1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Is it my computer or UO?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by old gypsy, Jul 10, 2014.

  1. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    When I logged into UO this morning, there was no music or sound and my mouse acted like it was moving through quicksand. I double checked the settings and all was in order. Then I logged out and went to other sites.

    On every other site I visited, my mouse was working fine and my sound worked normally. So to be safe, I did a refrag, then logged into UO once more. My mouse still moves like it's in quicksand and I still have no sound at all in UO.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
    _________________________________

    Update: Well, sound was working, until just now. I no longer have sound, although all my settings for sound are correct and should be working. I had this problem yesterday but it was corrected after I installed an "optional" update for Windows. Apparently it is now "uncorrected". Has anyone ever had the urge to pitch a laptop in the trash bin? I'm getting close.... :wall:
     
    #1 old gypsy, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  2. Herman

    Herman Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    106
    If you play classic client be sure you have Run mouse in a separate thread activated or it will be realy slow
     
  3. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    Unfortunately, that is not the problem. There's no sound now, in or out of game. I've checked the computer settings and all drivers/devises are current and (according to my computer) in working order. I'm getting very close to deciding there are more productive things to do with what remains of my life than feed (and/or pay to support) an internet addiction.
     
  4. Monomaxos

    Monomaxos Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    To me sounds like something wrong with your display driver too or directdraw. Sometimes disk errors happen and may corrupt a file without you understanding till next reboot. That is cause last time it was accessed the files already loaded in memory. Example if a bit higher voltage momentary passes to the laptop will cause your disk run a bit faster few secs losing a bit of data. That doesnt mean that necessarily that was the issue but it could be. Also it could be a settings file in the client to be corrupted so maybe you should still recheck settings just to force it save the settings file again
     
    #4 Monomaxos, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  5. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    If you have the same issues that I have - check the speaker/headset connection at the back of the computer. My cat loves to pull the wire out for some reason. :p
     
  6. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    Thanks. I'll recheck the settings again. One of our Chessie people is going to call me tonight to see if he can figure out what needs to be done. For all intents and purposes, I'm just tech-illiterate... and becoming more and more disenchanted with technology every day.
     
    Uriah Heep likes this.
  7. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    I don't see one. It's just a small laptop. Nothing else attached... not even a printer.
     
  8. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    If it is a laptop with no external speakers or headset then it's probably not the cat. Other than that - there's tons of little stuff that is possible. Updated drivers? A recent driver update that messed something up? An accidentally pressed mute button on the keyboard (My cats step on those things regularly), etc.
     
  9. Monomaxos

    Monomaxos Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    If he got sound on rest things he does, its high chance he needs a directx fix really
     
    #9 Monomaxos, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  10. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    I haven't a clue at this point... *stares at the two cats sitting nearby*... All available updates are current as far as I can tell. Nothing is muted. Hopefully, I'll know more after my shard-mate calls tonight. *crosses fingers* I'll post an update as soon as I know what's going on (and find out how to fix it).
     
  11. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    This has been a hair-puller... and now it has become embarrassingly laughable.

    When I bought my computer, it was when things had switched to Windows 8. I was not a happy camper, but I needed a computer, so decided to try to live with it. For a long time all went ok. Every now and then the computer would remind me that a free upgrade to Windows 8.1 was available, to which I always responded by pressing the "Remind Me Later" button. I assumed the upgrade was optional, and for a long time it seemed to be. But since I hated Windows 8 so much, why would I want to upgrade to 8.1? Doh! :rolleyes:
    Well, in desperation, I decided to try the upgrade. It took all afternoon. But at long last I have sound again, both in and out of UO! *cheers* :cheerleader:

    Lesson learned: Microsoft will not include in its reminders the little fact that if you keep refusing to upgrade to 8.1, things will stop working. Ah well, I did mention earlier that I'm tech-illiterate. But at least I'm back in UO. :hula:
     
    Obsidian and G.v.P like this.
  12. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    8.1 is teh sux, got it on a laptop...I'm gonna hate the internet when my Vista and XP setups finally die.
     
    old gypsy likes this.
  13. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    Hmm sounds like your sound drivers were corrupted. When you upgraded it loaded new drivers (for 8.1) and thus the upgrade fixed it. Wish I'd see this sooner :) I would just had you download new sound drivers. However to prevent stuff from getting corrupted I recommend scanning with either MalwareBytes Anti-malware , Super Anti-malware or Spybot Search and Destroy 2.0. Antivirus only protects just so far but these catch the little suckers that antivirus miss. They are all freeware. Also I hope you are running an Antivirus, if not the AVG or Avast! are good and free. AVG is kinda bloaty but it works. Me I have a paid sub. to Kaspersky, and Comarade K does a great job keeping my laptop clean.
     
  14. Capt. Lucky

    Capt. Lucky Crazed Zealot

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Bought a new monitor to realize all the kitty bite marks on the old cable. But I needed a larger monitor anyway so the cat still got his treats ;)
     
    Tazar likes this.
  15. Capt. Lucky

    Capt. Lucky Crazed Zealot

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    I too despise Windows 8. I understand why they did it. But it sucks. Took me awhile to get use to it, but now I understand it pretty much, I've decided it still sucks ;)
     
    old gypsy likes this.
  16. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    At least you understand it, which is more than I can say for myself. :)
     
  17. Capt. Lucky

    Capt. Lucky Crazed Zealot

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Well the people that have used desk top computers all these years, and never had a mouse, really appreciated this operating system that is devoted to touch screens. I must admit I haven't quite got the hot buttons on my fingers programed just right for my macros.
     
  18. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    Well Win 8 isn't the suckiest Windows ever but its pretty sucky. The suckiest is hands down Windows ME (anyone remember this horrid piece o' crap?) I had the miss fortune of buying a computer back then that came pre-load with it. OMG! When XP came out I reformatted the HD and loaded XP Pro. The next suckiest was probably Vista...I used it at work, reminded me of Win ME, so I never would upgrade to it or buy a new computer. I bought a laptop loaded with Win 7 and I really like it. Win 7 is solid. Thinking of maybe going Apple for my next computer, I don't know. Sis can run Linux/Unix; she's talking about setting up a Linux/Unix computer, maybe she can teach me Linux.

    Since we're on the subject of Computers, anyone here running a laptop with Beats audio? Sis has never been able to get hers to work right sound is real low. My laptop is louder than hers and my laptop has SRS Premium Sound with Altec Lansing speakers. Hers has never been right since the Geek Squad "repaired" after a water spill incident. She's had the speakers checked by another repair company...still low sound.
     
    #18 Jirel of Joiry, Jul 12, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2014
  19. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,465
    Well it's common knowledge I think to always buy the odd numbered windows. So ME was 4 Sucked..... XP was like 5, Vista was really bad that was 6 Windows 7 good.... Liked it..... Won't buy anything with 8 on it. Waiting for the next thing. Hopefully by the time I save up for a new pc which I really could use right now... they will have whatever is "next" ....
     
  20. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    My first full build computer (which I'm typing from, a 4 GHZ Oct core running Windows 7), cost me about $1,000 to build roughly 6 months ago [8 GB Ram, 2 GB VGA, 212 EVO cooler, Bluray player, other stuff (almost movie time)]. It has a MoBo with a GUI; for anyone who is still hesitant about building your own rig, I'd highly consider trying it out. MoBo's with GUIs really make things simple nowadays. Also worth it just to get Windows 7.
     
  21. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    *Slips off into a corner reserved for the tech-challenged, suddenly all too painfully aware of the depth of meaning in the expression, "It's Greek to me."
     
  22. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    ;P

    mm so, back in the day, when you built a computer and put in the motherboard (MoBo), you'd have to go through command prompt, DOS like stuff, but now, certain MoBos have a user interface (UI) that is graphical (GUI), or it has a menu system and more of a "Windows" feel, and structured so you can use a plug and play mouse to set things up (before you install Windows or a different operating system onto your main hard drive/solid state drive).

    for example, for me, I got this:
    http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-SABERTOOTH-990FX-R2-0-Motherboard/dp/B008YDJHWM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1405216480&sr=8-1&keywords=sabertooth 990fx gen3 r2.0

    hehe. I guess what I mean to say is it's better than ever to build your own stuff, and I was pushed to make my own, really, because I was not going to buy a Windows 8 desktop. oh, but if you do, you have to spring for a solid state drive, really. the boot times are amazing. with a standard hard drive I'd often be like, "Eh, I'll leave the computer on because it takes too long to turn it back on." haha.
     
    old gypsy likes this.
  23. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    Deinitely makes sense to build your own if you have the knowledge." :)
     
    Ludes likes this.
  24. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    well since youre on ches you know I'd help, too!!!! :). the most annoying part for me, really, was selecting the power supply unit, because you read and hear about so many horror stories. if there is something wrong with the power supply it can damage everything, so that first boot is very scary lol. the reality, though, is companies like Corsair are very trusted for their power supplies.

    over the last 15 years of computer ownership, stock power supplies seem like the first thing to go, followed by stock CD/DVD drives (by stock I mean bought by manufacturer, like Gateway, Dell, HP, etc). one thing that's good to know as a novice is companies like Dell, etc., put in the cheapest power supply they can, with the lowest possible wattage to run everything in the system. that means if you add a lot of things--another CD/DVD drive, a few external USB drives--it can strain the power supply. as for the CD/DVD, to me I think it has to do with how many games you have which require a CD/DVD to play. all that constant spinning. but who knows ;P. I keep everything on surge protectors and hope for the best ;D.

    one day I hope to add yet another walkthrough based on my trial run. something needs to be done about this Windows 8 nonsense ;P.
     
    old gypsy likes this.
  25. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    Always get more wattage then you think you need..

    Also avoid sleeve bearings when choosing a power supply..