1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

My client/screen flashes

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by Dedonarrival, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. Dedonarrival

    Dedonarrival Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried using both clients and have the same issue...the screen flashes. This only happens when I am running UO. I have updated my graphics card and this has not solved the problem...anyone have any suggestions?
     
  2. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    Constant flashing? Random flashing?

    Describe the flashing and what you can think of its timing?
     
  3. Dedonarrival

    Dedonarrival Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's a constant flash that occurs in 10 second intervals (actually timed it)
     
  4. Try enabling or disabling v-sync. What is your frame rate set at? Are you using a CRT monitor or LCD? You can get these odd screen refreshes if v-sync is enabled and your game frame rates and monitor refresh rates are the same or exact multiples.

    If using an LCD, the monitor has a default refresh rate of 60 Hz, and you should set your game frame rate to either 30 or 60 Hz (the faster the better, but a low end video card should be set to 30).

    CRT monitors can have a wide range of refresh rates. If using v-sync to make it look better, try 40/80 (40 Hz game frame rate, 80 Hz monitor refresh rate if you monitor allows) or else 60/60.
     
  5. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    Does the screen flash happen only in full screen mode?

    Try it out in windowed mode to let us know. If it's doing it in windowed mode, it has to be something else entirely.
     
  6. Dedonarrival

    Dedonarrival Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i play in window mode. using a LCD monitor 24" widescreen LG
     
  7. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    Is it the whole screen, or just the UO window that flashes?
     
  8. Dedonarrival

    Dedonarrival Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    whole screen flashes. it's as if it's switching programs even if nothing else is open in the background, by that i mean UO is no longer the primary window selected. if I shrink UO and open a web browser it does the same thing where the browser is not selected. but this only happens when I have a game open.

    using a ATI Radeon 3870 graphics card with up to date drivers
     
  9. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    Vista, or XP?

    Do you mean that it's actually taking focus away from UO, or it just looks like it does? If you're typing into UO, does it cut you off every 10 seconds?

    Try installing some alternate drivers. They're not official, but I've had good experiences with them solving random issues. Read through the instructions first, and don't follow through if it seems to be beyond your comfort level.

    http://www.omegadrivers.net/
    http://www.omegadrivers.net/ati.php
     
  10. Dedonarrival

    Dedonarrival Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    XP

    Yes cuts me off every 10 seconds, and it actually takes focus away from UO. Goes from a dark blue header bar to a faded/light blue header bar when it happens
     
  11. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
  12. Is this related to UO Assist (and other 3rd party programs) taking focus away from the UO client?
     
  13. Dedonarrival

    Dedonarrival Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have UO Assist but even if I don't use it something still steals focus.

    Tried the Tweak UI work around but it was already selected. running another virus scan to make sure it's not a virus. scan from the 25th showed nothing & i can't remember when I 1st noticed this issue
     
  14. I've seen other posts with similar problems running UO Assist, which seemed to have started after the last patch. If so, I would expect a patch in the near future.