1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Mac?

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by MageCruella, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. MageCruella

    MageCruella Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok...is it possible to play UO on a Mac..if so , what do I need?
    I have struggled with a reasonably new computer for over a year, lag, lag, lag. The problem appears to be shared video card memory. Hence I need to buy a new computer.
     
  2. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    274
    EC or 2D ?

    Have you tried checking if windows indexing service is enabled using illustration below?

    Find UO Folder:
    Do this:
    [​IMG]

    Let us know :)
     
  3. MageCruella

    MageCruella Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was indeed checked and I have unchecked. Thanks so much! I will let you know if this works.

    That said...Can you play UO on a mac?
     
  4. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    274
    uo was not designed to run on a mac, you would need to find a windows emulater and somehow install directx which is a windows only graphics software.

    im not saying it cant be done, but i would highly discourage attemting it. :)

    If you do get a mac i would suggest dual boot with OSx on one boot and windows7 on another, Mac is essentially a regular pc so it can easy dual boot windows7.
     
  5. yars

    yars Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    134
    im running both clients on imacs with windows xp, no problems
     
  6. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    274
    or windows xp.... ;)
     
  7. MageCruella

    MageCruella Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks that will be very helpful when choosing a new computer. That said, this one seems to be running better in UO after unchecking index , but Ill let you know when I am a little more certain. Much appreciated.
     
  8. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    274
    good that it appear to run better :)

    Next time windows tells you "search is slow - add to index?" think a bit and dont add program/games folder to index :)
     
  9. Woodsman

    Woodsman Guest

    You can run UO on a Mac a few ways:

    A virtual machine (VM) where an actual copy of Windows is actually installed, using one of these software:
    VirtualBox
    Parallels Desktop
    VMWare Fusion

    Or using Crossover Games or WINE, where it's more of a virtual/emulation of Windows, since Windows isn't installed.

    VirtualBox, Parallels, VMWare are good for CC, EC seems to run better under Crossover/WINE.
     
  10. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    As Woodsman said, either Crossover/WINE or install Windows via Bootcamp.
     
  11. Woodsman

    Woodsman Guest

    I will say that I had issues with Pinco's UI under Crossover, relating to permissions, but I seemed to have solved them with his help.

    I believe Pinco does some Linux testing under WINE.
     
  12. Raptor85

    Raptor85 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    224
    Wine Is Not an Emulator

    WINE actually runs everything native, it's a re-implementation of the API's , so save yourself the $300 windows licence and 50% of your processor and memory that would be dedicated to keeping a second OS running virtual and just run the game direct.

    Classic client has worked 100% in WINE for the past 10 years, and the mac port of WINE has been around for 3-4 now (though either a crossover build or a pure WINE build).

    The EC works 100% once it's installed, but the installer system it uses currently has a bug w/ wine where it takes FOREVER to get past the first step, it'll look like it's frozen but just leave it for a few minutes and it'll be done.
     
  13. Woodsman

    Woodsman Guest

    Save yourself $170 and buy a home version of Windows 7 if you're going to buy a Windows license. There is no need to go buy some fancy premium version of Windows.

    And if you want to go cheap (free) and still use Windows for a short period - Windows 8 Consumer Preview is out and it runs fine under the two VM apps I tried. Or dig up a copy of Windows XP or buy one off of eBay or Amazon for $50 or so.

    I've done UO in CrossOver, WINE, Parallels, and VMWare and the most I've seen on CPU usage is about 20%, and I think that's more due to something else I was doing inside of VMWare in addition to running UO. There isn't much of a difference on my system between Wine/CrossOVer and Parallels/VMWare. Of course my computer is from the middle of 2010. Newer computers would have even less CPU usage. Memory is really cheap as well - I just added 8GB for $50.
     
  14. Raptor85

    Raptor85 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    224
    that's wonderful, but that's still needlessly spending money and slowing down your system, so why would you spend more to get less out of the game? You must have a HUGE amount of ram a very expensive processor to not see a difference between WINE and Vmware, now don't get me wrong, virtualization is awesome, I use it myeself but for other reasons, but it adds VERY significant overhead on the graphics routines, especially the 3d passthrough (expect at least a 50% framerate drop in the EC) Yes if you're computer is beefy enough you won't notice the difference, but you need a VERY high end computer for that to be true.