1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

just came back after a few years off and i'm scared!

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Kyle Orton, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. Kyle Orton

    Kyle Orton Guest

    LOL, this new client thing is scaring me. What do I have to do, can I just keep playing my regular old 2d client and still have access to the new lands?
     
  2. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,172
    yes, provided you buy the expansion :)
     
  3. Kyle Orton

    Kyle Orton Guest

    Thank you for the simple answer! The FAQ confused the crap outta me.
     
  4. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    You can play either client, the new Enhanced Client or the (Old 2d) Enhanced Classic 2d Client as they call it now.
     
  5. GalenKnighthawke

    GalenKnighthawke Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    Welcome back.

    -Galen's player
     
  6. Trebr Drab

    Trebr Drab Guest

    Do not be scared. It will all be over soon. :eek:
     
  7. Chrissay_

    Chrissay_ Guest


    These are the types of statements that are confusing players there is NO "Enhanced classic 2d client" That's combining the names of 2 different clients.

    There are only:
    • Classic client (formerly 2D)
    • Enhanced Client (formerly SA)
    • Kingdom Reborn
     
  8. sablestorm

    sablestorm Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    317
    Of course, you guys could've stuck with 2d, SA, and KR, which is what everyone already knew them as. ;)
     
  9. Kaleb

    Kaleb Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes but then they would have to have the client at 100% before launch where Im willing to bet they are/were closer to finishing the content, then the client and figured they would separate them so they can launch the expansion and once that's finished bang out the enhanced client when most resources will be available. while having released the new client prior they are then able to collect bug info and have a game plan to work with possibly to have a majority quashed shortly after launch.
     
  10. Stupid Miner

    Stupid Miner Guest

    You know... why on earth did you guys have to rename the clients and confuse everyone? :confused:
     
  11. so the KR client is still going to be around when SA is launched?
     
  12. DarkChronus

    DarkChronus Guest

    I still fail to see how "Classic client" is confusing to anyone.... unless for some reason you don't understand the word "classic". :p

    And also, calling it the "2D client" is a bit misleading as well since really the KR/Enhanced clients are 2D in presentation as well. The new names make perfect sense! :)

    And KR will be gone by the time SA goes live. I remember reading it in a Mythic post somewhere recently. KR is not being updated to be compatible with the new changes.
     
  13. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    ditto/
     
  14. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    it will be around for a while but is going by the wayside eventually
     
  15. Chrissay_

    Chrissay_ Guest

    Many players do not know the difference between client and content. With 2 different products with practically the same name that would confuse anyone especially if they didn't know the difference between client and content.

    With the original name it also started players thinking they needed the new client in order to get the expansion. No matter how many times we said you could play the expansion in the Classic Client (2D) everyone assumed you still needed the new client to do so.

    To clear up that confusion we felt it best to rename the clients to stop any confusion on this. We want to be able to clearly communicate with everyone about the different aspects of our game.
     
  16. Kyle Orton

    Kyle Orton Guest

    This post is very clear. Basically I wanted to know if I could still play the new content on the client that I currently play on. =)
     
  17. Chrissay_

    Chrissay_ Guest

    Yes you can :) The confusion started when we called everything by the same name :(
     
  18. Kyle Orton

    Kyle Orton Guest

    Sorry guys, I'm an idiot and am easily confused! :dunce: Especially with any kind of computer lingo... such as "client"... haha. I just like being able to click on my icon on the desktop, log in and enjoy.
     
  19. Amber Moon

    Amber Moon Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing wrong with you. That is all that should be required to get you started in the game. I am amazed they keep recommending a Beta client that is still so rough on the edges to returning and new players.
     
  20. DarkChronus

    DarkChronus Guest

    I do agree with this mostly. I'd also like to point out that to be consistent and hopefully help in the future they should change every mention of the "SA client" in the FAQ to refer to the "enhanced client". Its still referencing SA as the client.