1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Major Internet route changes = latency?

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Skylark SP, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    I noticed people posting problems with high latency and lag playing Siege. Well...a few weeks ago, the same thing started for me playing WoW and other things. I noticed that there has been a major change in routing path to various hosts that I use regularly, including Siege. The routes to west coast hosts such as Microsoft and the WoW servers is atrocious, with over 30 hops now. My route to Siege still has under 15 hops but the networks have changed. I don't have any of my old trace files to do a direct comparison and wondered if anyone else on east coast noticed the same and could check for major changes in their routing to EA's servers (or any other) in recent weeks.

    -Skylark
     
  2. Vortex

    Vortex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thats a possibility. I have noticed that the latency on the east coast and west coast shards seem to be very different when you look at the numbers on the log-in screen.
     
  3. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    No more lag
     
  4. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest

    EA has nothing to do with that...
    att and level3 (probably OSPF) would auto route traffic to the best routers available based on what their networks can do and any outages at the time. Some routing protocols are dynamic and the routs WILL change dynamically from day to day
     
  5. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    Lag is gone for me.
     
  6. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    Uh...I didn't say it was EA's problem. That was my entire point. I am having general intermittent Internet performance problems, which includes but is not limited to my online gaming. The fact that my routes to the Siege servers largely stayed the same for 2 years and I used it as a familar host in one of my traces, and it is now so completely different is what got my attention, and I wondered if this is could be the source of my general Internet problems, since I have run out of things to troubleshoot. I was seeking feedback from others, as I was wondering if any of the major carriers had recently made a new traffic routing arrangement, which happens at times.

    -Skylark

    P.S. this problem has been going on for over 3 weeks
     
  7. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    Kage,

    You might want to edit your trace results to remove your name.

    Have you done a continuous ping over a period of 10 minutes or so (ping <hostname> -t and to end the continuous ping, press Ctrl-C) ? I have done quite a few ping tests over the last couple of weeks, and I am getting 1% - 2% packet loss, with about 1,000 total packets sent in my tests at times, which is significant, and other times there is little to no packet loss. I experience high latency at times without significant packet loss as well. It is so weird. :(

    -Skylark
     
  8. Avia TaKier

    Avia TaKier Guest

    well I have broadband and I am moving like i have dial up.... impossible to do anything.... when I hit fert07-eqx-iad.ea.com IP 159.153.224.230 it is between 7 and 17 percent packet loss and pings 141ms and then on to the siege server 159.153.233.47 and its another 7 to 11 percent packet loss and 152ms ping.
    Its not my route its uo.
     
  9. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest

    It isn't... Changing routes is common.
    Changing routes may reduce latency just as much as it could increase latency.

    I would bet that your routes have changed more then you think over a 2 year period....

    But the end user would have no idea if their internet service or a tier1 internet services had been making changes to their services. Many routing changes are dynamic and transparent. Many are additions on top of current service which canbe changed with minimal service interruption. Even smaller local internet services had access to OSPF routers 10 years ago, much less alter net , Level 3 and AT&T
     
  10. shipwrek

    shipwrek Guest

    I've only experienced this lag once since the last publish went out. It was yesterday. When I looked at the task manager, client.exe was hogging up 85% of the CPU.

    Restarted UO and it went away. I doubt this is common since I assume the first thing everyone would do is try restarting the client, then computer, but thought I would mention it anyway.

    to chime in on the thread, yes route and router changes could impact people on a game like this differently depending on where they reside on the Internet. UO is an old game too, it may not be as optimized for packet size and data stream transmission for current network technologies. I don't know anything about how UO designed their client-server communications though so this is pure speculation.

    Other than that isolated event, I don't have lag.. this is my performance to the server:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    ping siege.owo.com
    Pinging central-ae4.owo.com [159.153.233.47] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 159.153.233.47: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=52
    Reply from 159.153.233.47: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=52
    Reply from 159.153.233.47: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=52
    Reply from 159.153.233.47: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 159.153.233.47:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 36ms, Maximum = 37ms, Average = 36ms

    Trace:


    tracert siege.owo.com
    Tracing route to central-ae4.owo.com [159.153.233.47]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    1 3 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 29 ms 29 ms 29 ms 10.6.11.1
    3 28 ms 28 ms 28 ms so-0-1-0-0.CORE-RTR2.PITT2.verizon-gni.net [130.
    81.13.21]
    4 30 ms 29 ms 37 ms so-7-0-0-0.CORE-RTR1.PITT2.verizon-gni.net [130.
    81.18.254]
    5 34 ms 33 ms 33 ms so-5-0-0-0.BB-RTR1.RES.verizon-gni.net [130.81.2
    0.92]
    6 36 ms 37 ms 35 ms 0.so-5-1-0.XT1.DCA5.ALTER.NET [152.63.36.205]
    7 36 ms 34 ms 35 ms 0.so-5-2-0.XL3.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.36.25]
    8 36 ms 35 ms 36 ms GigabitEthernet6-0-0.GW8.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.
    33.13]
    9 38 ms 35 ms 37 ms ea-gw.customer.alter.net [157.130.82.94]
    10 37 ms 37 ms 38 ms fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com [159.153.224.238]
    11 37 ms 37 ms 37 ms 159.153.233.47

    Trace complete.


    Interesting... I do not go through L3. I go through Alternet (aka UUNet)
     
  11. ExuroGIL

    ExuroGIL Guest

    Host Name IP Address Hop Ping Time Ping Avg % Loss Pkts r/s Ping best/worst
    ge1-3.1000M.kjnxg4.ip.tele.dk 83.88.26.45 2 162ms
    pos0-1-0-0-2488M.boanqh1.ip.tele.dk 83.88.20.253 3 118ms
    pos7-0-0-10G.nyk2nxg2.ip.tele.dk 83.88.26.106 4 117ms
    sl-gw37-nyc-14-0-0.sprintlink.net 160.81.182.197 5 117ms
    sl-crs1-nyc-0-13-3-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.13.65 6 118ms
    sl-crs1-pen-0-0-5-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.20.123 7 120ms
    sl-crs1-rly-0-13-2-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.20.210 8 123ms
    sl-bb20-dc-13-0-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.20.12 9 124ms
    sl-st20-ash-10-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.20.152 10 123ms
    * Unknown Host * 144.223.246.6 11 222ms
    fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com 159.153.224.234 12 222ms
    * Unknown Host * 159.153.233.47 13 222ms

    been like this since Saturday....
    I live in Denmark. and would be happy with like 100ms
     
  12. Goron

    Goron Guest

    or at least edit it to make your name something like "Phil McCracken"
     
  13. Draxous

    Draxous Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,126
    Likes Received:
    29
    so I dunno how relevant this is... but I've been getting the message "your out of virtual memory" in the past week...

    I'm assuming a memory leak.

    =/
     
  14. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
  15. Vortex

    Vortex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've said it before and I'll say it again...

    If you guys are going to post a trace route, please delete your first three hops. This is for your protection.
     
  16. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yay! My route changed back, to a normal one with networks I recognize!

    -Skylark
     
  17. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest

    Most PPPOE and Cable systems are DHCP or dynamic IP address allocated. Some service's DHCP with lease times expiring to such an extent (12h - 48h) , I don't believe that's an issue
     
  18. burdensrise

    burdensrise Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm over here in Washington state and have never pinged under 100ms. My tracert is all under 30ms till it hits EA servers. 100ms is still playable though.
     
  19. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest

    To be honest after reading that double slayer thread , I'm interested in the overhead of the application. The application doing excessive computations (many of which re completely unneeded) would cause elevated IO. This can interfere with the CPU servicing network cards which sends packets out to the client. A broken application is just as much to blame for latency as TCP/IP related issues