1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Mouse weirdness

Discussion in 'UHall' started by FishinFool, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. FishinFool

    FishinFool Guest

    Doesn't look like the tech forum is around any more so I'll ask here.

    My cursor has been flipping out since mid-day. The hand flipping back and forth when trying to drag-n-drop and the targeting reticle not appearing until I move the mouse a bit. Likewise, if the targeting reticle is up and I target something, it won't disappear until I move the mouse again.

    Anyone ever run into this? Very annoying.
     
  2. Millie

    Millie Guest

    You know Fish I'm so glad you posted this. I have been having somewhat the same problem for awhile. My pointer in game is also off quite a bit. Had to take my good wireless laser mouse total off and go back to a optical wired mouse. I'm not sure what causes it but this is the 3 time it has done it to me and each time after they do a new publish it seems to straighten it's self out. Hope someone out there know what causes it.
     
  3. FishinFool

    FishinFool Guest

    I'm presently using a wired optical mouse, the only other spare I have to test with at the moment is a wireless, travel-style laser mouse. They both do the same thing :\

    At first I thought it was lag - the targeting deal, but when I saw the hand-cursor going nutso I knew something was wrong.
     
  4. Millie

    Millie Guest

    Did you try lowering you monitor refresh rate or resolution? I know it dang near drives me nuts when it twigs out.
     
  5. Parnoc

    Parnoc Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    483
    My daughter had the same problem on her laptop. It turned out that the setting for the mouse on the options menu had somehow inexplicably changed. The box that says "Run mouse in a separate thread" should be checked. Hers kept losing the check mark almost every time she opened the game.
     
  6. Alvinho

    Alvinho Great Lakes Forever!
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    14,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    when that happens to me it is usually something managed to make its way into teh optical area of my mouse a good burst of the canned air takes care of it for me.

    Useing a logitech wired G5 mouse
     
  7. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    I've had this problem before. It may help if you change the surface that you have the mouse sitting on. I know I fixed the problem when I just used the mouse on the actual desk as opposed to using it on a mouse-pad. So try switching up the surface that you move your mouse on.
     
  8. Littleblue

    Littleblue Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    7
    I sometimes have trouble with the "Use Default Desktop" option becoming selected, when I *know* I have it turned off for all my characters. Maybe the "Mouse/Seperate Thread" setting does something similar to this. After I change it to the correct setting, I make sure to Log Out and then Quit UO completely before trying to login with that character again.
     
  9. FishinFool

    FishinFool Guest

    Thanks for all the suggestions, have a few things to try by the looks of it.
     
  10. Littleblue

    Littleblue Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    7
    Also, once I get my character settings and macros the way I like them, I always make a copy of the character's settings folder and save it somewhere safe. In case of a reinstall or some file corruption, you can have your characters' settings just a click away for easy restoring. :)
     
  11. FishinFool

    FishinFool Guest

    Problem solved, I think.

    Not sure how, but 'use default desktop' got checked and kept over-riding my 'run mouse in seperate thread'.

    Could've sworn I checked that a few times trying to figure this mess out, but oh well. Any idea what default desktop is supposed to do? All I've ever had is problems with it enabled.
     
  12. Littleblue

    Littleblue Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have never figured out what the Default Desktop is for, except to annoy me! *laughs* Just kidding, but I am curious as to it's function. Maybe if I knew that, I could configure it as well.

    I seem to have the problem you described with the 'Use Default Desktop' becoming checked when I am switching between accounts. I have started completely shutting UO down via the 'Quit' button, and restarting the client when I am ready to log into my other account. Not sure if this is related, but it seems the Default Desktop problem has been happening less.

    I hope that is of some help and not confusing! :)
     
  13. I had this happening with a Logitech mouse... there was something about the driver that just interfered with UO. The mouse would occasionally jump all over the screen, and then persist even after I closed down the game. And it only does it with that one Logitech mouse.