1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Enhanced Client Nearest Enemy Bug

Discussion in 'Bug Tracking' started by Decors, Jun 20, 2014.

  1. Decors

    Decors UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    First my English is not good yet, and I may make many mistakes. So, please be patient with me.
    (Also I've just came back to UO after a 3 year break)

    Nearest Enemy Bug

    Actually my real request is not about nearest enemy bug.
    But the essential problem of "Nearest Enemy Bug" is "distance".
    So my request is ... please fix distance related issues really.

    1.Currently, the System determine distance as xyz combined distance.

    2.xyz combined distance makes a lot of problems when we use target related actions. Especially target nearest enemy.
    Because of the "distance" includes z-coord.
    -Fig. Distance Mechanism
    [​IMG]

    3.If you fix these problems, players gain tons of benefits.(for sure in rugged landscape situation mostly)
    -Players can never die to massive mobs while hitting nearest enemy in pve.
    -Players can loot only from corpses in range.
    -We can avoid bugged target information. (it often happens when you hit nearest enemy while no mobs around)
    -Of course. Now we can use all target related actions properly.
    etc...

    Unfortunatelly you don't have enough human resources to solve these essential problems I think.
    I won't request much but please change GetDistanceFromPlayer() at leaset.
    So modders can fix lots of problems. It's really easy to change this function.

    example: GetDistanceFromPlayer(id) : return DistanceFromPlayer = { x=0, y=0, z=0 }

    Thanks in advance.

    Decors
     
    BeaIank likes this.
  2. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    @Decors
    You should wait for the new default interface where that shouldn't be a problem :p
     
  3. LowdownandShifty

    LowdownandShifty Journeyman

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    49
    I hope the new default includes a check for z-axis, only as a tie breaker on the xy-plane.
     
  4. Alex"Drake Iron Heart"CS

    Governor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    254
    Ive noticed this problem too, but just use shift or ESC and re-do target and worked for me 75% of the time, But true that when fighting big mobs, mixture of magic and melee ones, It targets the mages which might be attacking from far away instead of the melee next to the char, making it very complicated if the re-target gets stuck as that means you go manual and by then, you are mostly dead.....

    @Pinco Any dates yet, when the new UI will be ready?
     
  5. Decors

    Decors UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've just patched today then checked this issue.
    95% problems are solved.
    Now we can target objects correctly by xy coord. (They just removed z-coord value)
    It's not smart if we don't have a function to know z-coord.
    But anyway much better now.
     
  6. Esdejie

    Esdejie Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes that can be nasty, when you fight in a building with other floors and other mobs over your head, or on an accidented ground; then if you don't begin scoring hits on "nearest target", you have to quickly spawn "next target" till you begin hitting fiends. This delay can of course be long enough to make you die :-/ Though, I didn't try it again, since arrival of new EC UI...