1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Important steps when you first install Pinco's UI

Discussion in 'Pinco's UI' started by Llewen, Dec 13, 2014.

  1. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I'm posting this because this tripped me up when I first upgraded to the new Pinco's UI, and my guess is it's causing problems for a lot of people. Pinco's UI now auto cleans your character files, so you don't need to delete your character files, but there are two locations that you do need to delete before you install the new Pinco's UI for the first time.

    1. [Ultima Online Enhanced game folder]\UserInterface\Pinco's UI

    2. [My Documents]\EA Games\Ultima Online Stygian Abyss\User Data

    Inside that folder delete all the folders except the folders with your account name. Then delete the Pinco's UI folder, then reinstall.

    Then you unzip the Pinco's UI install package into your Ultima Online Enhanced game folder, start up "UI Patcher.exe", and if you get the infamous "Unhandled Exception" error, start up the "File Shifter.exe" instead, and that should fix that problem for you. After that you can make a shortcut to "UI Patcher.exe" and start the game that way from then on.
     
  2. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    the user data folder is cleaned automatically when the patcher start (with the latest version), and the file shifter should be more stable since the last patch, but if is still crashing let me know :D

    One note: in the next version there will be a new custom waypoints system, and the waypoints you created will be wiped out. If you don't want that backup the file waypoints.xml inside user data folder.
     
  3. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    3,595
    For the time being can I just delete the waypoints.xml file or just open it and delete all the contents?
     
  4. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    delete the file, is faster :D
    but when the next version get out will no longer be necessary :)
     
    DJAd likes this.