1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Longer or Wider Houses?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Slayvite, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. Slayvite

    Slayvite Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    350
    Now i know their will be many like me with a plot in a nice area that just seems to waste space.
    Now what i mean is that yes the largest house available is a Castle and thats fine but i have an 18x18 placed and their is space at the side for another small plot. For me having a wider plot would look alot better than the 18x18.
    Could it be possible to get wider plots available? Perhaps loose a depth tile for each width tile and vise versa?
    It's not like anyone will ever use a small plot anymore since you can now place an 18x18 allmost anywhere if you search about, and more plots in the gargoyle area will mean more free plots everywhere else.
    I dont want more lockdowns or anything, it just seems theirs an awfull lot of wasted space these days.
     
  2. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Shrug*

    Not gonna hihjack your thread but on the topic of wasted space eye sores.

    These absentee owners that have just an out of the Box Foundation Laid to claim the spot .... FOR YEARS ... Now that is just so wrong in so many ways.
     
  3. again i ask for eroision XXX amont of landmass should decay based on poulation etc etc if there is not enough land then it should grow by the same amount !!
     
  4. Fink

    Fink Guest

    Well it's up to the owner as to how they utilise the plot. Some people just want the storage. Myself, I have a 7x7 house built on a largish custom plot in Luna, much to the annoyance of passers-by who have called it a waste of space. Apparently I'm supposed to have built a box-like layer cake of lag that obscures the street behind it.

    So long as the empty plots are being paid for and not perpetuated by some exploit, it's up to the owner. At least it's less of an eyesore than 95% of custom houses.

    Back on topic..
    ..longer/narrower or shorter/wider plots would be interesting, and certainly break up the Borg Cube landscape.
     
  5. DVDA

    DVDA Guest

    Flink this is why all my houses are classic design :)

    Dont like all the custom houses people deco like <Beep!>
     
  6. Fink

    Fink Guest

    Gotta love the classics :thumbsup:

    I have a castle and a custom.. but the custom is more or less a small plaster house with a yard. I think I've owned every classic house apart from the original smithy with the built in forge and, sadly, I've never had a tent.
     
  7. WarUltima

    WarUltima Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only wish they have make it so the max storage count is per account.
    Make it same limit as current 18x18 (same as a classic tower lockdowns).

    This means I can place a 7x7 for the looks and still get to use the full lockdown capacity.

    Personally I LOVE those classic villas but their lockdowns are very very limited. I am forced to pick a bigger slot for the sole purpose of lockdown counts. :cursing:
     
  8. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    Place the plot, build your classic villa copy, turn the rest into a garden?
     
  9. Flinx

    Flinx Guest

    Very nice idea, but i´ve tried it twice and didn´t get it nearly looking as the original villa.

    I´ve been away some time from uo, returned just a week ago. Is there now a possibility to let someone else build my house? Or copy another one? I´ve heard rumors of a offline tool for designing houses. Can i get these, get some plans of houses from other players and rebuild it exactly so tile by tile? Even as a housebuilding noob?

    I´ll realy like a nice house, but won´t be able to build one myself.

    A realy nice ide would be NEW classic houses directly from OSI ...
     
  10. Fink

    Fink Guest

    There's no facility to copy houses, sadly. I thought perhaps when custom housing was announced they might have some tradeable blueprint thing, but no. I don't think anyone can build it for you without accessing your account.
     
  11. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    There are some tutorials on things like roof building on several web sites, including Stratics. What I did when building my house was place and practice on test center, then make screenies so that I could copy my final design onto my home shard.
     
  12. Mezzac

    Mezzac Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi all,

    On subject of housing, I have a castle which is slowly being decorated. Now a Castle would not be my first choice - I like Tower's better or alternatively I love designing my own 18x18.

    The only reasons I now have a castle is two fold, firstly my tower ran out of storage space (It had 5% actually used for Storage & 95 decoration!!!) and secondly - I wait in the very vain hope that one day they will allow you to customised a Castle plot and allow you to build a wicked little township.

    I already have an idea in my mind as to how it would look. Just imagine what could be designed on a block the size of a Castle!

    Thanks Mezz
     
  13. Siteswap

    Siteswap Visitor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont see any reason why they cant increase the range of sizes without increasing the max area. 19x17, 20x16, 21x15 and 22x14 would all be nice options.
     
  14. DVDA

    DVDA Guest

    I kind of agree with this...as I have a L-Shape & a small marble 3 story workshop (Grandfathered). With all the extra spaces for houses I cannot deed the Small 3 story and place a bigger house somewhere else because it will condemn my L-Shape, therefore my storage is limited and I would benefit from max storage per account....

    But for those who are like me (Placed a house in Fel then in Trammel when it came out) making this change will reduce their storage if both their Trammel house & their fel house are large homes. (i.e a L-Shape in Fel and a Tower in Trammel)
     
  15. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    The forum here on Stratics is a good source of ideas and inspiration. I lurk that forum quite often as I look for new ideas on what I can do to my 2 houses there.

    UO Homes and Castles

    I have 2 houses on TC1 exactly were I have them on my shard. I go try stuff out on TC1 (look, feel etc) and if I like it I do it again on my production house(s).

    I did this while Retribution was open and may change the walls on one of my houses for one from SA.