1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

'I wish to resize my house' - under sign made my house fall!!!

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Mandrake of DF, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    I stood under my housesign and said; 'I wish to resize my house'.

    Not sure what part I misunderstood by this command, but I did not want to demolish my house - but that whats happend!

    I had a keep, and could fit a castle into the spot. And move all stuff out would be a hard job. So, this is the first - and prob the last time I ever gonna use this command.

    The result was that my house just vanished once I clicked ok, and all my stuff went to the ground.

    I could replace a new keep behind it, and as panic grew I did that and moved in all my stuff - except a few things that didnt deed. Among this was my bloody pentagram that I spent my last reward to pick.

    Well - with lot of faith in the GM i paged them, just to get a canned msg that i could go read on some web page about it.

    Then, i tried to rephrase the msg so I could get a GM to redeed my bloody pentagram for me - just to get another canned msg; A Game Master cannot do that!

    I then paged again, and Ive been stuck in the que for many hrs. Its now been over 6 hrs since my first page, - and server down is getting close. So I guess Ill never see my bloody pentagram again. But, I must say its not so fun to be victim for this - I feel that a GM should at least show up and solve the issue.

    Dev's should also look into the problem with resizing house.
     
  2. The Scandinavian

    The Scandinavian Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    90
    Hi there,

    I agree that the wording is abit off.
    Resizing means removes it and then you need to choose your new size and place.There are a 60 min when only you can place noone else.But others can put items in the way so you can not place...Not totally safe I say.

    Best time to do it is when there are no people around and I would not dare to do it in Luna for instance.

    The removing part means that all items go to sign.Best is to empty house first and that just is silly.You need one more house to safely resize the first one !

    I have made this once and I was totally panicing until I managed to place again.

    I guess it is still possible to resize to a castle but before doing that I would visit home and castle forum.They would tell you exactly how to do it as safe as possible.




    Regards
    The Scandinavian
     
  3. Zurhet Pebblethief

    Zurhet Pebblethief Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    14
    http://uo.stratics.com/php-bin/show_content.php?content=30023

    A little education and preparation goes a long way. There is a whole page dedicated to how you can prepare for and resize you your house on the Statics main information page.

    The command worked exactly as it always has. I am sorry you didn't understand the consequences of resizing before you were prepared to do so; and that a GM will come help you get your vet reward back. I know they've redeeded my banners in the past when they got bugged when left after a house transfer and the placer was no longer the owner of the house.
     
  4. Silverbird

    Silverbird Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    52
    What i dont understand of this story ...
    You wanted to place a castle instead of your keep. You didnt know, that this command will make your keep fall. But once it was gone, you 'only' placed another keep? Why didnt you place a castle instead?
     
  5. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    I couldnt place castle cuz items was blocking from where my keep stood from before. - and I freaked out when all my stuff was spread all over.....
     
  6. Jandruz

    Jandruz Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's what happens. When you do it there is a box that pops up on screen warning you of the consequences. Still, the first time I did it I was a little unnerved to see stuff unlocked and scattered all over the screen.

    You can place right on top of it and it moves it all under the new house sign. Of course, you still have to clean it up and hope no passerbys come carry it away.
     
  7. Kafka72

    Kafka72 Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    You only get the warning gump if you own another house besides the one you're trying to resize. All the warning really says is that resizing bypasses the 7 day timer and will condemn any other houses on the account. If those two conditions don't apply, well no need for a warning gump I guess.
     
  8. longshanks

    longshanks Guest

    wow.

    some day in the future this will be a funny story for you to look back on.

    i'm sure that day is not here yet though...:(

    i found it amusing however....:)

    live and learn
     
  9. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    This is the gump I got by resizing a house on an account that only owns that house:

    [​IMG]

    Seems fairly understandable, However I am sorry it happened to the OP, an awful experience I would never want to go through.
     
  10. Jandruz

    Jandruz Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the window I spoke of, and it does say your items will be "remain behind"
     
  11. Lorddog

    Lorddog Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    298
    actually there is another simple rule in place about the 7-day that you need to be aware of. if trying to resize and it says you had just placed another house within 7 days you will need to go and demolish that other house and then it will let you place in your resize lot.

    Lorddog
     
  12. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    I admit I would not pay attention too much to that warning gump when resizing. Happened to many others too. Live and learn :-/

    At least you were able to place again. Let us know if you get that castle in though :)
     
  13. Did you check the moving crate? Maybe somehow the pentagram wound up in there?
     
  14. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    Nah, i wont do this again...so i let the castle spot stay there...at least i got a keep on a castle spot....no room for others to place behind me...

    And the bloody pentagram, it was there after server up. I spent totally 10 hrs before a gm show up, just to tell me he has no tool to redeed the pentagram for me - so he deleted it.
     
  15. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    :(

    Should still try again for the castle spot. Just pack it all up in boxes. Don't let a bad experience ruin it.
     
  16. Demonous

    Demonous Rares Fest Host | Ches Jul 2010
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    49
    move your stuff somewhere else for the time being then resize, u realize a castle gives a ton more storage than a keep and is worth about 8x more than a keep...
     
  17. wrekognize

    wrekognize Guest

    I agree. you should resize and place a castle. They are much better looking and easier to get around in. There's no need to put your items at a different location during the resize...Just let me know where and what time you plan to resize :)
     
  18. phantus

    phantus Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,369
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just another example of why UO will forever be behind other MMO's in customer service. Only in UO is it perfectly acceptable for something that is in plain site to be delete rather than re-deeded. Any other game and they would have deleted, replaced the item and apologized for the inconvenience. Did he as least say thank you for playing Ultima online instead of warhammer?
     
  19. chuckoatl

    chuckoatl Guest

    How can you say they forever have been behind. They were the first and the inovators of the MMO. BTW, Ultima is also about the only one with housing. Cant lock stuff down in WoW. Either quit hating or just quit, I could really care less
     
  20. Silverbird

    Silverbird Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    52
    DAOC has, Vanguard has, Eq is getting it soon and there are others, that i might not know that good. (AoC? Thought it could be for guilds only there? As another example)
     
  21. Demonous

    Demonous Rares Fest Host | Ches Jul 2010
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    49
    darkfall too !
     
  22. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    I like many others when this was first proposed thought it would be a great thing as I misunderstood the small amount of data I read about it. I had assumed it would make players who had a house in a area where a few more tiles width and legnth would be added and no foul to the exsisting plot or account homes attached. When I finally saw what it would do I for one was disapointed. I bet the OP had the same idea I first had in mind when he did it.

    Oh I understand it now.. but i still wish it worked that first way I consieved it to be too.
    I'd of loved it as I have many small houses on grandfathered accounts in places a slightly bigger plot would go and that little extra room and lockdowns for that size would be soo welcome.

    For future refrence kiddo go buy packies and pack up your house in them, deed every thing. If 5 packies cant hold it get another char up and do same. when keep is empty do the resize. As you see it keeps your plot open to just you so no one can steal it and you have 1 hour to fit the castle in just right.
     
  23. phantus

    phantus Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,369
    Likes Received:
    10
    UO has introduced countless systems that were half assed that other games took and actually made work. They borrowed systems from other games and implemented them in the crappiest way possible. As others have said you couldn't be more wrong about housing. Housing is the only reason Ultima Online still exists. When I see something that could be better or I feel needs something more I'm sure as hell going to voice my opinion about it. The customer service level of UO is atrocious and seems to get worse every year.

    I will hate as long as I draw breath where and when I see fit. My 12 years of paying my subscription fee for multiple accounts is my justification to say any damn thing I want to about a game I feel is falling behind in the genre it created. If you could really care less then don't respond to the "haters".
     
  24. Tukaram

    Tukaram Guest

    It would make sense to me to put the items into a moving crate when you resize. I have no idea why they wouldn't do it.
     
  25. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    You cannot demolish or resize houses with things in the moving crate. If you could everything in the moving crate will go poof once you resized.
     
  26. a slave girl

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    111
    rtlfc


    You can also store your items on boats before you resize your house, max total of 125 items, don't forget any container used to hold the items counts as one item.

    The max weight of the items a boat can store is low, only 400 stones, again, don't forget to include the weight of any container you use to haul the items if you are leaving that container in the boat's hold along with the items you are storing.

    (Put your heavier items on packys if you have to since each can hold a max of 1600 stones.)

    Boats don't decay as fast as houses though I'm not sure of the actual decay times on them.

    I place my boat then name it for the items its going to hold then name the key I get in my pack the same thing; I then insure that key, go to the bank and get the spare key and name and insure it as well. Rinse and repeat for all boats needed.

    You can store the keys on a key ring to save storage space.

    Try to keep the spare keys in the bank.

    Park the boats in a no spawn area like around a city.

    If your internet goes down or your hard drive burns up your items will be safe on boats for days. Can't say the same thing of packys that are left unattended for too long.
     
  27. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    While I do agree the OP might have comp problems or loose con etc and packies do go wild after a time... I highly doubt he has my navy worth of ships that can hold a keeps worth of items. He must have a friend in the game to place the packies for safety. or place the items in char's banks thats most important and in bugs they ride for log out. There are many ways to do it.
     
  28. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    What we learn here? Never page a Game Master! Game Master are stupid, with no clue of playing the game. They have a FAQ search system typing in your text exactly, if nothing is found, sorry we cant help you.

    I hope GM bots are comming, i think they are more friendly than the human ones!
     
  29. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    ROFL!!! Thats a good one...hahaha :gee:
     
  30. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    Welp, took the time to emty out my keep and use the resize gump again...

    So - now Im a proud owner of a castle :gee:
     
  31. Babble

    Babble Guest

    Gratuliere
    :)
     
  32. Sweety

    Sweety Guest

    I love happy endings. Congrats
     
  33. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323