1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Broadsword team is seeking alternative castle designs! Learn more and discuss here!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Publish 97 is currently on TC1! They are currently focusing on the pet customization aspect of the pet revamp. Head to TC1 and send in your feedback or discuss here!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Broadsword is hosting a 20th Anniversary Party for UO this September! Learn more here. Will you be there, Guest?
    Dismiss Notice
  6. A new State of Stratics is up. Check it out here!
    Dismiss Notice

ICQ Client Recommendations

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Risso, Nov 21, 2015.

  1. Risso

    Risso Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    105
    EDIT: Ehh nevermind, apparently ICQ's new owners are blocking non native clients...nice
     
    #1 Risso, Nov 21, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2015
  2. Dot_Warner

    Dot_Warner Babbling Loonie
    Governor Stratics Veteran Britain [BRIT]

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    Trillian connects to ICQ just fine...
     
  3. Captn Norrington

    Captn Norrington Stratics Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Campaign Supporter The Valorian Knights

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10,821
    Likes Received:
    9,042
    The company that currently owns ICQ is Russian, and there are a ton of people in UO from both the USA and Europe who use it so I'm not quite sure what you mean by they are blocking non-native users.
     
  4. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    31,009
    Likes Received:
    5,325
    I use pidgin, mostly because it's a lot less bloated than actual icq.
     
    Acid Rain likes this.
  5. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8,207
    Likes Received:
    3,897
    I use the standard ICQ client. I was on an older version but recently updated to the new one and it seems fine. We have a awesome group chat for our guild members which works fine.
     
  6. Fridgster

    Fridgster Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    919
    I prefer the classic client.. oh wait wrong thread. :grin:
     
  7. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    720
    miranda-im.org
     
  8. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    19,391
    Likes Received:
    5,946
    I'm with Dot I use Trillian never had an issue. I get ICQ, MSN, YaHoo Messenger all of it in one.
     
  9. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Moderator Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,836
    Likes Received:
    2,162
    Pidgin FTW. I can do ICQ, as well as a host of other IM services.

    pidginformats.png
     
  10. Duncan McDermott

    Duncan McDermott Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    132
    I get a message that I can't contact someone because I don't give them my phone number. I never heard of that before and refuse to give a comm program my phone number when I don't know where it will end up. So I may end up just not using icq anymore and deleting it from my computer.
     
  11. Vor

    Vor Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    875
    I use Trillian. Awesome app. Unlike the bloatware heavy ICQ version I last used.
     
  12. Xanthril of LA

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    79
    I get that message also for some users. I believe it is set up that way by the person you are trying to contact. I have just a couple people that apparently have set up their icqs that way. My other contacts are fine, although I must admit I only use icq for a few folks.