1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

my characters moving on their own

Discussion in 'UHall' started by RuSini Neb, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. RuSini Neb

    RuSini Neb Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    I keep logging in, in the mornings to find my character in spots that I did not leave it.. I tested it last night by making sure I logged out in luna inn, and then when I check this morning my character is back at its house. I changed my passwords yesterday after noticing this and once again it did it today.
     
  2. sirion

    sirion Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    115
    Did you virus-scan your computer? Changing password wont help if your computer is already infected with virus that can scan what you type.
     
  3. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,530
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    How close to server maintenance are you logging out your character at the inn in Luna?
     
  4. RuSini Neb

    RuSini Neb Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    I changed the password from a different computer each time ( they are on different networks ) So I highly doubt someone is keylogging me, but maybe.

    Fairly close but before server message. The thing is, when I wake up I am so far away and sometimes at locations that I didn't visit in hours of playing.
     
  5. Alezi

    Alezi Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is clearly a case of sleep-playing. It's a symptom of a severe UO addiction which dictates your sub-conciousness to play the game while your conscious mind is asleep.

    Tie yourself to your bed the next time you go to sleep - should solve the problem.
     
  6. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    You have prolly exceeded max insurance and blessed on your char. He is re-upping at home after losing connection. Who knew all those bless deeds would cause this kind of problem. We need more weeks on Origin before publish release to identify these situations.
     
  7. Lindae

    Lindae Guest

    1) Change your password immediately and virus-scan your computer.

    2) Keep a tally of all your items. Collect all your rares and gold cheques, count them, write it down.

    3) Check them as soon as you log on every day. If something's missing, notify a GM that your account has probably been hacked and items stolen. (Not that they'll do anything, but it's better to be safe than sorry.)

    4) If things go missing, you're being exploited. Put UO on a USB stick or something, find somebody else's computer, and change your password there; then take your own computer in to a professional to have it thoroughly checked out for spyware, if the virus scan didn't catch anything.


    This is very much erring on the side of caution, but if your characters keep shifting around and you're getting worried about it, consider going through these steps. Good luck!

    Edit: Okay, I missed your second post about using a different computer each time. But if they're key-logging you, they'll still be able to get your changed password as soon as you enter it on the infected machine, so you need to change it and then - without logging in once after you've changed it - take steps to clean your computer out.
     
  8. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    5,280
    I'm sorry that's happening to you, butI had to chuckle... it reminded me of something that happened in RL to a person I once knew. He drank too much one weekend, evidently blacked out, and when he woke up he was in a motel room in New Orleans, several hundred miles away from home with no recollection of how he got there. rolleyes:
     
  9. RuSini Neb

    RuSini Neb Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    Thanks for the responses :) Ill change my pw again here at work on one of our various machines. Then when I get home tonight Ill just format windows ( doesn't take me to long I run it all in a Virtual Machine under Linux as it is)
     
  10. I sent RuSini a private message asking how he got UO to run under Linux, but maybe someone else knows. I use the EC and for some reason the Direct X doesn't transfer 3D from the graphics card, so the client just shuts down.

    Can anyone else point me to instructions on how to do this? Or does it have to be the Classic Client to work?
     
  11. RuSini Neb

    RuSini Neb Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    Try using vmware-player instead of virtual box. I am also running two graphics cards ( ATI ) in crossfire with 3 screens. I can have 3 vms running with 3 clients no problems what so ever.
     
  12. LeBaiton

    LeBaiton New Player Protector
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 1999
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just a question though, one I haven't seen in here yet: can you exclude family members or roommates from your list of suspects? Try removing the powercord and hide it if you haven't excluded those yet and see if your characters still move...

    And...
    LOL! Insane!
     
  13. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Formatting Windows wont kill some virus's. You might want to do a few scans with detection programs first to see if you can id them first.
    Years ago when I had to do on a friends comp multi scans to find one nasty virus she had. It was hell to get rid of. It had imbedded itself in the 0 table and was beyond most wipes. I ended up maging the drive to wipe it.
    good luck
     
  14. curlybeard

    curlybeard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0

    I used to run the EC under Wine in Linux. Some graphical glitches, but I always thought that was due to a crappy intel video driver. The EC started being playable with wine when the Devs removed the cloud layer from the EC, prior to that I would log in and just see clouds. Peaceful, no?

    VirtualBox is supposed to have 3d support. KVM/qemu does not yet, 3d support is scheduled for release this spring. Rumor has it that the nightly builds have the support.

    VirtualMachines ran far too slowly on my old rig to test the EC. I should have my new rig built this weekend and will provide an update.
     
  15. RuSini Neb

    RuSini Neb Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    I am running a 3.3ghz amd Phenom 6 core /w 16 gigs of ram and two Radion HD 6970s ones with 2 gigs of ram each. EC runs no problems in windows 7 using vmware not virtualbox or wine. although EC will not run it would seem in windows xp as well as Pinoco's ui refuses to install in windows 7 (once again its a virtual machine), as well as cartographer. so I am still striped from most tools I can use /shrug
     
  16. Thanks for the info, even though it's off topic. (Sorry RuSini)

    I have a 3 year old ATI video card, and VirtualBox will not transfer 3D under Ubuntu or Linux Mint 11. I am now using Kubuntu 11.10, and installing VMware as we speak, and all my Windows work programs (Office 2010 and Acrobat Pro). So far, so good! Next, I'll start loading EC and Pincos UI, then waiting for Christmas day to install Skyrim!

    And Wine... pffft... doesn't seem to like ATI.
     
  17. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,960
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    Lots of folk I know get hacked through their EMAIL not UO directly.

    So if I were you I'd change the email associated with that account ASAP and delete all emails pertaining to that...

    As well as changing your password and such.

    Definitely change your email.
     
  18. curlybeard

    curlybeard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wine frequently has regressions with video. I ended up finding a version that worked well and built a separate wine install just for the EC, from source. Too slow after all that, though it had a weird graphical glitch as speedhackers would disappear entirely every time they moved. I think it had a couple patches too. I really need to document this stuff as it is long gone.
     
  19. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Not sure if you had mentioned this, if you had I probably missed it, but is there anyone else you know who may have access to the account?
     
  20. Hinotori

    Hinotori Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    78
    I second changing your email. I'd put UO on a new one, then change the password and security questions on the old one and the UO passwords. Most cases of UO hacks I've known have been through the email.
     
  21. RuSini Neb

    RuSini Neb Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    isnt the new account managment linked to a single e-mail account in the end anyhow ? Didn't know you could change it, thanks for the tip, doing that right now !
     
  22. iamSnippa

    iamSnippa Journeyman

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is that why Wine wont let me run EC? heh
    Let me know in PM how everything goes, I would love to get out of Windows and back into Linux.
     
  23. RuSini Neb

    RuSini Neb Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    so just install linux and install vmware-player (free) which will allow you to run a windows o.s with in your linux o.s and then you can use your windows apps that you don't want to lose.
     
  24. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    31
    i managed to get ec working with kubuntu 10.10 with wine..
    youre right about the ati drivers, you have to install the ones from ati and not use the ones ubunutu gives you.. i think i even had to extract them and patch them..

    i also remember using winetricks to install the dx9 dlls and i patched wine to work with x64 libraries.

    there was some mouse problems, and picking up items the handles were way off, like an inch or something..
    after a short time i gave up and used a copy of windows 7 to play my games on.. lol.

    linux just isnt ready for mainstream gaming :(
     
  25. Nok

    Nok Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    33
    Hi RuSini Neb,

    Put a shim under the desk leg that wobbles... that should take care of it. ;)

     
  26. elspeth

    elspeth Guest

    I'm very curious if your characters are still moving. Did changing passwords fix the problem?
     
  27. RuSini Neb

    RuSini Neb Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yes, but I think it Might have something to due with logging out on my orc ship while fishing. then server down, server up.. I am in a new spot..