1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

multi-tile addons

Discussion in 'UHall' started by debii, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. debii

    debii Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am trying to redecorate my house after taking down christmas decorations & keep getting the message you cant place the multi-tile addon on the east edge. i cant replace my stone tables, large forge, water trough, aquarium on the east side of my house where there are no walls. is this something that is going to be fixed or is a new house design required?
     
  2. Nine Dark Moons

    Nine Dark Moons Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Likes Received:
    43
    you might get a better chance at answers if you post this in the Homes and Castles forum - those players know EVERYTHING - it's quite amazing :)
     
  3. debii

    debii Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you i will post there also but i was hoping for a response from a developer. as a thread in this forum on 12/17/08 list the message as a new string but doesnt give any other information as to why. i was wondering if this was another oops due to the new publish and will be fixed as the tables i didnt move are still on the east edge.
     
  4. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    the very simplest thing to try first when having housing difficulties is to change the foundation... no idea why, but sometimes it fixes things

    good luck
     
  5. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Foundation changes = miracle cure a lot of the time.

    Also, check to make sure you have no (what I call) noise making items (ie: stautes or parrots) locked down/placed on the levels above or below where you're trying to place the items. For some reason I have yet to understand, it doesn't allow you to place items directly below/above things like parrots or phillip steeds or other things you can perhaps turn off and on. You can of course remove the noise maker, place the item, and then return the noise maker to it's original location.
     
  6. debii

    debii Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you everyone for the suggestions. i have tried changing foundation and have removed everything on display and put it in storage. i still get the same message. i am now going to try a new design and see what happens. i appreciate your help with this.
     
  7. debii

    debii Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    redesigned house and am still getting message you can't place multi-tile addon on the east edge. thanks again for suggestions but seems to be a bug or a change has been made. thanks again for the suggestions.
     
  8. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is a new bug (I hope, and will be fixed soon), I'm getting it as well. Please someone tell me this is not an intentional, permanent change.
     
  9. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    was hoping for a reply to this question in the FoF, but since we didn't get one, maybe bumping it back to the top will help a bit?

    for decorators this is a big deal, so if you're not a decorator please just move along... every facet of the game has it's issues, this happens to be one of mine

    if I have an 18x18 house I want to be able to decorate all 18 tiles, know what I mean?
     
  10. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh I didn't even think about submitting it as an FoF question. Hrm!
     
  11. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    I'm kinda curious how the hell anyone could believe this is a bug when they specifically coded a new text string into the client to describe it. They probably had a good reason for it, but there also was probably a better fix for whatever it was they were patching up.
     
  12. debii

    debii Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is the reply i got from ea customer support about the multi tile addon issue.

    "Greetings,

    Thank you for contacting Ultima Online support.

    Visiting your house in-game I have found a few matters that can be problematic with the design of the house itself. Walls are missing or not used at all, characters can walk off the house harming themselves and the likes.

    Game Masters cannot assist you in the re-design of your home, however I would strongly suggest to try different house design approaches. I would also like to invite you to read our Knowledge Base on game matters of general game information: http://support.ea.com/cgi-bin/ea.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=5904 would be a good place for you to start; http://support.ea.com/cgi-bin/ea.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1929 can also give tips on what to look out for.

    Even if this design worked for you in the past, I can sadly not suggest anything else with the current houses design.


    I am sorry for any inconvenience this may cause you.


    Regards,

    EA Rep Glathin
    Player Relations
    Electronic Arts"

    basically the response was build walls or build a bar.
    this answer did not address my issue with not being able to place the multi tile addons on the east edge. yes on 1st and 2nd floor and the top i left out the walls on the east side. i created one big arch on the east side of my house since you lose that space for decorating if you use walls all the way across. i used the large stone tables, large forge, water trough, and aquarium to prevent me or anyone else from falling off my house. the tables fit just fine on the south side that has no walls but still wont let me place on the east side. thanks to all who are trying to help get some sort of response as to why this was changed after so many years of customizing houses and being able to use the east edge of the house. i too would like to use all tiles for displaying my goods/rares.
     
  13. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    Maybe because some of us didn't know that? And why would they do such a thing anyways?
     
  14. Stupid Miner

    Stupid Miner Guest

    She's saying UO gives the error message "you cant place the multi-tile addon on the east edge" which is completely new, and couldn't have been a bug, instead of the old "you can't place that there," or whatever they currently use.

    only the devs really know why...
     
  15. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    yah, it's really the 'why' part of it that's frustrating..... do apple trees on the east edge pose a problem of some sort that I'm unaware of? :D
     
  16. Flora Green

    Flora Green Guest

    House design nerf ftw.
     
  17. debii

    debii Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    i placed my apple tree on the east edge and have not had any problems with it. i only get the message with the deeded items that require 2 or more tiles to place.
     
  18. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    just made it worse, debii..... I tried an apple tree on test and got the message "you can't place the multi-tile addon at the east edge!" yes, just like that, with the exclamation point, like it's hollering at me

    odd thing is, won't let me place the apple tree, but it *will* let me place the large fish net... go figure.....

    one tile in, the tree places, at the very east tile, it does not
     
  19. debii

    debii Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm sorry you are correct my tree is one tile in.
     
  20. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,530
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    Remember a few months ago that we were told that a particular publish was going to include a change to keep people from casting nature's furies into houses? I seem to recall that the change made it onto Test Center and some diligent soul (Petra perhaps?) tested it and posted that it was still possible to get the nature's furies into the house.

    I wonder if this change is part of making houses fury-proof. I haven't had furies cast into my houses on a regular basis, but it seems as if it's awfully easy currently for someone to get them in through the east wall of the house. Perhaps this change is going to prevent this situation and/or casting fields into houses from outside.
     
  21. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I wish they'd fix furies then rather than hosing decorators. Bah.
     
  22. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    I'm thinking the decorators outnumber the people annoyed by incoming furies :D

    perhaps a show of force is required....... and in keeping with tradition, we'll simply keep repeating our sorrowful tale in this thread, perhaps threatening with closure of accounts, or storming the castle on one shard producing a crash..... I'm not good at militant things, you others will need to come up with a plan..... but yeah, I think there's more of us than them


    then again, I could be wrong, I very often am :)