1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Lag spikes after latest patch

Discussion in 'UHall' started by EDA_GL, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. EDA_GL

    EDA_GL Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    24
    Anyone else getting a 3-5 second pause every 20-30 seconds since they received the ToT patch? I first attributed it to the severe weather that blew through here today (Friday), however it still exists.....any suggestions?
     
  2. Install more ram.
     
  3. EDA_GL

    EDA_GL Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks for nothing. :dunce:

    Before anyone else gives me brilliant suggestions like this one...
    Dell XPS 630i (4gigs in it, three are available due to vista)
    The lag started AFTER the ToT patch went in.
    My main post was just seeing if anyone else noticed a change in their performance.
     
  4. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    didn't start right away, and not quite the same as you describe... it's a choppy, bumpy kind of ride, and began last night.... sometimes a 2-3 second delay and then it kicks in, but mostly just a continuous hesitancy
     
  5. EDA_GL

    EDA_GL Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    24
    Justabump

    I can't be the only one having this issue.......can I?
     
  6. Sure you could. Your hardware, your ISP, your router, your route to the server, all are unique to you. Post a tracert.
     
  7. EDA_GL

    EDA_GL Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    24
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\NAME HERE>tracert greatlakes.owo.com

    Tracing route to central-ae6.owo.com [159.153.233.71]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms adsl-99-141-223-254.dsl.emhril.sbcglobal.net [99
    .141.223.254]
    2 * 11 ms 11 ms dist2-vlan60.emhril.ameritech.net [68.22.72.131]

    3 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms bb2-g9-0.emhril.sbcglobal.net [151.164.94.164]
    4 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 69.220.8.51
    5 12 ms 13 ms 12 ms Te-3-2.Chicago1.Level3.net [4.68.110.197]
    6 24 ms 17 ms 18 ms ae-32-52.ebr2.Chicago1.Level3.net [4.68.101.62]

    7 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms ae-5.ebr2.Chicago2.Level3.net [4.69.140.194]
    8 32 ms 32 ms 32 ms ae-2-2.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.70]

    9 35 ms 37 ms 33 ms ae-92-92.csw4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
    58]
    10 32 ms 32 ms 33 ms ae-43-99.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.19
    7]
    11 33 ms 32 ms 32 ms ELECTRONIC.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.169
    .74]
    12 132 ms 157 ms 93 ms fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com [159.153.224.238]
    13 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms 159.153.233.71

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\NAME HERE>tracert greatlakes.owo.com

    Tracing route to central-ae6.owo.com [159.153.233.71]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 13 ms 12 ms 11 ms adsl-99-141-223-254.dsl.emhril.sbcglobal.net [99
    .141.223.254]
    2 11 ms 12 ms 12 ms dist2-vlan60.emhril.ameritech.net [68.22.72.131]

    3 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms bb2-g9-0.emhril.sbcglobal.net [151.164.94.164]
    4 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 69.220.8.51
    5 * 13 ms 12 ms Te-3-2.Chicago1.Level3.net [4.68.110.197]
    6 15 ms 17 ms 16 ms ae-32-52.ebr2.Chicago1.Level3.net [4.68.101.62]

    7 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms ae-5.ebr2.Chicago2.Level3.net [4.69.140.194]
    8 33 ms 32 ms 33 ms ae-2-2.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.70]

    9 38 ms 35 ms 36 ms ae-92-92.csw4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
    58]
    10 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms ae-43-99.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.19
    7]
    11 33 ms 33 ms 32 ms ELECTRONIC.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.169
    .74]
    12 32 ms 32 ms 32 ms fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com [159.153.224.238]
    13 33 ms 33 ms 32 ms 159.153.233.71

    Trace complete.


    Please note that these were done one after the other. The top tracert seems to bunk out on EA's end. Which I would expect more than just myself would squeeze into that same line, thus meaning more people getting weird lag.
    The bottom one is what I typically ping (33 average).
     
  8. Wallenstein

    Wallenstein Guest

    Same problems here.. sudden lag spikes that started this morning (Saturday EST).

    No ping/tracert over 14ms and my setup has 4GB of RAM. And, no, it's not a hard drive space issue (someone would've been bound to suggest this).

    La di da di daaaaaaaa.

    EDIT: It seemed to happen for 30 minutes, go away, come back for 30 minutes, go away... It was heavy in the afternoon so I left it while I went to the Sox game. Just got back, all's good for now. We'll see.
     
  9. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suspect it may be Midwest (sbcglobal.net) specific.

    They had an Outage Friday Night for what accumalitvly maybe 20 minutes or so? Cost me a death and the corpse as I could not get either account back in to loot the corpse. Fortunately for me that character didn't have any cursed items.

    Anywho, it has been a problem ever since. Although not as sever for me as your indicating. Much more like DevilsOwn.

    You may want to just ignore those that depict any and every problem in the world as an inadequacy of your machine. Not this board but some UO Boards deem that for you to rebutt someone saying that everything is the fault of your Commodore Pet computer as being a bannable offense.
    It was kind of fun playing in the Fan Dancer DoJo's Balron Room with the lag spikes :(

    And yeah right Fame/Karma has something to do with the Drops ... If the UO Team thinks it does then they had better take a look at the script because some 50 (approximately 75K gold) Balrons and not a single drop.

    Fifty Tsuki Wolves and I got 2 maybe 3.
     
  10. Harb

    Harb Guest

    Naw, East Coast/ AT&T here, experiencing about the same thing. The 3-5 sec "pause" per 30-45 sec time period is normal, it doesn't get better, but does get much, much worse. Thus far, no ToT3 here, we can't play sans lockup death. There are brief periods of maybe 5 mins max where this doesn't happen, so trace results are so varied there's not much sense in even posting them :(
     
  11. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then I wonder if a router got fried in the electric storm and .... with any kind of luck will be .... repaired this "business" week.

    There had not been the issue for me prior to the outage.
     
  12. Dokurochan

    Dokurochan Guest

    yeah I've been getting lag spikes since Saturday, its really starting to **** me off! :wall:

    specially when your doing champ spawns.. lag spikes = ouch
     
  13. Lag spikes too. Never had lag problems in years. Something has changed in last several days.
     
  14. LAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGY
     
  15. Harb

    Harb Guest

    Exactly. Whatever it was originally, it went away for a couple weeks, but returned Saturday. Not playable for the moment here, unless you take a warrior and stand around swatting cranes. Oh, forgot, they don't provide drops :(
     
  16. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it was really bad Saturday and / or Sunday (I was not paying all that much attention as I was switching a NAS over to one of the computers I obsoleted but is quite adequate to perform the NAS role). Just had a lot of data to transfer.

    BUT Sunday night it was fine for me and it was OK this morning when I did I Cu And Greater Dragon Checks.
     
  17. the 4th man

    the 4th man Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    45
    I get a frozen screen for a few seconds every now and then.....that's about it.

    Many moons ago, I had an issue, very similiar to yours. I called EA, I called my ISP, I called the makers of my pc....even posted here on stratics....got nowhere.....then, somehow the idea came into my head to check my internal modem.

    Somehow, Lord only knows how, it got turned on to try and dial out.
    I was freezing up for 10-12 seconds every 30 seconds or a minute, I forget which.

    Just a thought.
     
  18. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well there is another thing and it is simultaneously a bit more techy and simple.

    I do not have Cable and have very little contact with Cable systems.

    I do have DSL.

    If you have DSL, then it is likely you do NOT have a permanent IP Address. This means you MAY be intentionally or unintentionally dropped then reconnected getting a new IP Address.

    On the larger National Carriers this may mean you have (temporarily maybe) been put in a group of IP address that may have a different route your favorite spots.

    There are public services that provide a public DNS function. This means you can sign up, use a specific name such as Anyone.DynDns.Org and they will enter and propagate dns records that will point back to your current IP address when some one uses Anyone.DynDns.Org.

    As part of this, you can download and activate a service that monitors your IP address and when it detects a change can e-mail you and it updates the service with the new IP address which gets proagated ......

    Now if this is causing problems then a possible solution is simple, power off your DSL modem, if your using a Router for internal networking, then power it off as well.

    Count to 10, power the DSL modem back on and wait for it to fully cycle through the connection process. Once the DSL modem is connected then power the Router (if there is one) back on.

    This will force a Drop and Reconnect which may put you back into a group with a better route than the one you were in.

    *Cough*

    If the problem were located in your DSL - Modem <-> CO, then this would most likely resolve that issue.

    If the problem were located in your Router <-> DSL - Modem, then this would most likely resolve that issue.
     
  19. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    *looks at infraction history*

    Nope, can't touch this one.
     
  20. Mairut

    Mairut Guest

    I've been getting lag spikes too, I'm on Roadrunner...NY. Turning off my modem doesn't work all the time (unfortunately :-\)
    I have also been having a problem casting spells and logging out in my house to switch chars, but neither of those annoy me as much as the lag. :wall::wall::wall:
     
  21. I tried that. My connection after doing that was worse than ever. Maybe it was just the service I used, but it just increased the lag and wasn't easy at all to get rid of it. And the adds to upgrade to paid service were just annoying.

    Do you have a list of free services to try?
     
  22. Lord Gareth

    Lord Gareth UO Content Editor | UO Chesapeake & Rares News
    Reporter Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,167
    Likes Received:
    401
    I couldn't get in at all if I patch the ToT patch so I uninstalled and hit that cancel at the right patch time.

    I have to play with snow on the ground but its worth it to be able to play.

    Perhaps try an uninstall and cancel the last patch and see if you run better.
     
  23. Just a thought...

    I was at Luna bank last night and my screen froze for 2-3 seconds. When it unfroze, a player on a ethy went zipping by faster than my screen could catch up. I thought it was just a lag packet, but about 30 seconds later this same character came zipping by once again, only this time without the lag. There is only one way someone could run that fast in UO.

    Could this be the cause of "lag spikes," players who normally only PvP now looking for minor arties in Tokuno?
     
  24. Noobish Noob

    Noobish Noob Guest

    I am also in NY and noticed the lag spikes start after the last patch. It happens on both my old computer and my new stinking fast build (AMD 955, Radeon 4890, 4 gigs 1066 ram). It is funny though, my new puter handles the snap back of the packets much better than my old one. Old puter used to choke on the screen when it refreshed the action. The new one freezes for like 5 seconds..then POW...everything catches up in superspeed. Never have connection issues usually and my ping to PAC is actually better with the upgrade but now the lags spikes.
     
  25. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your asking about the dynamic dns services, then yes dyndns.org offers a free service to individuals and small companies as in they have no interest in being abused :)

    They will also list the client I am speaking of and it is a free download. It can be installed as a service or as an (start menu item) or User Started. Then you just configure the client to do the updates and give it an e-mail address.

    If I am not replying to your question then just disregard the above :)

    It never has been a problem for me as the client I use is idle/sleeping for 5 minutes then tests the IP to see if it has changed ......

    I did run into a really stupid thing the other night.

    I am using Windows 7 on both of my Game Computers. Both have sata ports.

    One of them was just horrific lag after looking at things I turned the other computer on and tried that one to confirm the lag. Nope no lag.

    I then reconfirmed the Lag on the original problem child, yep terrible lag and seemed to be particularly terrible in crowds (as in the more objects the worse things got).

    I shut UO down, went into Device Manager and started looking at stuff, the Sata channels were wrong, so I uninstalled all of them and rebooted the computer. No more lag.

    I eventually uninstalled all the system components so they would be re-installed.
     
  26. Im for sure having lag spikes here seems about every five mintutes I freeze for about 8 to 10 seconds.