1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

little issue with EC and the ESC key

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Finley Grant, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. Finley Grant

    Finley Grant Certifiable
    Professional Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    599
    Hello,

    when i press my ESC key it works sometimes as the normal escape / go back and somtimes it performs actions (in my case it say "i wish to lock this down") and i have no clue how to stop it...

    can somebody help me please? its a bit annyoing.
     
  2. Zosimus

    Zosimus Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    720
    Have you checked your macros or default macros making sure the escape key isn't assigned to both macros?
     
  3. Retlaw of Vesper

    Retlaw of Vesper Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    15
    I HAVE THIS TOO!

    I thought it was just my keyboard going bad, only started maybe a week or so ago. I thought it might be a macro setting but it happens across different characters. Wow saved me some $$$ on a needless purchase.
     
  4. Zosimus

    Zosimus Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    720

    Did you check your default macros? I can't remember but thought the escape key in the CC was an assigned key to a game feature. Not sure how it is in the EC.
     
  5. Thom

    Thom Lore Keeper
    Governor Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    576
    Escape is assigned to clearing selections and opening the menu. You can't assign it to anything else that I've been able to find. Thought it was only mine doing the weirdness with it. I don't remember even having a macro set to use my summoning ball but about a week ago it started using it randomly when I pressed escape.
     
  6. Finley Grant

    Finley Grant Certifiable
    Professional Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    599
    i have already checked the assignments in the chars config file but i cannot find a second assigned to ESC
     
  7. Dot_Warner

    Dot_Warner Babbling Loonie
    Governor Stratics Veteran Britain [BRIT]

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    3,217
    This happens on some of my characters too. The Esc key sometimes opens runebooks or starts macros.

    None of my macros use the Esc key.
     
  8. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,960
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    Mine too I thought I was hitting some weird key or something at first but no it randomly does something weird.
     
  9. Finley Grant

    Finley Grant Certifiable
    Professional Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    599
    at least iam not alone !
     
  10. Val'lyn De'ana

    Val'lyn De'ana Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    245
    This reminds me, I have to reset my Esc or F1 (can't remember which) key on my CC setup since when I do hit it I get the little help menu (has anyone ever really used that?)

    -Val'lyn
     
  11. grimiz

    grimiz Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    158
    It executes the first macro in your macros list. Thought it was just my crappy code.
     
  12. Yadd of Legends

    Yadd of Legends Certifiable
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,019
  13. Varingian

    Varingian Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    352
    This has been a pain in the a$$. I also thought it was just something that I screwed up. While I am not glad the rest of you have to put up with this as well I am happy to learn it isn't something stupid I did.
     
  14. Dot_Warner

    Dot_Warner Babbling Loonie
    Governor Stratics Veteran Britain [BRIT]

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    3,217
    Now we need to figure out if its an issue with Pinco's, or the default UI...

    I'm using Pinco's, as is Malag, so is this happening to anyone using default?
     
  15. Dantes

    Dantes Sage

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    107
    I use default EC and it happens to me fairly often, not too big of a deal.
     
  16. Thom

    Thom Lore Keeper
    Governor Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    576
    I use default
     
    Dot_Warner likes this.
  17. Acid Rain

    Acid Rain Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    599
    I use the CC and it never happens... ever. :p

    (Sorry, couldn't resist)
     
  18. Zeke

    Zeke Lore Keeper
    Governor Stratics Veteran Knights of Terra

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    534
    I'm having the same issue and it started a week or so ago. It seems to be kicking off a macro, but it's different on each character
     
  19. Dot_Warner

    Dot_Warner Babbling Loonie
    Governor Stratics Veteran Britain [BRIT]

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    3,217
    If it happens in the default UI, then that's where it originates. Somewhere inside the client itself.

    @Bleak Could you look into this? Its not game stopping, just annoying...especially when trying to log out.
     
  20. Bleak

    Bleak UO Software Engineer
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    723
    Please submit a detailed bug report with steps to reproduce the issue you are seeing.
     
    Kirthag likes this.
  21. Finley Grant

    Finley Grant Certifiable
    Professional Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    599
    i have also default ui.

    @Bleak
    what do you mean with detailed bug report?
    when you press several times ESC key and sometimes it start a macro, in my case its is the lock down action which say then "i wish to lock this down"

    i happens with different chars but not all.



    @Bleak btw. my containers hide again after opening behind the main backpack and the healthbars are not always updating...

    thank you.
     
  22. Retlaw of Vesper

    Retlaw of Vesper Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    15
    @Bleak
    Same for me, seems random but maybe 3 out of 5 times hitting escape it will happen. I will try to verify it is the first macro in my list as suggested above by @grimiz
     
  23. Finley Grant

    Finley Grant Certifiable
    Professional Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    599
    i might found the problem, i had a makro without key assignment. after deleting it the issue is no longer occurring.
     
    Bleak likes this.
  24. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,960
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    But I have lots of those. I don't want a key assigned to them. I just have them on a bar. That's silly.