1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Imbuiting - replacing properties. Can anyone explain?

Discussion in 'UO Craftsman' started by Vre13, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. Vre13

    Vre13 Guest

    Hi everyone,
    Sorry for wasting yours time, but I found, that after imbuiting one item property, I cant add another one - it just replaces property added before to item.Item still have plenty of property weight, its used only 3 of 5 properties. Can anyone explain - does imbuiting allows to add just 1 property? My imbuiting skill is 96.
     
  2. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    231
    What you adding and what it offer to replace? Is it slayer/hit spell/hit area/skill bonus property?
     
  3. Barry Gibb

    Barry Gibb Of Saintly Patience
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    235
    There are several properties that an item can only have one type of. Which will result in an over-write of the previous property. Here are the properties:


    Imbuing follows the same rules for other magic items (runic and looted).

    If the property you are trying to imbue is in the same type as a property already present on the item, it will replace that property.

    Stayin Alive,

    BG
     
  4. Vre13

    Vre13 Guest

    Thank You, Barry. Usefull info.
     
  5. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    31
    good to know, that means if i find an almost ok junk item with some crappy skill on it i can maybe choose a different skill to replace it?
    does that add double points or delete the old points?
     
  6. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    231
    I replaced 1 music to 10 magery. They both in same skill group.
     
  7. [JD]

    [JD] Guest

    How do you change a skill to another in the same skill group?

    Like it's say I have a +13 Bushido, +13 DCI ring. Pretty cool right?

    Well let's say the toon I want it to go to doesn't have Bushido because it's a stealther or mage, How would I change +13 Bushido to +13 Eval Int or Anatomy?

    Thanks
     
  8. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    You just pick the new skill, and amount, and Imbue. Simple as that. The old skill is deleted, replaced by the new one at the new skill level.

    I've got some nice jewelry with +24 to +26 combined in 2 tamer or 2 bard skills, that I'm planning to add Magery or a third Bard skill to (in some cases replacing existing Music skill as a 3rd skill with Magery, as my character is 120 natural Vet, and 110 music, 120 with mantle, and don't need vet or music)
     
  9. [JD]

    [JD] Guest

    So if I have +Bushido on a dropped ring, and I try to add +Eval int, it just knows they are in the same skill group and then replaces Bushido with Eval Int at the intensity I specify? I don't have to specify any group # or imbue slot #?

    Cool :)

    Thank you Basara.. you continue to be a fountain of information!