1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Might be time to cancel my account, I'm getting severe, unplayable connection problems.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Ender, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    I had problems last night after coming back for the first time in months, had problems at Dread but figured it was my connection, got on today and I can't go near any monsters without completely locking up and either having to wait a long time, eventually losing connection or having to relog.

    My internet is fine, I ran a speedtest as I was waiting for it to disconnect me and got single digit ping, almost 50 megabits both ways. This is absurd. http://www.speedtest.net/result/3561889080.png
     
  2. Bleak

    Bleak UO Software Engineer
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    734
    Can you please provide exact information on what shard is having the issue, what time lag occurred, duration of lag period, traceroute to the server during the time period, and any other useful information. Please use the server IPs list here for the traceroute: http://uo2.stratics.com/technical-information/server-ip-addresses
     
    Skunk, Acid Rain and CovenantX like this.
  3. RockoNV

    RockoNV Seasoned Veteran
    Alumni UOS

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    171
    Man - that's what I call service right there!
     
    Kariny, Acid Rain, Njjj and 1 other person like this.
  4. Smoot

    Smoot Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,785
    Likes Received:
    3,578
    Atlantic usually borders on unplayable for me as well during peak hours. its really frustrating because thats the time when you Want to play, the only time there are alot of people on to pvp.

    I used to ping around 12 - 18 on atlantic, ever since the cloud its around 47 - 52.
    I have 35/75 internet.
     
  5. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Great Lakes, my entire playing time today, 2:15 to 3:00PM CST maybe? Along with ~5 PM CST last night. It would last anywhere from 5 seconds to a disconnect or me having to log out and back in.

    Tracing route to ec2-107-21-7-214.compute-1.amazonaws.com [107.21.7.214]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 2 ms 12 ms 2 ms 192.168.10.1
    2 2 ms 1 ms 5 ms csw42-ve-44.mci.surewest.com [64.126.65.1]
    3 2 ms 2 ms 1 ms bbr30-te-3-6.mci.surewest.com [64.126.2.189]
    4 9 ms 3 ms 3 ms ibr33-te-0-2-0.mci.surewest.com [64.126.2.10]
    5 4 ms 3 ms 3 ms te-3-1.car2.KansasCity1.Level3.net [4.53.32.33]

    6 200 ms 101 ms 55 ms ae-11-11.car1.KansasCity1.Level3.net [4.69.135.2
    33]
    7 45 ms 45 ms 45 ms ae-5-5.ebr2.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.135.230]
    8 60 ms 45 ms 56 ms ae-72-72.csw2.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.151.141]

    9 47 ms 44 ms 44 ms ae-73-73.ebr3.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.151.146]

    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 59 ms 54 ms 46 ms ae-2-2.ebr1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.86]

    12 45 ms 56 ms 51 ms ae-81-81.csw3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
    38]
    13 45 ms 45 ms 44 ms ae-1-80.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.149.1
    41]
    14 41 ms 41 ms 40 ms AMAZON.COM.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.28.12
    5.110]
    15 42 ms 41 ms 41 ms 72.21.220.143
    16 41 ms 42 ms 41 ms 205.251.245.53
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * 44 ms 44 ms ec2-107-21-7-214.compute-1.amazonaws.com [107.21
    .7.214]

    Trace complete.
     
  6. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    I went to Luna bank just now (12 AM CST), locked up but didn't disconnect, and now can't do anything, logging back in I can't even get my backpack open before I freeze up again. What the f***?
     
  7. NuSair

    NuSair Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,989
    Likes Received:
    999
    more amazon cloud crap.
     
  8. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,752
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Ender stop.............
    Its not the game or the net.... The Earth got hit by 3 huge solar flairs... its got the systems of just about everywhere going buggy.
    The sun is giving the web hell...
     
    Kariny and hen like this.
  9. Skunk

    Skunk Sage
    Stratics Veteran BREW

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    101
    Not sure if serious...
     
  10. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,535
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    Bleak, is there an e-mail address where we can send this information directly to Broadsword instead of posting it here? I play on many shards, including a lot of the west coast North American shards where I theoretically should have a decent connection since I'm in the Rocky Mountain region. However, any more it seems my connection for any shard is not at all of the quality it used to be. Trying to run with any character or fly with a gargoyle is a series of one-two-three-steps-STOP-one-two-steps-STOP-one-two-three steps-STOP. I'm constantly clicking on my mouse just to restart the running/flying. And when out with a pet, it seems like half the commands to the pet don't even show up on the screen, as if the macro is just being ignored. And it's not like I'm issuing them to the pet at a rapid-fire pace. It's just the normal telling the pet to follow my character after killing something and it's time to move on and go look for another one. I have to use the macro at least twice just to see the command appear on the screen.

    And when doing something like imbuing, when I want to "reimbue last," the imbuing gump just totally disappears and I get the "you must wait" comment and have to completely start over with using the imbuing skill.

    Or when trying to move stuff around, the cursor is there when I want to move something, but then it just vanishes and I have to start the process all over again. Sometimes trying to do something as simple as remove a few single seeds from a seed box ends up taking far longer than it should because the cursor keeps blinking off.

    Edited to add this paragraph: Or when cross-pollinating plants, the cursor is acting so bizarrely that I end up self-pollinating plants instead of cross-pollinating them with other plants.

    I've also noticed a lot of situations where when the cursor is acting wonky, things I'm moving end up on the floor clear across the room, like they just randomly fell off the cursor!

    I've checked that my mouse is connected and yes, it is and it works fine for other applications, so I don't think that's the problem. And of course, all of this is so sporadic that's it's hard to pin down if there is any kind of pattern to it. I'm pretty sure it's probably not an overloaded server for some of this stuff because the shards that I'm playing on at the time are pretty darn quiet ones.

    I've also had a lot of long black-screen pauses while recalling into dungeons such as Shame. And when the screen catches up, sometimes it's a gray screen because my character has died. (There are also some dead shards where something else seems to be going on in Shame that is causing problems such as very serious lag and disconnections. I hesitate to say that it's caused by afk, scripting players but that is my suspicion.)

    In any event, I hope the above-ground, anywhere-in-the-game-kind of choppiness and weirdness is something that will eventually be addressed and improved because it's making it really hard to decide what to actually do when logging in. I pretty much stick to crafting, fishing, and very light PvM anymore because it seems like trying to do anything else is just asking to spend most of my time stutter-stepping my ghostly characters around looking for a healer.

    And I'm sorry for even plunking this in this thread because it IS negative. But my real question is where can I send connection information to an appropriate contact at Broadsword who will actually review the information and make use of it, so I don't need to post it here and make people think all I want to do is complain and put UO in a negative light? That is not my intention; but this is truly a serious issue anymore and I hope it will be addressed, especially before we have any kind of Return to Britannia promotion.
     
    #10 Tina Small, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
  11. hen

    hen Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    420
    LOOL
     
  12. Smoot

    Smoot Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,785
    Likes Received:
    3,578
    So that sums it up. UO has been terrible ever since it hit the cloud because of.... SOLAR FLARES really made me lol. its all the suns fault.
     
    Spiritless likes this.
  13. Kariny

    Kariny UO Lake Superior News Reporter
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    59
  14. Spiritless

    Spiritless Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    466
    There are some people here who really would rather blame the Sun than admit there are issues with the game/EA. :p Always makes for good comedy.
     
    Smoot likes this.
  15. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    And there are some people who would really rather blame the game/EA than other causal factors that may be at the root of the problem. Makes for equally good comedy. :p

    Not saying that's the case here, but tend to see it all the time for numerous games.
     
    #15 Viper09, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
  16. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    This bit looks as if it might have some relevence:
     
  17. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    I thought so, but it's not really spikes of high ping, which that bit seemed to get, I'll freeze up for minutes and yet somehow not disconnect. I don't get it.

    I would think the parts where the request times out are the issues, but what do I know.
     
    #17 Ender, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
  18. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    when I do a trace I always run a poll. That will pick up any packet loss. I usually find that's the cause of freezes
     
  19. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,752
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I said this might be the cause due to a influx of disruptions on net servers outside of UO's tiny seat on the cloud.
    Solar activity can knock out weak net conections and has been known to kill signl.
    EA/Broadsword might have trouble with its system, but for one/hand full of players?
    Yes its laggy on a small handfull of shards, But most I have found are Asian/Oceanic.
    It has been for quite some time... known the solar eruptions will cause trouble with communications and signals.
    If you look at his trace you will see his signal goes through a good deal of hubs. Some ofwhich could be effected by said flare.
     
  20. Spiritless

    Spiritless Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    466
  21. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Thanks. Looks like 14-16 are the problems, with 100% packet loss, so:

    AMAZON.COM.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.28.125.110]
    72.21.220.143
    205.251.245.53
     
  22. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    2,365
    The solar flares have been happening for weeks then... or else East Texas runs the same route thru Amazon.
     
  23. Smoot

    Smoot Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,785
    Likes Received:
    3,578
    This has been happening to me on atlantic for months. Freeze up totally. if it doesnt free up in about 30 seconds i just relog. of course this can mean certain death if your not in a safe area.

    Anyone who has a fix or suggestion (other than anything to do with the sun) please share

    I know there are programs available but id rather not spend the money.
     
  24. Great DC

    Great DC Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    184
    I have lag spike issues myself, they arent as bad as some people have. But all I basically do is pvp so a minor spike of a few seconds is enough to screw up your cast timing or let the guy get away from your kill shot. I am working through a few ideas to help solve this and I will let others know if I find a good way to resolve the lag.
     
  25. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    696
    Verizon is intentionally slowing down Amazon EC2 because they're screwing over Netflix - unfortunately, we're hosted on Amazon's servers too so we're getting caught up in this nonsense

    Netflix has even been firing back in their battle :)

    [​IMG]
     
    G.v.P likes this.
  26. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Ah that sucks. I'm not on Verizon, though I am wondering if I wouldn't potentially be better off using my 4G connection from my phone. It's only UO I have an issue with so I'm not sure.
     
  27. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Ok just for kicks I decided to try the 2.4GHz network on my router instead of the 5GHz... It seems to work fine so far. What? What setting(s) in the router could possibly be causing that?
     
  28. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    Overheating of the router is one common cause. They are mini-furnaces and once they start to overheat, they frequently pause during transmission. Since the 2.4 GHz and 5GHz are separate transmitters, one will work while the other goes on a fritz.

    By the way, your hops 14-16 show 100% packet loss because those servers are set not to allow polling, not because they are faulty. This helps to prevent DOS attacks.
     
    G.v.P likes this.
  29. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    It's odd though, because it doesn't really happen when doing anything else that I've noticed, especially to this extent. I just switched back to it and had issues within 5 seconds.
     
  30. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    Have you tried other online games? You probably won't notice it for most online content. It sounds like it's time to invest in a new router.
     
  31. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Yeah I just tried Guild Wars 2 and no issues, played Left 4 Dead 2 a few days back and no problems. The router's only a few months old.
     
  32. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Router unplugged for an hour and as soon as I plug it back in and try the 5Ghz network I get freezing immediately in UO. I'm not sure overheating is the issue.
     
  33. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    Okay, gotta admit I'm confused a bit. There is no reason it shouldn't work on 5GHz if 2.4GHz works well.

    A couple things to try - can you manually assign channels to the 5GHz range? It's rare, but possible to get interference - usually 2.4GHz has that problem.

    How strong is your signal? 5GHz has a shorter range than 2.4GHz, so can you get closer to the router?

    Have you updated the router firmware? That's a long shot, but there may have been updates. Mine is easy to update.

    As a last resort, you can try a factory reset of the router. This would just erase any inadvertent changes you have made during setup.

    And, do you really need to run at 5GHz? It has a higher bandwidth of course and less interference, but you said UO runs okay at 2.4GHz.
     
  34. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    I haven't tried changing channels, the signal strength is fine though. I was thinking about changing to custom firmware soon so I may see if that helps.

    I don't really need to run at 5GHz but I prefer to because my download speed is much faster on it. I'd rather not switch back and forth just to play one game.
     
  35. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    You didn't say which router you have, but you might want to try playing with the QoS settings before using custom firmware. This should give UO top priority in the router.
     
  36. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    TrendNet TEW-812DRU, an AC1750 router. I might try that, right now QoS is off entirely.
     
  37. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Still so confused as to why it does this on 5ghz.

    Dammit. Decided to ping my router... 1ms, 900+, 1ms, 900+.... repeat over and over. Well I'm not sure what I can do about that.
     
    #37 Ender, Jun 19, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014
  38. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    It does not sound like a UO issue, but a problem with your router or settings. If it was a game problem, why would it work fine on 2GHz and not 5GHz? I would try to contact tech support for your router, they might have an answer.
     
  39. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Oh I know I haven't thought it was a game problem for a while. It was a wireless adapter issue, I went back to Windows 8 and now it's working fine. Haven't tried UO yet but router ping is great.