1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Memory Leak

Discussion in 'Pinco's UI' started by Meat Elemental, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. Meat Elemental

    Meat Elemental Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    Only on my dell laptop xps l502x running windows 7 64bit when i start ec using pinco,s uosa takes about 500k memory starting off , and in about 1/2 hour is well above 1.2 gigs with just standing idle..without pinco's no leak. Deleted all my settings in documents and ran full file check..
    Just seeing if anyone knows what could be causing this becauce playing without pinco's is not a option...but the crashes to desktop are happening about every 1/2 hour..all drivers up to date...thnx if anyone knows what i should do, havent tried a clean install of ec and pinco's yet but its next on my list to try..
     
    #1 Meat Elemental, Jan 14, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013
  2. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    try without ec playsound. However since it's happening only with the laptop probably it's a windows problem...
     
  3. Meat Elemental

    Meat Elemental Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    Reinstalling ec and pinco's and disabling ec playsound still memory leak...problem has been around for a month abouts going to see what changes i made to computer in that time because it ran fine before.
    Unless its my nod32 antivirus that i installed about a month ago ,but disabling it still have leak.thnx
     
  4. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    It's windows that has a memory leak problem, it was fixed with some update time ago, but if the update is missing or there is some other problem with the OS the bug will be back...
    I had the same problem with skype, after 30 minutes it eats almost 1.2 gigs of memory and I solved only by formatting the pc :/
     
    #4 Pinco, Jan 15, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2013
  5. Visions

    Visions Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed the UI today and am having the same problem. After about 30 minutes, things start stuttering really bad. This wasn't happening prior to installing the UI.
     
  6. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    as I said it's NOT an UI problem, check your OS...
     
  7. Visions

    Visions Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm confused. I can run the EC client for hours without any noticeable memory leaks and when I run your UI, it lasts maybe 30 minutes before I have to restart the client.
     
  8. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    but just you... I have no such problems and neither the others...
    the default Ui is not comparable to my UI since it has nothing. It could be the ec playsound because windows have some trouble with .net or just some other issue with the memory. The fact is the UI itself can't cause a memory leak.
     
  9. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    3,592
    Yep there were a few issues before but Pinco has been patching up a treat.

    All running fine for me :)
     
  10. Ingstein

    Ingstein Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    8
    Running the latest Pinco and got the same memory leak problems, UO/Pinco tends to eat 6 GB of ram and more. IMHO this happens when working with containers, esp. ones with lots of stuff in them.
     
  11. Meat Elemental

    Meat Elemental Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have same problem, with pinco's if i have a container open and move a item to another container when i drop the item in there is about a 1 second delay before it drops in, just tried without ui and drops in fast.. I manually updated my video drivers and the mem leak has slowed quite a bit but still there.
    Going to mess around with some settings today and see what helps.