344
    Likes Received:
    1,957
    Well I got a new computer yesterday....so I decided to download the EC...(Don't look at me like that!)

    Now without Pinco's UI, straight from the download page to logging in...there are a few things that I am not too thrilled about.

    When I run, it gives me a headache..everything is super blurry and my eyes can't focus.

    All of my items are not showing in my backpack or my bankbox. I have 19 runebooks currently in my backpack, EC only shows me 10 of them.

    In my bank I have roughly 15 mil in checks...all I can see is one check for around 400k gold.

    Yes I switched from slotted view to list view...still didn't help. (I know there's a way to change to *Classic* view but for the life of me I can't figure out how)

    Graphically....things are looking better. Now remember I was around when KR came out and I did manage to run that for about a week before I uninstalled it.

    I don't think I will ever play in the EC but I had to check out the graphics, game play...still don't like some of the creature renderings, don't like the paperdoll at all, don't like the way my person looks in game but the GRAPHICS are super awesome....IE lands, buildings, grass....etc. To me it looks like a nice water color painting...it's nice.

    SO now that I've done the initial walk-through I am going to attempt to get Pinco's and check that out, but I wanted to work with what we were given first, and it's not THAT bad. I'm still a CC user at heart, always will be and like I said probably will never use the EC but now that I have a computer that can actually run it and I can see the graphics really well I had to get in there and walk around a bit.

    GREAT work Grimm and team on the artwork, everything really looks amazing other then the few things that I will NEVER like about it I'm impressed. :)
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  2. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    main menu> user settings > Legacy > Legacy containers
     
    Nimuaq likes this.
  3. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,344
    Likes Received:
    1,957
    OMG I love you! Thank you thank you THANK YOU! LOL I have my runebooks arranged so I know what towns/places are in each one and I was SOO lost lol.

    MUCH better :)
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  4. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,972
    Likes Received:
    5,457
    If you need any help Pinco has some awesome guides to setting up all sorts of things... if you have any questions about anything in particular that you might feel you need help with you are welcome to PM me and I'll try to assist you. I'll do my best....

    Welcome to the dark side.
     
    Sevin0oo0 likes this.
  5. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    *hands Larisa a cookie* ;-) also larisa wait till you get pinco's going :) and set up how you like! And feel free to look me up in skype staff chat if you need to!
     
    Sevin0oo0 likes this.
  6. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,344
    Likes Received:
    1,957
    Thanks Storm I might take you up on that! I don't want to disappoint the CC users and it does give me a headache when I run...for some reason everything is just a big blur and I can't focus on anything but maybe that will change with Pinco's..I'm hopin anyway!
     
    Arabella and kRUXCg7 like this.
  7. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,972
    Likes Received:
    5,457
    This may change when you get the settings right. I have my computer set to a refresh rate of 60... that might help. Also I turned off a lot of effects. This seems to help. I also have grown accustomed to moving faster... I swear I move faster in the EC than in 2d.
     
  8. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Also some people that have had this same problem like Petra turned the sound off because it was not in sinc with what she was doing and was giving her virtigo! Just a thought
     
  9. Play with the zoom and the size of the game window, and you should fight a combination that isn't blurry. I have my EC client spread across two monitors, with the game window filling a 23" monitor, everything is pretty sharp. OH, and wait until you set up your instant dress macro, then figure how to instantly swap weapons, armor, jewelry, etc.
    [​IMG][/IMG]
     
    Arrgh and Raider Red like this.
  10. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    The key to the EC is learning all the options you have and what they do and adjusting them to your exact system and personal needs and this can take a while to get used to! In the Ec forum we have all kinds of info and videos and links to help you out! Not to mention some very helpful people!
     
  11. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    sorry to laugh, but lol. heading south from Luna, get on the bridge, the one that crosses the 'stars', once in the middle, stop, and go in a small circle. Once i got done my head felt funny, but not a funny to laugh at either. I felt dizzy, and had to log. I'll use it again, just to look around at the way everything looks. I can use it, just in small doses. Sorry you got a headache, there's some seriously weird graphics things going on, i guess to give depth for that 3D look
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  12. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,972
    Likes Received:
    5,457
    Sadly you know they totally borked the star field look in Malas... At one point I think in KR it was absolutely breathtaking..... then I don't know what happened it turned into that Vaseline smear that you see today.... *frowns* I really wish they would fix it back the way it was. Anyway just saying.
     
  13. LordDrago

    LordDrago Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    393
    I got dizzy just thinking about doing that. :)
     
    Raider Red, kRUXCg7 and Sevin0oo0 like this.
  14. TheGrimmOmen

    TheGrimmOmen UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    303

    Thanks, Larisa! We can't hear that enough!

    -Grimm
     
    Raider Red likes this.
  15. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    You can enable the legacy paperdoll from: main menu> user settings > legacy > legacy paperdoll

    You should also open the action window where you can find a LOT of useful things :p
     
  16. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    I had problems with dizzyness and nausea. First answer was be sure to match the fps to the refresh rate of your monitor - 60.
    Second was turn off footsteps. The sound is out of synch with the movement, I don't know why that caused a bad reaction, but it did. Turning it off worked for me.
    Now I happily play for hours - if I can escape Stratics :D
     
    Sevin0oo0 likes this.
  17. Mirt

    Mirt Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    286
    But we need you here Petra :sad3: This is making me so excited for getting my new computer for when I can upgrade to the EC (not that I am giving up the classic either)
     
  18. AdamPD

    AdamPD Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    66
    It's odd, I had the same problems of nausea/dizziness when trying the EC client, is it the sound? But I agree with the graphics looking like smeared vaseline! lol.

    I've tried a lot of 3D games over the years, including a fair amount of mmo's and none of them had that affect on me, nor do any that I've tried, look so poorly done.
     
  19. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,344
    Likes Received:
    1,957
    :heart: Grimm really you guys did an amazing job!

    Second I don't play with sound so I know it's not sound issues...I'll have to try the frame rate and see if that helps. I do move faster in the EC so maybe that'll do it.

    Mirt...the EC is really nice...like I said there are a few things that are just...o_O but overall, and this is coming from a dedicated CC user lol, overall it's VERY nice and pleasing to the eyes. You can totally tell Grimm and team have worked very hard on the graphics. (Still don't like the Hyiru, I kinda like my turkey in the CC lol) but most of the other creature renderings look really cool.

    I'm trying NOT to apply legacy to the EC, I really wanted to play it how it was given to us...though the slotted/list view containers don't show everything that's in them, which I find disturbing so I had to change to legacy containers.

    Oh yeah Pinco I did manage to figure out how to set macros finally lol. I do like to have my skill icons all over my screen in the CC, the slotted *hot key bars* are tooooo much like every other game out there and I like UO cus it's NOT like every other game out there but I did find the macros and set up my hot key bars which made things alot easier lol.
     
  20. Mirt

    Mirt Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    286
    Yeap the plan for me is to switch over all my dexxers to the EC for weapons changes. Use it for my crafters and keep my mages on the CC for now. That is all theoritical right now that could changed based on how its played but I am sure that I will use Pinco for my crafters.
     
  21. TullyMars

    TullyMars Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    55
    Hmm, you can always add 100 hotbars and resize them to 1 slot.

    Note: Please don't take that suggestion as serious, it just struck me as ahumorous work-around that I wanted to share.
     
    Raider Red likes this.
  22. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,972
    Likes Received:
    5,457
    I'm a bit concerned hearing you say that... I haven't had that problem. Are you sure you were scrolling all the way through the container? I've noticed sometimes with some of the containers you have to actually click on something in it or sometimes move the open container a bit on the screen before the scroll at the side will appear... perhaps that was the issue...
     
  23. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,344
    Likes Received:
    1,957
    I honestly don't know...I scrolled top to bottom in both slotted and list views. I checked my bank balance through *Bank* and on the house placement tool and it says I have 15+ mil but in the backpack view I only see 1 check for 456k. Same with my runebooks. A few of them just won't show up at all.

    When I switched from Slotted/ list view to Legacy and back...THEN They showed up, but I have to do that every time I log in so I just think it's a big glitchy.
     
  24. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,972
    Likes Received:
    5,457
    Honestly I've had over 100million in checks in my bank box never had a problem seeing all 100 checks.... I find it odd. But stranger things have happened.
     
  25. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,469
    Likes Received:
    592
    Mal - I've had instances using the EC where 90% of the contents of a container with less than 30 items, got spread about in the bottom 50 boxes in the grid of 125. There's no rhyme or reason why it happens. I only use the EC about 5% of the time, just to keep my skills marginal on it in case I have to help a guildmate figure out what they're doing wrong with it. The two main reasons I don't use it more is that character movement seems too wonky for me, and half my UOA macros can't be replicated in the EC.
     
  26. Which macros can't you reproduce? Have you asked for help on those in the EC forums? I only ran into one or two that couldn't be replicated, but for me they are more than balanced by the others that work better in EC.
     
  27. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,469
    Likes Received:
    592
    Two words: Target Relative.
     
  28. Coldren

    Coldren Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    115
  29. You are absolutely right on that one. The old KR macro for Target Relative beat the crap out of anything similar in CC or UOAssist... so they took it away from us.
     
  30. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,469
    Likes Received:
    592
    I was actually planning on transitioning to the EC more had Target Relative made it in, but the KR client was too buggy to make the change before then, and then Target Relative went away (heck, for a while, there was a bug that even stopped it functioning in UOA).
     
  31. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    769
    Target Relative used for what ?

    Mining ? Lumberjacking? Other?
     
  32. Mining, Lumberjacking and Fishing. You could mine/fish/lumberjack an area around yourself without targeting a specific location. This allowed you to strip mine a large cave in minutes, and was one of the selling features of the KR client. I've adapted okay in the Mining and Lumberjacking, but sorely miss it for Fishing.

    I "believe" it was removed because it made macro mining too easy, but don't know if this is correct.
     
  33. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    769
    Well 'target by resource' deleted the need for 'target relative' for both mining and lumberjacking. The target by resource was put in after much complaint re lack of target relative. You can strip mine and chop wood to your hearts content and the need for target relative is gone.

    The only target relative 'missing' was for fishing, in that you cannot load a fishing pole into the target by resource 'action' icon. This has been reported and noted recently and as per the EC forum:

    Basically you can macro fishing while STANDING STILL quite easily:

    Last Object (target = store, fishing pole) / Wait for Target / Cursor Target Last / Delay (8 sec approx), rinse/repeat for however many times you want it to 'fish', plus put repeat in x 10 in the actual macro.

    To fish while the boat is MOVING
    it is the same macro only leave out the Cursor Target Last action, and just click the water every time the cursor appears.

    And remember if you want for this macro to run for ages and ages, you can edit the macro in .xml format by just copying and pasting the 'repeat' parts as many times as you like to save having to load the same icons/actions into the macro over and over.

    The lack of target relative is really not a valid reason any more to not have a go at the EC as it only applies to fishing when moving, and even then the work around is to click the screen when the cursor appears every 8-9 seconds while you troll along. Given how many times you need to stop and fight sea monsters etc this really isn't that much of a grind, however, if they get the pole into the 'target by resource' it would be magic.
     
  34. Conrad

    Conrad Guest

    "The lack of target relative is really not a valid reason any more to not have a go at the EC as it only applies to fishing when moving..."

    I think the "Target by Resource" function is actually far more useful then the "Target Relative" function, but only because I don't unattended macro for resources.

    The "Target by Resource" function allows you to mine resources that were previously un-targetable because they were blocked by other scenery. For example, the cliffs in Eastern Lost Lands. Previously, those cliffs were un-minable because you couldn't target the cliff because the tops of the cliffs were in the way, and those cliff tops were un-minable as they were too far from the miner. Now, the "target by resource" function can "see" and target those locations, effectively doubling the ship-mineable resouces in the Lost Lands. It is useful for this same reason in many other locations, including trees blocked by things that cannot be seen via "circle of transparency".

    It also completely removes the need to mouse target when mining or lumberjacking--you simply hit a one-button macro, and it mines the nearest resource tile. This can be a problem when trying to target specific locations for Valorite, as the macro will only target the nearest tile and not ones further away. This also means that as people begin to use the "Target by Resource" function more often, players that manually target the further tiles will be more likely to hit tiles that nobody has mined in awhile, and are thus more likely to find rare ores that have been previously overlooked.
     
  35. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Don't laugh, I think I have around 50 hotbars on my desktop, and many of them are sized to only fit one icon. It doesn't cause any lag or performance issues for me, and being a very visual person it helps me to have certain icons larger than others, and allows me to be quite organized in a way that makes playing the game easier for me.
     
  36. Conrad

    Conrad Guest

    "...and being a very visual person it helps me to have certain icons larger than others..."

    Yep, me too. On my Dexxer, I have a two-slot hotbar that is about three times as big, scale-wise, then the other bars. I keep my primary and secondary attack icons in there--Since they are so big I can clearly see what the icon is and thus can tell what weapon I have in my hand without looking at my paperdoll. It also makes it much easier to tell if the attack landed using my peripheral vision--the flashing red of the icon is clear as day even if I am not looking directly at it.