1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Is anyone having trouble with UOAssist today?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Val Van Wolf, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. Val Van Wolf

    Val Van Wolf Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    68
    It thinks a firewall may be preventing me from getting into it. I can't find a list of apps that windows 8.1 allows. So how do I turn my uoassist shortcut into an app? Computer only a few months old and I no longer live with a smarter than me about computers person. Oh the pain...
     
  2. Scribbles

    Scribbles Babbling Loonie
    Professional Alumni

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    2,058
    ooof, windows 8 is something I havent dealt with yet personally. I have heard nothing but problem from some of my friends that use UOassist and windows 8. My recommendation would be to play EC client till you get it figured out. Everything you can do with uoassist you can do better with EC, if you can get over the way it looks.
     
    #2 Scribbles, Jul 16, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2015
  3. Bobar

    Bobar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    578
    I too have a problem. I have been using UOAssist regularly every day UNTIL today. now I get that message too and I have made no changes.Been trying different things to rectify it and have now run out of attempts so it although it gets me into UO I have no UOAssist.
     
  4. BeaIank

    BeaIank Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    To open the Windows Firewall, click the Windows button on your keyboard, type in Windows Firewall and it will show on the list pretty quickly.
    There you will have the option to allow a program or feature through Windows Firewall. Click it, select that you want to allow a program and navigate to UOAssist install folder, pick the exe file and it will be let through the firewall.
     
  5. Bobar

    Bobar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    578
    That is one of the things I've tried didn't work.
     
  6. S_S

    S_S Certifiable
    The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    Just give it a day, this happens sometimes and usually straightens itself out.
     
  7. Angel of Sonoma

    Angel of Sonoma Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    it's failing on Windows 7 also. i don't think it's a local issue (meaning it's not your system). most likely the issue is on tugsoft's end.
     
  8. Coco_Zamis_DF

    Coco_Zamis_DF Journeyman
    Governor Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    69
    I have the same problem. Cannot connect to updateace... UOA is deactivated. Have also this "not matching server name" problem like updates usually gives.
    A client from a mate whos online since 8 hours works fine.
     
  9. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
  10. Val Van Wolf

    Val Van Wolf Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    68
    Thanks to all of you, Its so nice to hear that IT IS NOT JUST ME. Ima wait and hope it fixes itself because I could easily mess everything up.
     
  11. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    same here laufs
     
  12. Lord Taliesin

    Lord Taliesin Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    275
    I've never used UOA but have been thinking about it lately. Is it still actively supported? I seem to recall looking it up a while ago and being worried that the website looks like it's updated less than uo.com.
    Edit:spelling
     
    #12 Lord Taliesin, Jul 16, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2015
  13. Coco_Zamis_DF

    Coco_Zamis_DF Journeyman
    Governor Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    69
    until today, it is still running. sometimes after an update you have to wait for a day or so, but it still works. good investment of the USD in the last century.
     
    Lord Taliesin likes this.
  14. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    2,332
    Cannot connect to updateace... UOA is deactivated
    You will get this if UOA update server is down also
     
  15. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    glad to see its not my connection or computer... but not glad to see its down.. wish there was some news somewhere about this...
     
  16. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    anyone been able to have ti working yet? I see there are people that do not have this issue today so I am lost why this all of a sudden is happening when i changed nothing... I wish they would update their site with whats going on....
     
  17. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    wish I knew, nuttin on tugsoft site about it
     
  18. Ruppy2

    Ruppy2 Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    144
    I am having same problem tonight...first time logging in today. My ISP is ATT...anyone else have the same with these problems?

    edit reason (below)
    I should add that I am getting that damn server name mismatch error that pisses me off every now and then too.....

    Time for me to find a different game tonight
     
  19. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    Okay I got mine to work!!! I got a screen saying firewall was blocking updateace. If you look in small print at the bottom of the gump it says you get 10 attempts then it locks you out until next update. What I did was went in to my firewall settings and added updater.updateace.com to exceptions under trusted. Also added updater-backup.updaterace.com. I have UOA working for me. Let me know if you need help and I'll walk you through it.
     
    #19 Jirel of Joiry, Jul 16, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2015
  20. Igg A Pie

    Igg A Pie Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Brave Amateurs B^A

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    304
    yeah I am having the same prob, I did not notice the number of attempts and now I am locked out....well it wont open the assist. as of now I am stuck until I can download the next update successfully. anyone have any suggestions? I almost feel like I have to uninstall and the reinstall at this point
     
  21. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    Well since this was the last update: UOAssist.dll 1.22.5.0 - Oct 19, 2013. I'm gonna guess you're going to have to uninstall and reinstall. I jumped too quick my fix didn't work. Here's what I got from Tugsoft website on that error:

    Problem - UOAssist is not connecting to the UpdateAce server and it says UOAssist will be disabled if it fails X more times. Likely cause - You have a personal firewall running that is preventing UOAssist.exe from accessing the internet.
    Solution - Give UOAssist access to the internet in your firewall package OR turn off the firewall. ZoneAlarm users - A number of users have reported that they had to uninstall ZoneAlarm and reboot before UOAssist could access the internet to get updates. So if you are running ZoneAlarm and continue to have problems you may need to uninstall it at least temporarily or contact ZoneAlarm to get help.
     
  22. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    2,332
    It is not your firewall TUG IS DOWN so UOA will not update. This has happened in the past.
     
    Chazztizer likes this.
  23. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    Also check and make sure Microshaft didn't turn windows firewall back on if you run a firewall other than windows. I just discover I was running double firewall. Apparently when I got that stupid windows update Tuesday it turned windows firewall back on.
     
  24. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    Their website is still up.
     
  25. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    2,332
    It is not the web site it is the updater that is down, this has happened in the past. I will try and find the thread with the temp fix.
     
  26. Igg A Pie

    Igg A Pie Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Brave Amateurs B^A

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    304
    ok thx for the help guys. I am off to work atm. ill try and fix it later tonite
     
    Flagg likes this.
  27. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    ok, i cant see any fix to get UOA to work but was able to reset the count for failed attempts.. i wonder wny some people are not suffering from the problems we have.. is it because a long time ago they set it to check once per week and all this time we all have had it set to check for updates daily?
     
    Lord Frodo likes this.
  28. Val Van Wolf

    Val Van Wolf Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    68
    Duh Dept. So in spite of over 24 hours having passed, I still have no UOAssist! I am having trouble seeing what legendary skill scrolls I have eaten or not. Can someone give me a hint? Really, I'm trying that 6 skills at 120 with only Chivalry in the spell department that is now posted as an article. Thanks for any help. My brain is too full obviously....stuff flies off the top when the wind blows. The really old memories remain. Some of them...
     
  29. GarthGrey

    GarthGrey Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend GoT

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    1,405
    The client itself will show you what your skill caps are...
     
    Lord Frodo likes this.
  30. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    696
    I know how to reset the retries but everytime I post it on stratics they yell at me
     
    Queen Mum, Bobar and Lord Frodo like this.
  31. Val Van Wolf

    Val Van Wolf Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    68
    Why thank you, Garthable! You still playing on Siege? I may start playing there again off and on. I've never understand why I have a client since I am neither a doctor or a lawyer at the moment. I'm sure you remember me but lets pretend you don't. See you soon maybe Gartholemew
     
  32. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    2,332
  33. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    HOW DO I CONTACT TUGSOFT?
     
  34. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    IDK... I turned off my firewall and it still wasnt working so its not the firewall, at least on my end and its illogical how it just up and stopped working unless the routes from me to tugsoft's update servers are failing and the routes from you to them are good. It does appear to be more of an internet issue but let me run some traceroutes and see whats going on.
     
  35. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    Looks to be some hops down at least from Dallas TX but when i do a traceroute from a place within Utah, it reaches it just fine.. so must be some routes down but i dont get it, each trace reaches (68.87.220.162 te-6-0-acr04.orem.ut.utah.comcast.net ) but from dallas, it doesnt go further but from within utah, it moves onto the final IP... Im far from a network engineer but this kinda confuses me...

    Dallas Trace:
    its not reaching 174.52.89.112 at the end and just drops off

    Code:
    [~]# traceroute updater.updateace.com
    traceroute to updater.updateace.com (174.52.89.112), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1  208.77.216.145 (208.77.216.145)  0.456 ms  0.469 ms  0.458 ms
    2  Gig60-BRDR2-DAL1-custrts-6500-1.virtbiz.com (208.80.15.229)  0.298 ms  0.300 ms  0.273 ms
    3  Gig70-BRDR1-DAL1-xc-BRDR2 (208.80.15.37)  0.319 ms  0.303 ms  0.280 ms
    4  rrcs-24-227-130-97.sw.biz.rr.com (24.227.130.97)  5.423 ms  5.410 ms  5.373 ms
    5  xe-5-2-0.DLLBTXLB1CW.sw.twcbiz.com (97.77.0.74)  15.140 ms  15.128 ms  15.096 ms
    6  agg20.dllbtxlb01r.texas.rr.com (24.175.49.177)  5.845 ms  8.518 ms  8.501 ms
    7  agg11.dllbtxlb02r.texas.rr.com (24.175.39.242)  7.643 ms  7.632 ms  7.632 ms
    8  agg21.hstqtxl301r.texas.rr.com (24.175.49.8)  11.131 ms  11.109 ms  11.082 ms
    9  bu-ether16.hstqtx0209w-bcr00.tbone.rr.com (66.109.6.108)  6.248 ms  5.489 ms  5.465 ms
    10  bu-ether22.dllstx976iw-bcr00.tbone.rr.com (107.14.19.216)  9.063 ms bu-ether46.hstqtx0209w-bcr00.tbone.rr.com (107.14.19.94)  10.114 ms bu-ether32.dllstx976iw-bcr00.tbone.rr.com (107.14.19.218)  7.593 ms
    11  0.ae2.pr1.dfw10.tbone.rr.com (107.14.17.236)  5.366 ms 0.ae1.pr1.dfw10.tbone.rr.com (107.14.17.234)  5.063 ms 0.ae4.pr1.dfw10.tbone.rr.com (107.14.19.97)  5.130 ms
    12  be-202-pe03.1950stemmons.tx.ibone.comcast.net (50.248.118.169)  8.230 ms  8.204 ms  8.182 ms
    13  he-1-3-0-0-cr01.dallas.tx.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.86.129)  6.622 ms he-0-6-0-0-cr01.dallas.tx.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.86.173)  7.123 ms he-0-5-0-0-cr01.dallas.tx.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.86.169)  7.450 ms
    14  be-11317-cr02.denver.co.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.84.230)  21.709 ms  21.717 ms  22.703 ms
    15  be-7922-ar01.saltlakecity.ut.utah.comcast.net (68.86.90.226)  32.858 ms  32.838 ms  31.650 ms
    16  he-0-2-0-1-sur03.orem.ut.utah.comcast.net (162.151.49.206)  33.527 ms he-0-2-0-0-sur03.orem.ut.utah.comcast.net (162.151.49.198)  33.518 ms  33.497 ms
    17  te-6-0-acr04.orem.ut.utah.comcast.net (68.87.220.162)  33.063 ms  33.063 ms  33.120 ms
    18  * * *
    19  * * *
    20  * * *
    21  * * *
    22  * * *
    23  * * *
    24  * * *
    25  * * *
    26  * * *
    27  * * *
    28  * * *
    29  * * *
    30  * * *
    
    From Utah:

    Code:
    TraceRoute from Network-Tools.com to 174.52.89.112 [updater.updateace.com]
    Hop    (ms)    (ms)    (ms)             IP Address    Host name
    1       0       0       0          206.123.64.233      - 
    2       Timed out       Timed out       Timed out                - 
    3       26       26       26          4.69.133.125     ae-1-7.bar2.saltlakecity1.level3.net 
    4       26       26       26          4.69.133.125     ae-1-7.bar2.saltlakecity1.level3.net 
    5       29       29       29          4.68.63.18      - 
    6       30       29       30          162.151.49.206     he-0-2-0-1-sur03.orem.ut.utah.comcast.net 
    7       30       30       30          68.87.220.162     te-6-0-acr04.orem.ut.utah.comcast.net 
    8       40       38       37          174.52.89.112     c-174-52-89-112.hsd1.ut.comcast.net 
    
    Trace complete
     
  36. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
  37. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    can anyone VPN into somewhere in Utah and see if you can then reach UOAssist updaters?
     
  38. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    2,332
    Mine still works it just does not talk to TUG but your macros are still there.
     
  39. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    is yours set to check for updates every time or weekly?
     
  40. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
  41. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    ANYWORD FROM TUGSOFT??
     
  42. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    i think those that had it to check weekly, if they now set to every time, they will then start getting the same errors we get. Looks like we all need to have the settings for once a week and not everytime...
     
  43. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    *PEEES ON TUGSOFT*
     
  44. GarthGrey

    GarthGrey Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend GoT

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    1,405
    Do you really think I"ve forgotten who you are ? Why you still hating on me ? :(
     
  45. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    ewwww lol... ya just wish they would post something
     
  46. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    YES WOTS UP WITH NO NEWS
     
  47. Deep Ellum Dan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    324
    i wont post it but a quick whois will give you the contact info for at least the domain so not sure if thats the developer also or just the person that registered the domain but a good start for support...
     
  48. whiterabbit

    whiterabbit Stratics Legend
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,125
    WHY IS NOT TUG SOFT COMING OUT WITH SUMTING, OR FIXING IT!!!!!
    *PEEES ON DEM MORE*
     
  49. Coco_Zamis_DF

    Coco_Zamis_DF Journeyman
    Governor Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    69
    Well the follow changes saves the day. For some reasons i had swithed in the past Method 1 old for updating. Now i changed to Method 2 (default) and once a day.
    Start UOA and wait until you see the settings button in the right bottom corner. Open it and change the settings like mine.
    Because of paranoia i remove my path entries from the screen.
    Gimme a hug if it works for you. tugsoft settings.jpg
     
    Lord Frodo likes this.