1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Mad Lag

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Endrik, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. Endrik

    Endrik Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    161
    Anybody else gettin come crazy lag all of a sudden? Im takin like 3 steps every 15 seconds or so... and no, Im not running ANY other programs... I turned off Vent, ICQ, everything.
     
  2. Yup...having the same problem here although it has been going on for about a week for me now. Seems I am getting packetloss starting at the EA servers. Pinging under 50ms all through Knology and as soon as I hit EA's first IP I start getting periodic packet loss.

    Am playing Baja...and I seem to be the only person I know having this problem.
     
  3. Same problem on Origin. Not sure why and it is a relatively new thing. Did they change something when they launched SA and the lag is terrible on Both Classic and enhanced.
     
  4. Ok something is definitely not working. Wife and I have to wait up to 4 minutes to open rune books sometimes, or move or heal etc. This is a new phenomena and has only been happening since SA went active. The servers ping starts normal but quickly it becomes unplayable. While I am writing this I have been waiting over 4 minutes to go through the entrance of twisted weld. I just had to close out of the game then log back in to get out of the weld. It is only in UO that I get this lag. Everything else I do online is working as it should. What did Ea change on the severs vis a vis routing etc as right now that would seem to be the culprit.
     
  5. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm on Baja and getting regular lag as well. It's not horrible, but it's bad enough that I'll lag out and die or not be able to finish the color puzzle room, etc. Not unplayable, but frustrating.
     
  6. Well I am glad that it isn't just me! At times on Baja it is becoming so bad that I freeze so long that I have to log out and log back in to get control back of my toon. Of course 7 times out of 10 this means death if I am down in the Abyss. It is doubly frustrating when you log back in, get a rez, only to freeze again before reaching your body.

    No lie I actually had died three times today trying to get my stuff back from spawn in abyss. Lesson learned...I am now recalling out routinely to drop imbuing ingreds because of these lag spikes. It is getting to the point where it is becoming more of a frustrating chore than fun.
     
  7. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,821
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    So what client is everybody running. I am running good old 2D and have not noticed any lag on Baja.
     
  8. Heartseeker

    Heartseeker Guest

    2D seems ok.

    EC seems to be the culprit.

    Really bad lag in EC on Atlantic.
     
  9. Ill Saint

    Ill Saint Guest

    I've been struggling with absolutely awful lag for the last month or so. Often so bad that I'll lose connection. I'm on Baja too.
     
  10. Picus of Napa

    Picus of Napa Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    322
    I run the 2D as do most people I know. I have had and heard of exactly the same issue. Ping and Packet loss are fine untill EA servers. I play on Napa.
     
  11. Endrik

    Endrik Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    161
    Sorry, I run 2d exclusively.. so no, EC is not the culprit for me. Works fine most of the time, but then I get these lag spikes that as some others have noted can take up to a minute or 2 where I am completely frozen.
     
  12. uoBuoY

    uoBuoY Guest

    Hey this should be a Baja thread! During the last week, my UO Trace utility to Baja frequently shows 10-35% packet loss on 2 of EA's hosts.

    I submitted a support request with print screens. Received the canned message "Your question has been received. You should expect a response from us within 24 hours". That was last Tuesday and I'm still waiting for my "response from us within 24 hours".