1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[Cartography] Lost On T-Hunting

Discussion in 'UO Fishing and Treasure Hunting' started by Connor_Graham, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. I've been searching for about an hour now to find some kind of info on how to locate where the location of a map is. How and where do you get coordinates, or even locate the spot on UOAM? I've added the file for t-maps listed in the sticky above, but can't locate anything in UOAM to turn it on. I'm completely lost here. Would someone please explain how all of this is done?
     
  2. TimberWolf

    TimberWolf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    ok this is where T-hunting requires some skill.

    I go to the Tmap archive
    located here: http://uo.stratics.com/thb/info/maparchive/Archive1.shtml

    run your mouse over the map and certain areas show yellow.
    This yellow areas contain a group of maps.

    Now you have too look at your decoded map and compare it to an area on the archive. When you find the one the looks the same you are set.

    Sounds like a pain...but you pick it up pretty quick.
    if you map fairly often you can find maps in just afew seconds.

    hope this helps
     
  3. That did help a lot. It took some time to find the geography to match the map I've decoded, but I can see that once I've done this for a while I'll be able to recognize areas a lot easier. I just hope the t-map runebooks I copied from a library match up...

    Thanks a lot for the info!
     
  4. [​IMG]

    Check in your UOAM control panel file
     
  5. I don't have T-Hunt as an option on that screen. It ends at rares.
     
  6. I got it and pasted it into the notepad file treasure.map.txt. Was there something else that needed to be done with it?
     
  7. as long as you put it in the main UOAM file and then go to the control panel to click on it. That way when you turn UOAM on the t map locations will be visible in UOAM.
     
  8. I must be doing something wrong. I put the notepad file containing all of that text into the UOAM file found under Program Files on my C drive, and even opened UOAM from that file, yet still nothing, and what do you mean go to the control panel? What control panel?
     
  9. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    it should NOT have a .txt extension

    it should be treasure.map or t-hunt.map , or whatever. UOAM looks for the .MAP extension.
     
  10. I wasn't given an option to save it as a .map file. The .txt was the only one, so how do I get it to save correctly?
     
  11. right click and save target as then direct it to UOAM File where the other map files are
     
  12. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    you can also get a command prompt, go to the directory using CD commands, then use REN command to rename the file

    REN *.MAP.TXT *.MAP
     
  13. Uh....what? In English please? Is there a computer language for dummies book I can reference for translations? :dunce:
     
  14. I did. It ended up with the .txt anyway.
     
  15. ?? humm strange it did that?
     
  16. Thus my ever rising frustration. :cursing:
     
  17. are you able to go in and edit the file name to MAP?
     
  18. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    That is english.

    Go to accessories
    Choose "Command Prompt"

    use the "CD" command to change to the directory for UOAM
    "CD .." will move you up one step.
    When you get to "C:\" look to see where the UOAM folder is at. If it is in C:\, then skip the next step
    (If it is installed in the Program Files folder, then type either "CD Program Files" (XP or later) or "CD progra~1" (98 or ME) this should put you into the Program Files folder.)
    Then type "CD UOAM" = this will you put you into the UOAM folder.

    type "DIR /p" page through the directory looking for the offending .map.txt file

    IF it's in the folder, then type "ren *.map.txt *.map" where * is the main part of the file name (it might also work just leaving in the * as a wild card).

    use "DIR /p" again, to confirm it is fixed.

    If it is fixed, type exit to return to Windows
     
  19. COOL! I learned something.
     
  20. TimberWolf

    TimberWolf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    lol me too...
    I learned that my system seems a lot more simple!
    :)
     
  21. Silverbird

    Silverbird Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    52
    And I thought, all of uo players are old enough to have been grown up/worked with older DOS-systems. *g*

    The modern way of renaming a file (windows system):
    - open explorer (rightclick start-button and choose explorer)
    - search for your uoam directory and select it
    - rightclick onto the 'wrong' filename (thunt.txt for this example)
    - choose rename and type over the extension (txt) with map
     
  22. TimberWolf

    TimberWolf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    hey I cut my teeth on DOS 3.1 but that was a very very long time ago...1990 ish or before!
     
  23. And I just learn something new again. As for DOS that has been a LONG time for me and I have forgotton a lot.
     
  24. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    Silverbird - I've never had Windows after 98 recognize an extension change not done via the command prompt.

    for example, using the explorer method, if I had Treasure.map.txt and tried to change it by clicking on it, it would display "treasure.map", still identify as a TXT file, and if I looked at it with another method, it would STILL be "treasure.map.txt"

    Then again, Computers do weird things around me. For example, Word perfect 5.2, 6.0, 6.1, 7.0, 8.0 and 9.0 all would occasionally freak on me, and cause a condition that was like a permanently held down "Shift key" (NOT a caps lock, as it even caused numbers to go to the characters above), that was only resolvable by a reboot, as it affected the machines (dozens of different ones, over a 10 year period) even outside the program.
     
  25. Silverbird

    Silverbird Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    52
    There is somewhere a really hidden option for the explorer. (I even cant find it now on my own pc. :lol: )That is something like
    - always show file extension
    or
    - (dont) hide known file extensions
    Unless you get shown your file extensions at you're explorer, you 're not changing them when simply renaming a file.

    EDIT: i guess, I have now found, were I have changed the settings on my pc ....
    On a windows standard interface/installation:
    - rightclick the icon named Computer for properties/characteristics/eigenschaften on your desktop
    - choose under extras --> folderoptions
    - uncheck under view/ansicht blend out know extensions

    Not shure if you can find it that way. I have a german system running and my translation for the menu selections might not be correct enough.
     
  26. Drawde2

    Drawde2 Guest

    Can't remember the exact cause, but it's one of the programs that comes with Windows. It's set up to turn on if you hold down the SHIFT key too long, and I think it's turned off the same way. Might be under the "Accessibility Options" in the Control Panel, but I might be wrong there. I forgot how I turned it off permanentally. Sorry I can't remember the specifics.
     
  27. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    I have had trouble with that, and have it turned off, but that wasn't the issue with WP.

    In the WP issue, this occurred while I was typing, editing files I had scanned text in, and it appeared to be some sort of wierd malfunction from hitting something in the file introduced by the scanning process.

    Of course, I've also had issue with that one function turning itself BACK ON, on this machine.

    I swear, I must be cursed.