1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Looks like there's another network outage

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Lady_Rachel, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. Lady_Rachel

    Lady_Rachel Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    133
    Anyone else having trouble connecting right now?
     
    legendsguy likes this.
  2. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Just tried in CC and EC and had no problems logging in.
     
  3. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    can't myself either :(
     
  4. CryptisRavenous

    CryptisRavenous Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    16
    I can't get in either. Classic Client either (Not Responding) or "Cannot Connect to Ultima Online. Please try again later." Enhanced Client just closes itself after a few seconds after pressing login button.
     
  5. Mr Bug

    Mr Bug Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    13
    Same here can't get past log in.
     
  6. pbtong

    pbtong Guest

    I can't log in.. tried for over an hour and the classic client keep saying retry again :(
     
  7. Daga Taga

    Daga Taga Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    315
    Same thing here.
     
  8. Samaira

    Samaira Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    41
    +1

    *sadface*
     
  9. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,937
    Likes Received:
    3,591
    Just woken up here and can't connect to any shard. Crashes out after entering password.
     
  10. Zyon Rockler

    Zyon Rockler Guest

    Same lol.. Wiat:rant2:
     
  11. Colourme

    Colourme Guest

    Sigh....should we just expect 5 hours of ****ing downtime weekly now? This is beyond insane.
     
  12. CryptisRavenous

    CryptisRavenous Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    16
    It always seems to happen on nights when I don't have to work in the morning and have permission from the ole lady to play as long as I want, lol.:sad3:
     
    Sevin0oo0 and Noble Beast like this.
  13. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    No issues here (UK).
     
  14. pbtong

    pbtong Guest

    Looks like a geographical issue? Anyone have the ip address of the login server?
     
  15. Colourme

    Colourme Guest

    Yeah I'm just enraged because netflix also decided to go down at the same time. Wonder if it's related?
     
  16. Alexander of ATL.

    Alexander of ATL. Rares Fest Host | Atl June 2013
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,750
    Likes Received:
    1,184
    Can't connect myself either...
     
  17. CryptisRavenous

    CryptisRavenous Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    16
    UO Stratics *New* | Server IP Addresses

    login.ultimaonline.com 63.117.27.168
    login.ultimaonline.com 63.117.27.169
     
  18. pbtong

    pbtong Guest

    Thanks CryptisRavenous :)

    Can't seem to ping login.ultimaonline.com, but ip is ok. So looks like a dns problem..

    Added that line into hosts file and log in ok now! Thanks!:)
     
  19. CryptisRavenous

    CryptisRavenous Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    16
    You did what to what and you can log in now?
     
  20. Colourme

    Colourme Guest

    I updated my login.cfg file with these IP's tried multiple different things with it none of them work. So honestly I don't think he did anything that now allows him to login.
     
  21. pbtong

    pbtong Guest

    Added this line

    63.117.27.168 login.ultimaonline.com

    to

    c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

    This will tell uo client that login.ultimaonline.com is at 63.117.27.168.

    Edit:

    Once we have a formal response from EA that the problem is fixed, please remove this line or comment it out.
     
    Zynia, Shelleybean, MalagAste and 6 others like this.
  22. Colourme

    Colourme Guest

    oh wow it worked ty so much :)
     
  23. LessaT

    LessaT Visitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works! I'm in, thanks soooo much!
     
  24. CryptisRavenous

    CryptisRavenous Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    16
    I can't save it, using windows 7 64bit. I have admin access.
     
  25. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    I think you need to run notepad as admin to edit it, or copy the file to my documents, edit it in there and copy it back.
     
  26. Serafi

    Serafi Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    17
    I couldn`t log in either. Europa.

    Added the ip adress manually and that worked for me as well, thanks. So, the log in serverhamster is sleeping on duty again?
     
  27. CryptisRavenous

    CryptisRavenous Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks, opening notepad as admin, then opening host file did the trick! Thanks, Mapper and pbtong!
     
  28. Lady_Rachel

    Lady_Rachel Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    133
    How do you add the ip to XP?
     
  29. Tragger

    Tragger Guest

    Both ns.eamythic.com and ns2.eamythic.com (authoritative nameservers for login.ultimaonline.com) are in the same network and are unreachable from multiple locations on the Internet. If they aren't up relatively soon, the DNS caches will timeout and people will no longer be able to connect to the login servers unless they hardcode the IP locally.

    Hopefully they not only fix it, but they also move a nameserver to one of the other networks so that we don't have this in the future. Expect some people to be able to login while others can't due to this issue. If it lasts long enough no one will be able to.
     
    Sevin0oo0 likes this.
  30. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299
    Likes Received:
    624

    Aye England here and i cant connect since 7:30 in the morning
     
  31. Samaira

    Samaira Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    41
    NZ, and haven't been able to log in since at least 330 this avo (about 3 and a half hours ago).

    Second weekend in a row. Are there words for how much this bites? :bs:
     
  32. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    merging threads, 2 threads, same problem, one of them has a workaround in it.
     
  33. Tragger

    Tragger Guest

    I added this to my windows hosts file to login:

    63.117.27.169 login.ultimaonline.com

    It appears the patch servers are hosted on cdn which uses different dns servers so this may be the only domain effected by this outage as far as UO is concerned.

    3.5 hours ago sounds about right. Mine was slightly after that, but the DNS cache had to timeout which is based partially on the last successful attempt to request the domain.

    Edit: and I'm merged right as I post the workaround. lol
     
  34. Tragger

    Tragger Guest

    There's either a hosts or a hosts.sam file in c:\windows or c:\windows\system32. whichever folder it's in, create a file called hosts and add

    63.117.27.169 login.ultimaonline.com
     
  35. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299
    Likes Received:
    624
    So without sounding Stupid, what a windows host file?
     
    legendsguy likes this.
  36. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,471
    Likes Received:
    592
    BTW, according to news reports, a line of strong storms went through the Washington DC area (Fairfax is just across the Potomac, between George Mason University and the river, and to the East IIRC of the airport).

    Storms were strong enough to damage DC mass transit trains, and leave 2 million without power - so weather's to blame for these difficulties.
     
    legendsguy likes this.
  37. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    read up Winker for more complete instructions
     
  38. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299
    Likes Received:
    624
    window 7 has no file called host.sam, i ran a search for it :(
     
  39. Tragger

    Tragger Guest

    Hosts (file) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    From another page:
    Windows 95/98/Me c:\windows\hosts
    Windows NT/2000/XP Pro c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    Windows XP Home c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

    Windows 7 appears to be the same as windows xp home as well.

    The file stores IP to name information locally instead of asking the public internet servers. Windows has usually checked multiple locations for the file. A lot of computers don't have the hosts file create yet and there's a sample of it called hosts.sam. renaming the file to hosts and modifying it or just creating a file called hosts in that folder and putting the information in will do the trick.

    Edit: Windows 7 appears to normally have hosts. Windows XP usually just has hosts.sam (the sample file)
     
  40. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    further up - post #21 and 25
     
  41. Tragger

    Tragger Guest

    OUch, although not having properly redundant DNS servers when they obviously have multiple geographically disperse networks is part of the problem. Okay, I'm going to sleep. I'm being too technical and aggravated that int his day and age someone would not have better DNS redundancy than 2 servers sitting in the same room.
     
  42. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299
    Likes Received:
    624
    Cheers! Im in

    Im due you a beer the next time your in the Pub

    :banana:
     
  43. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,471
    Likes Received:
    592
    Note also there was a trojan a year or two back that created host files that redirected all the DNS searches for infected computers to the hackers' computers. There's still about a million computers infected (or looking there) and various law enforcement groups took custody of the servers a year or so ago. They've been running them since, but will be shutting them down this weekend, so if you're getting directed there, you'll lose the ability to traverse the internet when they go down. It might not be a bad idea to go look for the official government pages to detect if you have this problem, just to be sure. Odds are no one here was infected, but you never know....

    Hosts files are also good for setting some annoying advertising companies to redirect to 0.0.0.0 if they are programmed to be a type that your adblocker doesn't block.
     
  44. Lady_Rachel

    Lady_Rachel Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    133
    So if we don't change anything ourselves, is this something EA will straighten out?
     
    Samaira likes this.
  45. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,471
    Likes Received:
    592
    Yeah - this is probably hitting all the businesses in the DC area offsite.

    Here's a short quote from the AP Article

     
  46. Wolfman

    Wolfman Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Gilfane

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    194
    This help rocked!
    You are da man!
     
  47. Alexander of ATL.

    Alexander of ATL. Rares Fest Host | Atl June 2013
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,750
    Likes Received:
    1,184
    I'll admit it... im computer stupid and I have NO idea how to find this stuff and do it correct.
     
    Juztme and legendsguy like this.
  48. Samaira

    Samaira Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    41
    Both myself and my hubby have been able to get online after changing our DNS to Google's DNS. Thankfully, an easy fix.
     
  49. Nukeworker

    Nukeworker Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do I actually add the line to etc/host? Do I change the name to
    host63.117.27.168 login.ultimaonline.com? Because that didnt work
     
  50. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    no, you mustn't change the name of the file. You need to open the file in notepad and add the line to that.
    read posts 21 and 25 in this thread.