1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

I give up

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Astrel, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. Astrel

    Astrel Guest

    In the enhanced new client I am unable to make any macros whatsoever, and anyway I would have no idea how to go about making a bandage self macro as there is no icon or anything else for such a macro.

    Then, I have bees flying around from a beehive on another floor, fire from a Fire Pit on another floor, and my row of fountains of life are playing piano (blinking on and off) in the background.

    All of this after it takes me around five minutes to actually get in. The patch gump does not appear when I start the game, and when I restart it I get a message that it is already running, so I have to keep restarting until the patch gump appears.

    Running an Intel quad 2.83, Nvidia 9600 with 1 gig, Vista, and 2 gig memory.
     
  2. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    first off it patches in the back ground wich has been complained about if you let it go for a while it will eventually show up and you can see patch progress screen
    to make bandage self macro drop bandages in a hot bar and right click and select target self and you are done if it does not give this option you need to turn legacy targeting off
     
  3. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't give up :)

    Go to this forum and ask/read things.

    UO Stygian Abyss - CLIENT beta discussion

    As for the Bandage self ... In the macro action drag your bandage pile and drop it on the action square. Then right click the action square with the bandage in it and set target to self. Now just assign a Hot Key.

    And what Storm said :)
     
  4. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    as for things blinking and such you may need to adjust your settings under the graphics tab I think its called particle acceleration or something like that
     
  5. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    the patch gump is particularly annoying, yes.... over four minutes to appear onscreen and giving no indication whatsoever that it is loading

    lots of stuff still needs work, and the only way to get it fixed (and I know everyone is tired of hearing this) is to send in bug reports every time you see something that FOR YOU is not right.... it doesn't matter if it's okay for someone else (different computer, video card, whatever) cause they're not sitting at your machine, are they?:thumbsup:
     
  6. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    To stop some of the confusion I just re-named the client discussion board to 'Enhanced Client Beta Discussion'.

    I'm getting into the habit of opening task manager and looking for uopatch.bin. If I find it I stop worrying and just wait for it to load.
     
  7. Endrik

    Endrik Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    161
    Hah, just found it funny that you were giving instructions on how to turn of something thats blinking while using that avatar.
     
  8. Astrel

    Astrel Guest

    Thank you to those who offered help, will follow the advice. Have worked out the basic macros so things are looking up.
     
  9. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132
  10. Omnius

    Omnius Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    9
    I gave up when i tried my first gargoyle. twenty minutes into it i found I couldn't fly. I got myself guardwhacked and then the screen was so whited where I was I couldn't navigate so I turned it off and went back to playing 2d.

    The new client was too annoying. I remember my first days in 2d. before trammel, before many of the changes. I was killed in an invasion. wandered for 3 hours dead laughing so hard that an army of rat men had slaughtered the mighty Lord Omnius. I deleted that character(to be fair he had no combat skills lol) and made my first dexer. less than 60 seconds after character creation I was robbed!!! the thief took all my gold.

    It was after that theft that I decided UO was the most entertaining game ever. Rats would slaughter me and thieves would take me for all I was worth but within a month I walked unharassed as most folks knew I could kill them. Many of whom I could kill and then out run the guards if we were more than a few screens from brit bank.

    UO 2d client is what keeps me playing. The stygian abyss client tries too hard to show progress but hold on to what once was. It shows a lot of hesitant developing. I played an alpha of a player made client once. It was incredible. The graphics were diablo 2 style and though little was ever done to make it work. That particular player made UO client was how i though stygian abyss should look. It's unfortunate it hasn't turned out that way.

    I think it was the Ultima iris project or something. The devs should peek at what was made and learn from some of their mistakes(though I think developing a player made client illegally was the biggest mistake heh)
     
  11. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    lol well how do you think I know how to do it ;-)
     
  12. Astrel

    Astrel Guest

    I worked out all of the macros I needed, set them up, and lo and behold the next time I log onto a char they have all vanished. Needless to say after having spent around six hours doing this I am far from impressed and have no intention of going near this client until they fix these basic issues.

    (Further Edit) I tired patching the Classic client but that would not work, error in patching then just locked up. I then deleted the client and downloaded anew, same problem when patching. EA has some serious issues.
     
  13. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,979
    Likes Received:
    5,465
    I'm not a computer expert by any means but sounds to me more like you have a problem with your pc.

    Never had any problems at all downloading or patching the new clients. Yes I'm aware the new SA patcher can take awhile to show up after you click it but patience should be a virtue in Ultima cause you certainly need to have quite a bit of that.
     
  14. DarkChronus

    DarkChronus Guest

    If you didn't, log out of your character before quitting the game. That will ensure your macros get saved. There is a very common crash when the game is quitting that will result in your settings/macros not being saved. Logging out forces it. :)
     
  15. Astrel

    Astrel Guest

    Nothing wrong with my computer, which is almost new and has no problems with any other game software, and I had already logged out so the macros did not save even when, as you say, they should have done.

    (Further Edit) As for patching problems, these arise each patch, and looking at other posts on the board, other people are experiencing the very same problems.
     
  16. Zayin666

    Zayin666 Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    6
    6 hours of setting up macros and UI... wow :) Must be some pretty heavy macros :)

    Anyways.. My client also can be a bit long to show when there is a patch.. if you look at the task manager you will see that the client actually is running. :)
     
  17. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,857
    Likes Received:
    2,340
    Frarc
    TY for the link. This is a very good site and very easy to understand.