1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Navrey Pet Duping

Discussion in 'UHall' started by EmilyTheTamer, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. Okay, so I've been killing Navrey Night Eyes, trying desperatley for a Tangle.
    I've logged out here for the past few days, and pretty much only done Navreys from log in to log out, so I suppose I was bound to come across this glitch.

    One Navrey spawned and it targeted my Cu Sidhe. It was nearly dead, so I decided to mount it. However, at the exact same moment, Navrey tried to web him across the room. So I ended up riding my cu sidhe, when an exact copy of him comes walking up to me. Same name, color, stats, resists, and skills.

    I couldn't tell him to kill verbally, but I could click him and select "kill," and that worked. But, everything else I could do - release, transfer, guard, and so on. He also recalled with me. He died, and he was ressurected, and when he was, he did suffer skill loss. I was able to rename him, and he could fight like a regular pet.

    However, when I dismounted my real cu sidhe, the real one dissapeared and the glitched one stayed in the game. I was able to relog and it was still there.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Seriously?

    It's summer outside.. Isn't there like a beach or something you could be at?
     
  3. I said from log in to log out, I didn't say 24/7. I supposed I worded it badly, let me try to fix that.
     
  4. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
    wow that's wicked. so you got your original one back I hope ?
     
  5. I didn't, but the copy was, well, an exact copy. It's bonded and everything, so it really doesn't matter.
     
  6. popps

    popps Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    461

    If they are exactly the same, how can you tell which is the original and which the copy ?

    I mean, in order to tell them apart there got to be some difference, should it not ?
     
  7. When I dismounted, the one beneath me dissapeared, and the one that was beside me stayed in the game.
     
  8. Rare Collector

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    6
    Lets hope nobody with a dread does this lol. Don't need duped dreads for sale.
     
  9. Lol, or blaze cus, that'd be bad too.
     
  10. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,570
    Likes Received:
    1,834
    Did you ask folks around you if they saw what you saw?
     
  11. Yes, my good friend Yible said it was odd. The original should have stayed and the copy should have dissapeared, we agreed on it.
     
  12. Konge

    Konge Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    2
    The one you're mounting seems to be the glitched one. The original wouldn't disappear unless the glitch really screws up the pet. When you dismount the game realizes it placed the same pet twice and the one that glitched, IE the one you mounted, disappears. At least that's what it looks like. The stunning of the web at the time of the mount probably caused the real pet to not mount, but because you clicked mount it creates what's essentially an ethy.
     
  13. But the one I was able to control, wouldn't respond to a verbal kill command. So both were glitched. My follower slots were also 4/5 at the time. I wish I could have though to get a 1-slot pet transferred or bought :<

    And even if what you said happened, it's still a weird glitch. I thought it was pretty cool, while it lasted. It woulda poofed at server down anyways when I lost connection. So I decided to see what all it could do. I also wanted to try stabling it but it dissapeared before I could try :(
     
  14. EricVT

    EricVT Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    Wonder if you could stable the copy (the one that you weren't riding) and then dismount with it disappearing?
     
  15. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,570
    Likes Received:
    1,834
    Odds are it would have vanished anyways, I've been having some weird issues with mounts myself lately, yesterday when I was mounted on my Grizzled Mare, I cast Wraith Form....The Mare vanished. I summoned it with a pet ball and it re-appeared to be safe I stabled it and later had a client crash and when I logged back in.. guess what pops up? Yep the Grizzled mare. Checked the stables and nothing was in there... It was just weird.
     
  16. Not sure. But I was afraid if I stabled it, I wouldn't be able to take it back out, for obvious reasons.
     
  17. I was there when this happened and I saw the same thing that Emily saw.
     
  18. Freelsy

    Freelsy Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    127
    its happened to me quite a few times. its also happened when I place bags on the ground while I'm hunting. For example. Just yesterday I was fighting Miasmas when I looted a chest, put it in my pack, walked a few steps back and put it on the ground. I was attacked almost immediately and a replica stayed in my backpack while the real chest was on the ground... Happens all the time to me.
     
  19. Rare Collector

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did find it odd. Still have no clue how. (BTW should be obvious now but if u don't know this is Yible lol)
     
  20. Well I pretty much knew it was you from your first post about the dreads, lol
     
  21. adester

    adester Guest

    I've had it happen to my Cu's to a few times. Not quite in your scenario but lately had two cu's with me. It's happen with my beatles too.
     
  22. Yeah, I've had a couple on my cus just plain dupe but I couldn't interact with them at all. But this glitch was really weird
     
  23. Konge

    Konge Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    2
    the 1 slot is from the cu being an ethy, that should be obvious. You wouldn't have been able to stable it because that particular glitch seems to give the duped cu the properties of an ethy, just no statue. And it seemed to accept a verbal command when you said "All guard me."
     
  24. Ethies take a slot. I wanted to stable the cu that I was commanding, not the one I rode. And "all kill" was the only verbal command it wouldn't take. It'd take anything else. But the "all kill" glitch is still odd.
     
  25. Rare Collector

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had a nightmare do that in the Yamotsu mines while training on it on a shadow ele. It made a copy in the mountains and would disappear and reappear out of nowhere randomly. When i changed name of the real 1 the copy reappeared with the name changed too. Was really odd lol.
     
  26. I was there when that happened, I actually have two screenies of it lol:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Notice the invulnerable highlight, we couldn't kill it because of that. Also, if you look, it was colored almost like a regular horse when you had a target hand over it. That was really weird, too.
    (just fyi I'm not the person that casted Explosion, I'm wearin the black robe and red apron/shoes/book, lol)
     
  27. Gheed

    Gheed Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    172
    This glitch has been around for a long long time. Well before AoS. It does have something to do with teleporting and is very difficult to reproduce. I was fighting spawn in... geesh it has been so long I forget the name. Shame I think. Anyway I was fighting blood elemental spawns by that series of islands on the top level. My mare aggroed something on one of the islands. I mounted it to move on just as it was teleporting to whatever aggroed it.

    So I mounted the mare and another pops up on the island to fight. The mare I was mounted on disappeared as soon as I dismounted.
     
  28. Tinsil

    Tinsil Guest

    I have had this happen to me before as well, just not on Navrey. Don't know how to reproduce but its the one you end up riding that is glitched, and it will always vanish (in my experience) when you dismount.
     
  29. Konge

    Konge Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    2
    Whatever, what I say still counts, I thought that Cu's took up 3 as I rarely use my tamer and when I do use my Tamer there's no reason to use a Cu.
     
  30. If they took three I'd use a cu/mare combo, but sadly they take four T_T

    And does look like the one I was riding glitched, according to Gheed's post. It's still very odd though, even is it's been around a long, long time.
     
  31. Babble

    Babble Guest

    Most likely a client display error.
    Showing you riding and the pet besides you.
    Such client errors are not new.
    Like when people died and had a deathshroud on when resurrected
    :)
     
  32. flappy6

    flappy6 Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    141
    i had something weird like that happen to me but it was alittle diff. i was fighting skeleton deamon guy at halloween,he killed my cu so i recalled out rezed my cu and stalled it,got my greater dragon and recalled to the skeleton deamon by cemetary and a ghost cu ran to me from off the screen,i rezed it and had control of gdragon and cu at same time,i killed a few skeleton deamons with them together but then one guy started asking questions and i know how poeple like to get you banned so i left.went to stable,stalled the dragon ,tried to claim other cu i stable and when i did i seen a poof ,dunno which one vanished but i think it was one in stable
     
  33. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    that Narvey sounds like an exploiter, should have called the goza deleting/banning GM to handle it.
     
  34. Yeah, I planned on calling a GM if it didn't dissapear after trying out everything I wanted to do with it.