1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

ICQ

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Spree, May 26, 2009.

  1. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    13
    I got a new computer the new version 6.5 sucks. The thing is huge. You can't push Ctrl return to send. Is there a better alternative?
     
  2. Bruin

    Bruin Guest

    I use trillian. It's not great but it works and no ads. Another option I think is meebo, never used that one.
     
  3. Nurse Miss Maude

    Nurse Miss Maude Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    11
  4. Lorddog

    Lorddog Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,120
    Likes Received:
    305
    trillian works great and u can add in all the different kinds of icq's
     
  5. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    13
    I just installed trillian it much better than the new icq can i delete icq off my computer now? or do i need it to make trillian work?
     
  6. T'Challa

    T'Challa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    15
    I would figure out a way to backup your contact list?
     
  7. Nurse Miss Maude

    Nurse Miss Maude Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    11
    You do not need ICQ on your computer for trillian to work.
     
  8. Bruin

    Bruin Guest

    I thought the icq servers (not the icq program) stores your contact list, so it should be ok. Sometimes the groups get messed up. You unfortunately lose all your history though.
     
  9. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    I had the same feelings about icq, there's just too much junk attached to now. I didn't like Trillian much either, I use pidgin.
     
  10. Draxous

    Draxous Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,126
    Likes Received:
    29

    It's not great!!?!?!?!?!

    ZOMG, blasphemy!
     
  11. Bruin

    Bruin Guest

    I disliked Pidgin more than Trillian.

    My problem with Trillian why I don't think it's great is, when you add a new ICQ contact to Trillian - you never know who/where you added them. Example is my icq # is 4842047 - my Nickname is Bruin. But if you only knew my ICQ #, and added me to your trillian, you'd add me by typing in my ICQ #, but I would show up on your list as Bruin. Problem is you only know my ICQ #, so you can't ever find me - you have to search through your whole list for a nickname you don't recognize.

    If someone adds you first and you get the pop-up authorization, just hit info first then add them so you know who they are.
     
  12. Draxous

    Draxous Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,126
    Likes Received:
    29
    When you add a contact... you select the group you want to put that character in and then you adjust it to "ICQ" if you run other progs like AIM too...

    Then when it asks you for the number... you type it in, click add and the person you added should be in the group you selected.

    This is for both basic and pro...

    :thumbsup: