1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Lag another time??????

Discussion in 'UO Europa' started by Guest, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Another time lag, lag, lag!!!!!!!!!.
    I'M VERY BORED.
    It's impossible to play. The char walk one step, then stop itself, then anotehr step and so on and so on and so.....
    What's happening this days????
    I pay for ALL DAYS, not only for some times, ok?
    Let solve the problem!
    My internet connection is ok and today there was no lag. Now it's impossible to play.
     
  2. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Send a PM too Jeremy, she might be able to help you out
     
  3. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Can you do a trace? I've just done one, If you're linking into the same route I am, we're being throttled.

    My ping goes suddenly from mid 20s to mid 80s with packet loss.

    <font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>Host Name IP Address Hop Ping Time Ping Avg % Loss Pkts r/s Ping best/worst
    * Unknown Host * 10.156.204.1 2 8ms 100% 0 / 150
    nott-t2cam1-a-v113.inet.ntl.com 81.109.167.61 3 11ms 14ms 0% 150 / 150 7ms / 170ms
    nott-t3core-1a-ge-013-0.inet.ntl.com 195.182.174.217 4 11ms 13ms 0% 150 / 150 7ms / 44ms
    lee-bb-a-so-020-0.inet.ntl.com 213.105.174.169 5 10ms 14ms 0% 150 / 150 9ms / 60ms
    bre-bb-b-so-200-0.inet.ntl.com 213.105.175.26 6 19ms 21ms 0% 150 / 150 15ms / 51ms
    bre-bb-a-ge-000-0.inet.ntl.com 213.105.174.225 7 43ms 17ms 0% 150 / 150 12ms / 43ms
    osr01haye-tenge71.inet.ntl.com 195.182.178.138 8 16ms 24ms 0% 150 / 150 14ms / 197ms
    * Unknown Host * 62.31.32.194 9 25ms 23ms 0% 150 / 150 14ms / 217ms
    * Unknown Host * 82.44.128.110 10 84ms 97ms 10% 134 / 150 81ms / 391ms
    * Unknown Host * 80.69.16.174 11 91ms 97ms 12% 132 / 150 81ms / 466ms
    fert02-ixe-lhr.ea.com 159.153.156.10 12 87ms 87ms 6% 139 / 149 81ms / 129ms
    * Unknown Host * 159.153.156.138 13 88ms 88ms 11% 132 / 149 83ms / 115ms
    </pre><hr />

    I looked up the two 'unknown hosts' using a 'who is' site:

    IP Address : 82.44.128.110 [ 82.44.128.110 ]
    ISP : Telewest Broadband
    Organization : Telewest BIC WAN Hayes allocations - Hayes
    Location : GB, United Kingdom
    City : Hayes, 17 -
    Latitude : 51°36'67" North
    Longitude : 0°01'66" East

    IP Address : 80.69.16.174 [ 80.69.16.174 ]
    ISP : IXServices
    Organization : Interconnect Exchange Europe Ltd
    Location : GB, United Kingdom
    City : West Drayton, 17 -
    Latitude : 51°50'00" North
    Longitude : 0°46'67" West

    It's not EA, but it's not my isp either. Not sure what we can do about it.
     
  4. frodofeet

    frodofeet Guest

    I've had lag problems too for about the last 10 days or so.

    <blockquote><hr>


    * Unknown Host * 82.44.128.110 10 84ms 97ms 10% 134 / 150 81ms / 391ms
    * Unknown Host * 80.69.16.174 11 91ms 97ms 12% 132 / 150 81ms / 466ms

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It's possible the routing between these two companies has been changed recently, which could explain the lag. Maybe they are re-routing for maintenance or something?

    If this is the reason then it's usually the responsibility of the end supplier (i.e. EA) to ensure any network problems or routing issues are sorted. But it depends on the small-print... there's usually something which legally gets them out of such bindings.

    Hopefully it's just a temporary thing [​IMG]
     
  5. Guest

    Guest Guest

    The physical distance between those two hops and the one immediately before them (the last one with a 'normal' ping rate) is less than 10 miles.

    I did 'who is by ip' on all 3 addresses.
     
  6. I have suffered this for a couple of weeks now, same choke points as you list there Petra. I dont know whats going on, but I am fine 8am - 4pm or so, and likewise from about 10:30/11:00 pm onwards. Thankfully I mostly play late evening, otherwise I think I would probably have gone and found a new game by now, and this after 8 years of UO, but it is so so frustrating.

    Initially I thought I must have virus/trojan type problems, but have run 4 different virus checkers / spyware checkers and always come back clean.

    Connection to everything else is fine, its just playing UO thats the problems, and always that same choke point you list.
     
  7. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Jeremy is looking into it for us, I posted UOhall.

    Seems Pogo players are having the same problem, so far she's been told it's something to do with 'fair usage' and the company mentioned is 'Tiscalli'. Trouble is, I don't use Tiscalli.
     
  8. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Pogo's new badges start on Wednesdays don't they? They will have a lot of traffic today!

    As for Tiscali - if your provider goes through Tiscali's servers to get to Ultima Online, then it might affect more than just Tiscali users?

    I think it is EVE online that I remember hearing a lot of Tiscali problems with. Something to do with Tiscali blocking Peer to Peer connections that has a domino effect on other users too.


    Edit: just read Jeremy's replies in U.Hall. Best thing to do is to call up your provider and ask them if they are Partnered with Tiscali or if they route through their network. If so, explain to them that your internet is being affected by their Fair Usage Policy even though you are not using Peer to Peer software.

    I am so sad that you guys and gals do not have Comcast over there. I've been through so many providers. Comcast is the only one that has never let me down and has always been On Top of making sure the network is stable. For me anyway.
     
  9. Aurelius

    Aurelius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    689
    Just to add some extra information, or maybe confusion, into the mix.... I'm currently having a short UO holiday and trying out 'Pirates of the Burning Sea' for a bit, they are having quite a few issues of lag, lots down to server load but they investigated some from Europe, and found this regarding Blueyonder :

    Greetings,

    Our support team has noticed a number of reports from United Kingdom residents having trouble accessing the game. After investigation, it turns out that their Internet Service Provider, Blueyonder, is currently experiencing issues that prevent them from connecting to the launcher.

    Unfortunately, these issues are beyond our control. However, if you have trouble connecting, if you live in the United Kingdom and if Blueyonder is your ISP, then don’t look any further, your issue is most likely related to theirs.

    Thank you for your patience,

    POTBS Europe Team.
     
  10. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I'm italian and my internet provider is the official telephony company in italy, Telecom.
    But i've read many post in which many people of all over europe states sayied that there was lag in Europa. It's not an internet provider problem. It's a problem of EUROPA!!!. And i'm bored to pay for not to play
     
  11. Aurelius

    Aurelius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    689
    And I'm not disagreeing with what you say, or claiming to have a solution, just pointing out so people know, there seem to be problems with another ISP in the UK they may wish to be aware of....

    Sorry I can't fixyour problem, or anyone else's - but I can tell people about stuff I find that might be of interest or possible relevance, can't I?
     
  12. Kayne

    Kayne Guest

    I have no lag, my only lag problem is due to the way I'm currently connecting. People are trying to help so don't start getting annoyed at them for posting information that may be relevant to us all
     
  13. Kas Althume

    Kas Althume Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    <font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>Host Name IP Address Hop Ping Time Ping Avg % Loss Pkts r/s Ping best/worst
    dslb-088-073-000-001.pools.arcor-ip.net 88.73.0.1 2 6ms 8ms 0% 171 / 171 6ms / 27ms
    bln-145-254-5-137.arcor-ip.net 145.254.5.137 3 7ms 7ms 0% 171 / 171 6ms / 16ms
    ffm-145-254-18-89.arcor-ip.net 145.254.18.89 4 15ms 15ms 0% 171 / 171 14ms / 26ms
    ffm-145-254-16-178.arcor-ip.net 145.254.16.178 5 15ms 15ms 0% 171 / 171 14ms / 28ms
    POS2-0.GW9.FFT4.ALTER.NET 146.188.70.201 6 15ms 16ms 0% 171 / 171 15ms / 23ms
    so-7-1-0.XR2.FFT4.ALTER.NET 149.227.48.29 7 15ms 16ms 0% 171 / 171 15ms / 42ms
    so-1-3-0.TL2.FFT1.ALTER.NET 146.188.15.197 8 15ms 16ms 0% 171 / 171 15ms / 39ms
    so-1-0-0.TL2.LND9.ALTER.NET 146.188.14.222 9 27ms 28ms 0% 171 / 171 26ms / 42ms
    so-6-0-0.XR2.LND9.ALTER.NET 146.188.15.46 10 29ms 28ms 0% 170 / 170 27ms / 67ms
    pos2-0.gw2.lnd9.alter.net 158.43.150.162 11 28ms 28ms 0% 170 / 170 26ms / 45ms
    uuk202020.uk.customer.alter.net 158.43.28.238 12 28ms 39ms 0% 170 / 170 27ms / 278ms
    fert01-ixe-lhr.ea.com 159.153.156.6 13 28ms 29ms 0% 170 / 170 27ms / 46ms
    * Unknown Host * 159.153.156.138 14 30ms 29ms 0% 170 / 170 28ms / 36ms
    </pre><hr />

    No problem to be found. Fresh traceroute from Germany to the Europa-Shard (DF will be the same since they are located in the same building).

    PS: Alter.Net is much better than Colt.Net! [​IMG]
     
  14. Guest

    Guest Guest

    heh aye, but at the moment we're not even going through COLT, we're going through Telewest, who obviously have a problem.
     
  15. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    I have suffered this for a couple of weeks now, same choke points as you list there Petra. I dont know whats going on, but I am fine 8am - 4pm or so, and likewise from about 10:30/11:00 pm onwards. Thankfully I mostly play late evening, otherwise I think I would probably have gone and found a new game by now, and this after 8 years of UO, but it is so so frustrating.

    Initially I thought I must have virus/trojan type problems, but have run 4 different virus checkers / spyware checkers and always come back clean.

    Connection to everything else is fine, its just playing UO thats the problems, and always that same choke point you list.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    i run a virus scan every day, and a spy/ad ware scan every couple of days. and i just had to ditch a big ol' nasty file that was just over 10% of my hard drive total. all my up to the minute up to date scans missed it. my clue? i couldn't defrag it and the original file was a picture. pictures are not, generally, too big to fit in the recycle bin! was running slow, with system lag rather than net lag while it was there. now am running fine unless i use icq a lot, when i just slow right down and crash!
     
  16. Aurelius

    Aurelius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    689
    There might be a general issue forming... from a couple of posts back in the PotBS forums, I found these;

    If you are on a campus, or other site with a program called Packeteer monitoring usage, you may be running foul of what's described here :

    "Well, it seems that PotBS is erroneously being flagged as a P2P program, specifically Gnutzilla by a security program called Packeteer. I have no idea how this Packeteer program works myself, but it seems that it must see "Gnutzilla is trying to access the internet? BLOCK" and so Packeteer needs to fix their program to not falsely identify PotBS as thus Gnutzilla P2P program, and if your university uses it, they need to get the update."

    Other things related to packet shaping by your ISP - or one that the traffic passes through - may also be causing grief,

    "Nildram and Pipex are both part of Tiscali now. Tiscali run some kind of packet shaping that is affecting players of many popular games including Call of Duty 4, WoW and LotRO. Tiscali acknowledged the problem some weeks ago but I don't know what they are planning to do to fix it."

    Wonder if other ISPs are doing similar packet-shaping, and it's messing up routes when they get involved in the connections path...

    Edit - regarding Tiscali, this may also be of interest.