1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Item Insurance "Toggle"... what do you think?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by startle, Jan 6, 2013.

?

Insurance option to "Select All"

Poll closed Feb 6, 2013.
  1. Yes

    60.0%
  2. No

    40.0%
  1. startle

    startle Siege... Where the fun begins.
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    I just finished putting a "checkmark" in about 40 boxes in the Item Insurance Menu, and thought about how many times I have done this in the past. It's sort of a pain. I'm sure you've all had times (especially you fellow crafters out there) when you wish you didn't have to go thru so much "checking" to get all your stuff insured before traveling in "unsafe" areas.

    Well, have a look at the image below - and see if you don't think having the option to "Select All" would be a nice addition to insuring items:

    [​IMG]
     
    Madrid likes this.
  2. DerekL

    DerekL Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    98
    What the heck are you carrying that you need to insure 40 items?
     
  3. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    I've never had any problem with manually insuring my items, but then again I've never had more than 10 items to insure. I guess it could be handy if someone is carrying numerous suits and weapons that they feel they need.
     
  4. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    769
    Voted NO as there is no way I want to insure everything I am carrying.
     
    Flutter likes this.
  5. Irulia Darkaith

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    298
    I've never really had a problem insuring the one suit I am wearing, but at the same time it would be nice to have this option on the menu. Then again I don't play with the EC, so if they did add the feature, it would probably wouldn't be added to the CC anyway.
     
  6. startle

    startle Siege... Where the fun begins.
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    It is an option, MissEcho... You don't have to use it.
     
  7. Obsidian

    Obsidian UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    780
    I would rather the Devs devote time on bigger issues. There is nothing broken with this system and IMO it is not taxing in the least to insure each item by checking a box in the item insurance menu.
     
    MissEcho, Flutter and Lord Frodo like this.
  8. Shakkara

    Shakkara Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    475
    May I propose a different solution?

    When targetting a container with the item insurance cursor (from toggle item insurance), it will automatically toggle the insurance of the container and its contents, according to the following rule:
    * If there are one or more items in the container (or the container itself) that are not insured, any items in the container that are insured will remain as they are, and all the uninsured items (or the container itself) are insured.
    * Else if there are only insured items in the container (and the container itself is insured), all the items in the container as well as the container itself will have their insurance removed

    What do you think?
     
    #8 Shakkara, Jan 6, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  9. cazador

    cazador Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    1,526
    it's not nessasarily needed but wouldn't be a horrible addition
     
  10. startle

    startle Siege... Where the fun begins.
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    You're right and so are the others that feel as you do... It is NOT what I would have the Dev's spend any time on, until they at least finish the Vendor Search code... And there are certainly other things beyond that, that would come before this. I was more curious as to what you guys think than anything else...
    And Shakkara's idea has great merit too...
     
    #10 startle, Jan 6, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  11. Tjalle

    Tjalle Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter Gilfane

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,851
    Likes Received:
    1,310
    I wouldn´t mind at all it they added it but I would prolly not use it myself for my Europa chars.
     
  12. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    I'n not a coder but I'm going to venture to guess that being that the insurance menu is already there that it would not take a large amount of time and coding to add a button/toggle for "Check All".

    The "I want Devs time spent on other projects" crowd make it sound like this idea is calling for a whole new expansion. Given other things that have been implemented I can't see this consuming too much time and resources.

    It's a feature that should have been in since day 1.
     
    #12 Madrid, Jan 10, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013