1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Need help with EC or maybe computer

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Moneta, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. Moneta

    Moneta Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just started trying to use EC (pinko's) and am experiencing two things. First, when running I go a few steps and come to a complete stop, then run, then stop etc. Second, I run as though I'm skating and sometimes will run backward or on a diagonal, which doesn't seem right. These things don't occur in CC.

    I'm clueless as to what is causing these things. My internet connection is 40 Mbps. I have a slow ping (around 200) since I live on the west coast of the US and am playing on Europa. My computer runs windows 7.

    Computer specs are:
    Intel Core i7-4770 3 4GHz 8MB QUAD CORE
    ASUS H81M-A LGA1150/ Inel H81/DDR3/SATA3&USB3.0/A&GbE/MicroATX Motherboard
    16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600MHz (PC3 12800) Dual Channel
    1TB 7200 RPM 64MB CACHE SATA 6.0GB's
    Intel HD 4600 1 GB HDMI/DVI/VGA 1080pPCI-EXPRESS VIDEO (ONBOARD)

    I'd appreciate any help and thanks in advance.
     
  2. petemage

    petemage Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    328
    The first thing is due to your poor ping. Try a shard with lower pings once, the stops should be less or even gone completely.

    The second thing i guess is simply a bug when the client messes up your character's facing.

    I know these things as they happen to me as well, but i doubt there is much to do about it for us.

    You might also encounter a third strange behaviour: one tile jumps. I happens rather often that you run around, stop, perform an action and magically jump a tile forth and back. (e.g. you run away some tiles and hide). The client "overruns" by a tile so you are out of sync with the server. When performing the action, your position is synced again and your char magically moves one tile back. The meelee fighter can tell lots of stories about this ;)
     
    #2 petemage, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014
  3. Winter

    Winter Lore Keeper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    716
    There could also be some background program running that is hogging your CPU or internet connection - though it would be really hard to hog 40 Mbps. Just to be sure, stop any background process when the EC. Virus protection, Adobe, Microsoft Updates, and others like to start work at the worst possible moment.
     
  4. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Even with that ping rate - I don't think you should be having those issues with the constant pauses. I did notice you are using an "on-board" graphics card which are usually not top-notch. You might try going into the video setting (sound maybe too) and lowering the usage where possible. Turn off things like shadows and it might be better.

    Also - make sure all of your graphics and sound drivers are fully up to date.
     
    Storm likes this.
  5. RockoNV

    RockoNV Seasoned Veteran
    Alumni UOS

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    171
    First, remove the elephant in the client: pinko's.
    Second, once you have removed pinko's, do you experience the same issue?

    If you experience the same issue, then it is not pinko's.

    It could possibly be your mouse too...............they do wear out.
     
  6. Moneta

    Moneta Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate the response :) I've tried all your suggestions (except for removing Pinko's - I'd rather go back to CC), and nothing seemed to help. It must be due to ping as it was much better when I tried going to Pacific. I guess I'll either learn to live with it or go back to CC.
     
  7. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    you can switch to the default UI without uninstalling pincos!
     
  8. PlayerSkillFTW

    PlayerSkillFTW Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    430
    I've experienced these as well when using EC with Pinco's. I also have another problem, where my Thrower gets locked in place for a second or so when he throws. When using the EC, i can't just stop for half a second, throw, then immediately run again like i can in CC.
     
  9. Wenchkin

    Wenchkin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    434
    I'd do what folks are recommending here, you don't need to remove Pincos just change the UI to default.

    You could also try logging in to another shard and see if you lag as much on there. But if it doesn't, check if Pincos is lagging you and report it, maybe he can do something to make it better.

    Wenchy
     
  10. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    Don't have that problem. But I shut off a lot of Pinco's "bulk"...... no music... turn down a lot of stuff.. set your refresh to 60.... Run around a lot and build up the cache... eventually you'll build that up and not have to load so much stuff.

    One of the big offenders I find when playing UO is Trillian....... or ICQ.