1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Imbuing menu request.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by guum, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. guum

    guum Guest

    It's still kinda a clickfest.

    There's a button for "last item, different mod", and a button for "last item, last mod", both of which are useful, but what I'd really like to have is "same mod, select a new item". Could that happen?
     
  2. Wilki

    Wilki Guest

    You're the second person I've seen bring that up today. I'll go ahead and look into doing that.

    Keep in mind that reimbuing the same property on the same item is treated as the same as imbuing a new property on the same item.
     
  3. guum

    guum Guest

    I don't want to do a new property on the same item -- I want to do the same property on a new item. ;)

    My reasoning: when skilling up, you select a property that's reasonably inexpensive that's in the sweet spot for gains, then you imbue that property over and over again on the same item. Currently, you can only do this a limited number of times (10?) before you can't gain off that item anymore. Then, in order to gain more, you have to move on to a new item. But chances are, you still want to put the same property at the same intensity that you were working on on that new item -- you're probably still in the "butter zone" for skill gain from that property. The way the menu is right now, every time you switch items, you have to then reselect the mod, then click the little arrows to get the mod back to where it was, then select the new item. If you could just click a "same mod, new item" button, then click the item, that'd reduce the number of clicks by anywhere from 1 to 20, depending on the mod. More, I guess, if you're training on Luck. ;)

    edit: Or alternately just let us keep re-imbuing the same item indefinitely for gains. I'd be totally fine with that too. ;)
     
  4. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,413
    Likes Received:
    686
    Yeah, i understand what you are trying to do - but the problem with that is the Imbuing menu/success depends on the item you have choosen. I know for training you are using a set of GM made daggers - but what is to stop you from imbuing a 40% di dagger and then a dagger with 4 item props at 100%? That is why you have to select the item first.
     
  5. guum

    guum Guest

    Another imbuing question/request: are all imbuing ingredients as heavy as magic residue? 1 stone each? that's a lot of weight for something that's going to be needed in bulk. how about making them weigh the same as ingots (1 stone per 10)?
     
  6. It Lives

    It Lives Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    138
    I am wanting this as well.

    What a pain having to start the Imbuing process over and selecting your
    " Butter spot" over and over.:thumbsup:
     
  7. Deb

    Deb Guest

    This would be a great addition and would save wear and tear on
    the hands.
     
  8. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,469
    Likes Received:
    592
    even if it just brings it back to the property page with the value preset, aafter selecting the new item (and the chance of success recalculated), that will save us many clicks for re-establishing the power of the attempt.

    It would go something like this....

    Click on same property, different item.

    You get a targeting cursor. You target the new item.

    The program determines if the property is a valid one for the item, and if so, jumps to the property intensity page, at the last attempted intensity.

    It then calculates the chance of success for the new item, and the person then clicks yes, or try a different property, as usual.
     
  9. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    at 100+ you need 2-3 mods to have optimal gains... "last mod on next item" not so usefull
     
  10. guum

    guum Guest

    Yeah, now that I'm at 97ish Imbuing, I agree that it'd be less useful. But up until about 85, it would be very helpful.
     
  11. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,469
    Likes Received:
    592
    well, you could do it for Mod 1 on 25 items, then repeat for Mod 2 - that sets up 25 items for their 3rd Mod normally (using same mod different item to switch to a new 2-mod item to upgrade to 3 mods).

    You're thinking too linearly, like you have to work on THE SAME ITEM for all 3 mods, all at once, when in fact, you can go ahead and do all the Mod 1s, then all the Mod 2s, then finish up with all the Mod 3s.
     
  12. guum

    guum Guest

    There's that, too. ;)
     
  13. Gheed

    Gheed Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    173
    Ya last mod different item would work great for that. Of course my training will be done by then :)

    Also about setting intensity. There is a single and max increment button. Would it be possible to get a +/-5 (or 10) button between the single and max mod increment for mods that toggle to high% intensity? Think about stuff like adding 50 luck or 26% hit effect.
     
  14. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    I kinda wish the intensity could be a drop down that allowed you to select from a list rather than clicking. Imbuing 50% luck on something takes a heck of a lot of clicks.
     
  15. guum

    guum Guest

    Yeah...a big ditto on that one. Or at least have a little pop-up window like when you're dragging stacks of items where you can enter the quantity on the keyboard.
     
  16. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    I hope to finish 120 this week before any changes to UI made. I have 5 UOA macros to apply 3 mods, reimbue once, reimbue 10x times + unravel.
    Do not want to adopt any newer UI, sorry.
     
  17. Maximus Neximus

    Maximus Neximus Lore Keeper
    Governor Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    76
    Imbuing luck is a pain in the butt as well. With the >> can it be made so it goes up in increments of 10 instead of 1-100%?
     
  18. Coppelia

    Coppelia Guest

    Yes, in the beginning I thought that it was > increase 1, >> increase 10 and not go to max. Go to max could be >| that would be more standard. :)
     
  19. I asked for the same thing when I posted the bug with the crafting menus. Like Petra said, imbuing 50 luck is a click fest like no other.
     
  20. Maggie

    Maggie Guest

    This idea has my vote!:thumbup:
     
  21. Silverbird

    Silverbird Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    52
    What about the chance to get an additional menu selection like in all other crafting menus for the last 10 choosen imbues?