1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Is name change my only option??

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Zuc(LS), Nov 14, 2008.

  1. Zuc(LS)

    Zuc(LS) Guest

    Whats going on yall. Heres my problem and hopefully someone can help me out. I have 2 characters with the exact same name. I had one on a different shard but transferd him to my main shard. Any time I make a macro under UO macros it goes off on both chars. If I delete the macro its gone from both of them. Please tell me there is another way to fix this other than buying a character name change token :sad2:
     
  2. Radun

    Radun Guest

    i think it's the only way
     
  3. Xenobia

    Xenobia Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    5
    I would think that would be something to ask a GM. If you did not know that moving the char would cause an issue, they may go on and change it for you??? I know that's like saying the Pope is coming to dinner tonight but HEY it can't hurt to try right? :)
     
  4. jelinidas

    jelinidas Guest

    Perhaps Im missing something. Why cant you just use the same macros for both peeps? ie shift/space bandage self, shift z cast last spell, etc. Use the same macros for both chars. Even with way different types of charachers, there are plenty of key combos.
    Like I said, Im probably missing something! :mf_prop:
     
  5. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Well, to state the obvious, the reason is the way the macros are saved. Desktop folder with categories of Shards you play, in each folders with character names. So if both same names you get one folder for both, sharing macros and settings, etc. You COULD delete on character and use soulstones if you have any to move to the other character. Otherwise name-change is your only option. I am 99.9% sure that a GM would not help you on this as it is not their doing of putting you with 2 characters with same name on one shard.
     
  6. Xenobia

    Xenobia Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah I'm pretty sure they won't help either but can't hurt to ask. Give em the sad face :sad3: hehe
     
  7. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Well, that would depend on how long you would end up waiting for them to respond versus when you want to finally log off :p
     
  8. Xenobia

    Xenobia Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    5
    LoL this is so true...forget what I said and just pay the money :gee:
     
  9. Desperado_SE

    Desperado_SE Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hope you haven't spent your money just yet. All you have to do is go into your desktop folder in the EAGames directory, select the shard your playing on, then cut one of the other same-named character folders from that shard folder and place it in the main directory with all the shard folders listed. I just tested this with two characters with the same names, and the macro would only play on the new character and not the old one. If you have any problems, just PM me and we'll get it sorted out and save you some money in the process.
     
  10. controlfive

    controlfive Guest

    never tried it, but would making the two seperate macro.txt files read-only help? it should keep the game from overwriting them.
     
  11. trammelite

    trammelite Guest

    the settings/macros are stored in a file with the exact name as your char. two chars withe the same name obviously share the same single file.
    if you want to avoid a name change token (and you can not convince a gm to change your char name for one of the chars) i would suggest to create the macro/settings for one char, rename the charfile to charname.1 (or anything) and setup the macros for the other char, rename it charname.2.
    now create two shortcuts on your desktop for firing up uo and link that to a batch file, which renames the charname.x to charname (and back to charname.x on quitting) with the individual settings back and forth to which you need.

    in UO:KR the .xml settings files might give you a more convenient way of doing this, but you might want to contact a modder for this.
     
  12. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Going to have to name change one. I also have this problem, but luckly 1 chara I do not use much so it isn't a problem. One is a smith the other a warrior, once you log onto the other one the others macroes last saved are there. Only thing I have not tried & should work is use diff hot keys for ea chara. Like use all the # keys for one & all the F keys for another. That would be the only way it might work, and useing of the others Keys on the other charater would over write the ones there so you would have to becareful.
    Personally, I'd name chg & thats what I may do with mine, JUST be careful if you have a Personal Bless Deed on the one you chg. I think something has to be done by a GM to get it to the new name but I can not remember.
     
  13. Nine Dark Moons

    Nine Dark Moons Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Likes Received:
    43
    i bought a vet account last year and 3 chars had PBD's - i used name change tokens on all 3 and at first their PBD displayed the old name, but once i blessed something then unblessed it, the re-deeded PBD displayed the new name.

    Zuc the best way around this would be to dump one of the char's skills onto soulstones (or frags) and then create a new char with a new name and xfer the skills onto the new char. the only times this isn't a good option is if the char has a PBD, or has eaten a pricey ultimate stat scroll or has eaten expensive skill scrolls (like mage).
     
  14. laurlo

    laurlo Guest

    name change is your only option.. or another character transfer.
     
  15. Lady Arwen

    Lady Arwen Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    32
    I agree, unless im missing something too.. Why couldnt you just use the same macros for both chars? Even if they are different character types. Thats what I would do. Unless you have tons and tons of money and a name change isnt a problem :D
     
  16. Ashlen

    Ashlen Guest

    I am fighting the same battle with EA right now
    I have submitted reports to EA Suport and they
    keep saying things like we cant change your name,
    I didnt ask them to change my name I ask them to fix my macros.
    Or another issue were they cannot create key setting for any macro and/or use macro while they use Norton Internet Security 2009.
    Or from todays reponse:
    Response (EA Rep Glathin) 11/14/2008 03:56 AM
    Greetings,

    Thank you for contacting Ultima Online support.

    If you indeed feel that the provided answer did not resolve your problem, then I sadly cannot comment further. We only know of the problem connected to Norton Securety. No other issues are known to us and as such I can sadly not provide further support on this matter.

    I really liked this one, "there is no other isssues known to them", does that mean
    they think Im the only one having this problem? Its apparent that Im not.

    The reason I cant use the same macros. One girl
    is a Legendary Bard in all 4 barding skills with 115
    magery/eval with max stats.
    The other girl is legendary Necro/Mage nox with
    max stats.
    I also transfered one from another shard never thinking
    I would have this problem. I have had other characters
    with the same name on same accounts on same shards
    before in the past 11 years of playing and never ran into
    this. I think since Ive played consistant on 3 accounts
    and sometimes up to 5 never taking a break. That the least
    they can do is fix my macros.
    Its not like Im asking them to unban me or fix something on
    an account that has many many bad marks against it
    because none of mine do.
    GM Thowe did send me to this link
    http://support.ea.com/cgi-bin/ea.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1133
    he was the most helpful but it didnt help me correct my problem.

    I do not want to buy a name change token I like my characters names
    thats why I named them that. I didnt orginaly mean for them to
    be on the same shard but they are now. I was told by a ingame
    friend that if I had a .(period) or -(dash) at the end of one name
    it would take care of the problem and thats what I mentioned in one
    of the support reports and that got them off on the issue I wanted
    a name change when all I want is for my macros to work.
    Because for me to play the 2 girls I am constantly changing macros.
     
  17. Zuc(LS)

    Zuc(LS) Guest

    Has anyone done or heard of this?? I just wanna make sure I dont mess up my account and not be able to play a certain char.