1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Multiple video cards

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Yellow Beard, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. Yellow Beard

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    4
    Has anyone here added a second video card to their computer and if so did it improve the graphics for UO?
     
  2. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
    yes second card added. could make a difference in the ec but not in 2d imho.
     
  3. Lord Chaos

    Lord Chaos Always Present
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    It won't make a difference in 2D ad the EC isn't SLI capable as far as I know, and even if it was, it would have to be a pretty crappy first card to see any improvement.
     
  4. Yen Sid

    Yen Sid Guest

    If you have 1 crappy card, adding a second may help, but if you have a good card then it won't make much difference. I had a GTX 280 and then upgraded to a GTX 470 w/ the GTX 280 as a dedicated PhysX card and it makes no difference in the EC at all.
     
  5. BeefSupreme

    BeefSupreme Guest

    the EC will run just fine on an old and busted gforce 6400. No different between that and my (2) 9800 GX2's
     
  6. Aibal

    Aibal Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    170
    It won't help the CC at all...seriously, the 12 year old graphics shouldn't tax any reasonably new card, as the poorest cards available today are superior to anything available 12 years ago. As far as the EC, it might..I have a 5850 single card and it plays the EC flawlessly.
     
  7. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
    if it can be turned on in the nvidia control panel, the ec will run it. I don't see why it wouldn't. in fact after dinner i'll test it and confirm.

    *edit* reason I took second card out in first place was because there was no difference in 2D.
     
  8. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Yes, and no, it doesn't help.

    But then I have mine set up so that the monitor on which I run UO is dedicated to the "big" graphics card and the other two side monitors are dedicated to the "small" card.
     
  9. Lord Chaos

    Lord Chaos Always Present
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    The CC client clearly requires you to have Quad SLI of 480 GTX overclocked and watercooled, nothing less will do. :p
     
  10. Smokin

    Smokin Guest

    You mean something like this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IJwtgX8cWI& could also check out this guys other channel Linus Tech tips if your into building computers he has some nice videos.
     
  11. Derium of ls

    Derium of ls Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    21
    I thought CC didn't require a graphics card...
     
  12. Jhym

    Jhym Guest

    Yes, in my experience inkjets work just fine.

    Actually there is also the new aural landscape mode. Just requires 3 friends on skype each using EC, connected to you.

    "Move Right"
    "Move Right"
    "Traipse East"
    *click*
    "The other Right"
    "The other Right"
    "Thou dost suck mightily at this pvp"
    *throws potion*
    "agggggh!"
    "aaaaaaaaH!"
    "Thou art deader than my chances at laying a wench"
     
  13. Requiem_baja

    Requiem_baja Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it doesnt require a 3d accelerator. But by having a dedicated video card you free up more ram by not having the onboard video card leech off your system ram. (although since most people have at a min of 1 to 2 gigs its not really a issue anymore) but it was back in the 128k days when the onboard card wanted 32k!!!
     
  14. Yen Sid

    Yen Sid Guest

    I was gonna say, lol. No need to free up RAM when you have 6 gigs triple channel atm lol (soon to be 12 gigs). Oh and SSD is nice too ;).
     
  15. Lord Chaos

    Lord Chaos Always Present
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    SSD is actually a better investment than graphics card, as loading time will be cut down significantly and as such speed up the game in response time in some ways.
     
  16. smip

    smip Slightly Crazed
    Premium Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    9
    I don't think a second card would help. They really have done ALOT of improvements in the EC. I get no lag any more. HOWEVER, when I run it in windowed mode is where I run into problems with lag and such.
     
  17. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
  18. Yen Sid

    Yen Sid Guest

    Playing the EC in fullscreen makes it run more smoothly? I don't really have any trouble but if this is true perhaps I ought to take a look ;).